Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | April 11, 2014

Paul Laudiero: IMG Shit Rough Draft



I was sitting in a British and Irish romantic drama class my last semester in college when the idea for Shit Rough Drafts hit me. I was working... Continue »
  1. $9.07 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer

On Order

$22.25
New Hardcover
Currently out of stock.
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

Siam: Or the Woman Who Shot a Man (Sewanee Writers')

by

Siam: Or the Woman Who Shot a Man (Sewanee Writers') Cover

ISBN13: 9780879517236
ISBN10: 0879517239
Condition:
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A powerful and evocative work in the tradition of Graham Greene or Joan Didion, "Siam" is the American experience in Vietnam written small, establishing Lily Tuck as a major voice in contemporary fiction.

About the Author

Lily Tuck was born in Paris and lived in Thailand in the early '60s. She is the author of two previous novels: Interviewing Matisse, Or the Woman Died Standing Up and The Woman Who Walked on Water. She has written numerous short stories, the most recent of which have been published in The New Yorker, Fiction, and The Antioch Review.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

g.donahue, March 16, 2008 (view all comments by g.donahue)
With true Lily Tuck style, the author chooses a poignant period of history and wraps a good story through it. Limited to under 200 pages, this author writes a laconic, yet powerful and suspenseful story coupled with a surprising twist of events. The setting is 1967 in Bangkok on the verge of the Vietnamese War with youthful Claire and her young husband moving to Bangkok for his governmental contract work. Claire, a young bride is thrust into a foreign culture on the verge of war with an absentee husband. The title suggests it could be about a place or a person. Both topics deserve our attention. Highly recommended.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 8 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780879517236
Author:
Tuck, Lily
Publisher:
Overlook Press
Location:
Woodstock, NY :
Subject:
General
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
War
Subject:
Thailand
Subject:
Vietnamese conflict, 1961-1975
Subject:
Love stories
Subject:
War stories
Subject:
Vietnam War, 1961-1975
Subject:
Vietnamese Conflict, 19
Subject:
Thompson, James Harrison Wilson
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
B-Hardcover
Series:
Sewanee Writers'
Publication Date:
19991131
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
192
Dimensions:
8.24x5.64x.79 in. .77 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. A Supposedly Fun Thing I'll Never Do... Used Hardcover $18.95
  2. Wild Meat and the Bully Burgers... Used Trade Paper $2.50
  3. Fresh Air Fiend: Travel Writings,... Used Trade Paper $7.95
  4. 53 Days (Verba Mundi) New Hardcover $23.95
  5. Hemingway: The 1930's Used Trade Paper $6.50
  6. Way I Found Her Used Trade Paper $3.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Siam: Or the Woman Who Shot a Man (Sewanee Writers') New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$22.25 Backorder
Product details 192 pages Overlook Press - English 9780879517236 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.