Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 8, 2014

Peter Mendelsund: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Water Music by Peter Mendelsund



We "see" when we read, and we "see" when we listen. There are many ways in which music can create the cross-sensory experience of this seeing...... Continue »
  1. $11.87 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
Used Hardcover
Usually ships in 5 to 7 business days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Qty Store Section
2 Remote Warehouse General- General

More copies of this ISBN

An Unpardonable Crime

by

An Unpardonable Crime Cover

 

Staff Pick

This wonderful, elegant mystery is a real page-turner. The historical context of 19th-century England and the inclusion of a young Edgar Allan Poe make this unique thriller truly irresistible.
Recommended by Danielle, Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

An irresistible literary thriller in the tradition of The Alienist and An Instance of the Fingerpost, set in early 1800s England and involving a young Edgar Allan Poe.

Edgar Allan Poe is an American boy in England, a child standing on the edge of mysteries. In 1819, two Americans arrive in London. Soon afterward a bank collapses. A man is found horribly mutilated on a building site and an heiress flirts with her inferiors. All the while, Poe's young schoolmaster struggles to understand what is happening before he and his loved ones are destroyed. But the truth, like the youthful Poe himself, has its origins in the New World as well as the Old — in a bitter episode of corruption during the War of 1812.

With settings ranging from the coal-scented urban jungle of late Regency London to the stark winter landscapes of rural Gloucestershire, An Unpardonable Crime is a multilayered literary murder mystery, a historical novel, and a love story. In addition to shedding fascinating light on Edgar Allan Poe, the book is a fast-paced suspenseful read, filled with shocking revelations.

Review:

"[A] fluid, atmospheric period thriller....While this effort is not as successful as Charles Palliser's superb, intricately plotted 19th-century thriller The Quincunx, it is a pleasurable read that will engross many." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"Taylor knits his considerable skills as a crime writer and as a master of historical detail...smooth, agreeably complex....Taylor's creamy prose falters only in one of those mind-numbing wrap-ups that make Conan Doyle a chore." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"Wonderful evocations of Regency England, suggestive about the later horrors in Poe's life, marred a bit by a cumbersome (almost 500-page) plot and delivery." Connie Fletcher, Booklist

Review:

"Taylor...makes much of the Poe connection that inspired his work, but the story could easily stand on its own. This lengthy murder mystery slowly builds to its compelling climax..." Library Journal

Review:

"[A] remarkable thriller, elegantly written...a work of superlative fiction." Denver Post

Review:

"An absolutely unputdownable read." Charles Palliser, author of The Quincunx and The Unburied

Review:

"The most underrated crime writer in Britain today." Val McDermid

Review:

"Like Hitchcock, Taylor pitches extreme and gothic events within a hair's breadth of normality." Times Literary Supplement

Review:

"A sophisticated writer...with a high degree of literary expertise." New York Times Book Review

Review:

"Taylor is a major thriller talent." Time Out London

Review:

"One of Britain's best writers of psychological suspense." The Times (London)

Review:

"The most interesting novelist writing on crime in England today." Harriet Waugh, The Spectator

Synopsis:

This irresistible literary thriller in the tradition of The Alienist and An Instance of the Fingerpost is set in early 1800s England and involves young Edgar Allan Poe.

Synopsis:

England 1819. Two enigmatic Americans arrive in London and soon after a bank collapses. A man is found dead on a building site; another goes missing in the teeming stews of the city's notorious Seven Dials district. A deathbed vigil ends in an act of theft, and a beautiful heiress flirts with her inferiors. A strange destiny connects each of these events to an American boy, Edgar Allan Poe, who was brought to England by his foster father and sent to the leafy village of Stoke Newington to be educated.

An Unpardonable Crime is a twenty-first-century novel with a nineteenth-century voice. It is both a multilayered literary murder mystery and a love story, its setting ranging from the coal-scented fogs of late-Regency London to the stark winter landscapes of Gloucestershire. And at its center is the boy who does not really belong anywhere, an actor who never learns the significance of his part.

About the Author

Andrew Taylor is the award-winning author of the ground-breaking Roth Trilogy. He lives in England. For more information, please visit www.andrew-taylor.net.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781401301026
Author:
Taylor, Andrew
Publisher:
Hyperion Books
Author:
Hyperion Assorted Authors
Author:
Jacobi, Derek
Author:
Assorted Authors, Hyperion
Location:
New York
Subject:
General
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Boys
Subject:
Teachers
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
England
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
Teacher-student relationships
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Traditional British
Subject:
Americans
Subject:
Inheritance and succession
Subject:
Love stories
Subject:
Country homes
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st ed.
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Series Volume:
108-52
Publication Date:
March 3, 2004
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 8 up to 17
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
496
Dimensions:
9.25 x 6.125 in 27.68 oz
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Cutting Room Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. Tamburlaine Must Die Used Hardcover $3.95
  3. Acqua Alta
    Used Mass Market $3.95
  4. One Step Behind (Kurt Wallander...
    Used Trade Paper $7.95
  5. Rain Storm (John Rain Thrillers) Used Mass Market $4.95
  6. The Romanov Prophecy Used Mass Market $3.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » Historical

An Unpardonable Crime Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 496 pages Hyperion Books - English 9781401301026 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

This wonderful, elegant mystery is a real page-turner. The historical context of 19th-century England and the inclusion of a young Edgar Allan Poe make this unique thriller truly irresistible.

"Review" by , "[A] fluid, atmospheric period thriller....While this effort is not as successful as Charles Palliser's superb, intricately plotted 19th-century thriller The Quincunx, it is a pleasurable read that will engross many."
"Review" by , "Taylor knits his considerable skills as a crime writer and as a master of historical detail...smooth, agreeably complex....Taylor's creamy prose falters only in one of those mind-numbing wrap-ups that make Conan Doyle a chore."
"Review" by , "Wonderful evocations of Regency England, suggestive about the later horrors in Poe's life, marred a bit by a cumbersome (almost 500-page) plot and delivery."
"Review" by , "Taylor...makes much of the Poe connection that inspired his work, but the story could easily stand on its own. This lengthy murder mystery slowly builds to its compelling climax..."
"Review" by , "[A] remarkable thriller, elegantly written...a work of superlative fiction."
"Review" by , "An absolutely unputdownable read."
"Review" by , "The most underrated crime writer in Britain today."
"Review" by , "Like Hitchcock, Taylor pitches extreme and gothic events within a hair's breadth of normality."
"Review" by , "A sophisticated writer...with a high degree of literary expertise."
"Review" by , "Taylor is a major thriller talent."
"Review" by , "One of Britain's best writers of psychological suspense."
"Review" by , "The most interesting novelist writing on crime in England today."
"Synopsis" by , This irresistible literary thriller in the tradition of The Alienist and An Instance of the Fingerpost is set in early 1800s England and involves young Edgar Allan Poe.
"Synopsis" by , England 1819. Two enigmatic Americans arrive in London and soon after a bank collapses. A man is found dead on a building site; another goes missing in the teeming stews of the city's notorious Seven Dials district. A deathbed vigil ends in an act of theft, and a beautiful heiress flirts with her inferiors. A strange destiny connects each of these events to an American boy, Edgar Allan Poe, who was brought to England by his foster father and sent to the leafy village of Stoke Newington to be educated.

An Unpardonable Crime is a twenty-first-century novel with a nineteenth-century voice. It is both a multilayered literary murder mystery and a love story, its setting ranging from the coal-scented fogs of late-Regency London to the stark winter landscapes of Gloucestershire. And at its center is the boy who does not really belong anywhere, an actor who never learns the significance of his part.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.