Nonficionado Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | May 12, 2015

    Aleksandar Hemon: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Aleksandar Hemon



    Describe your latest book. The Making of Zombie Wars is a roller-coaster ride of violence and sex. The main character, Joshua Levin, is a modestly... Continue »
    1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      The Making of Zombie Wars

      Aleksandar Hemon 9780374203412

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Religion Western- Catholicism
2 Burnside Christianity- Catholicism
25 Local Warehouse Christianity- Spiritual Growth
25 Remote Warehouse Religion Comparative- General

The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything: A Spirituality for Real Life

by

The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything: A Spirituality for Real Life Cover

ISBN13: 9780061432699
ISBN10: 0061432695
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

St. Ignatius to the Rescue!

St. Ignatius Loyola, founder of the Jesuit Order, was known forhis practical spirituality. Now, Father James Martin translatesIgnatius's insights for a modern audience, revealing how we canfind God in our everyday lives in often surprising ways.

Includes a new reading group guide and bonus material

Synopsis:

The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything by the Revered James Martin, SJ (My Life with the Saints) is a practical spiritual guidebook based on the life and teachings of St. Ignatius of Loyola, the founder of the Society of Jesus. Centered around the Ignatian goal of “finding God in all things,” The Jesuit Guide to Almost Everything shows us how to manage relationships, money, work, prayer, and decision-making, all while keeping a sense of humor.  Filled with user-friendly examples, humorous stories, and anecdotes from the heroic and inspiring lives of Jesuit saints and average priests and brothers, The Jesuit Guide to Almost Everything is sure to appeal to fans of Kathleen Norris, Richard Rohr, Anne Lamott, and other Christian Spiritual writers.

About the Author

Rev. James Martin, SJ, is a Jesuit priest, culture editor of Americamagazine, and author of numerous books, including My Life with the Saints, which Publishers Weeklynamed one of the best books of 2006. Father Martin is a frequent commentator in the national and international media, having appeared in such diverse outlets as The Colbert Report, Fresh Air, The O'Reilly Factor, NewsHour with Jim Lehrer, the New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Boston Globe, and on the History Channel, BBC, and Vatican Radio. Before entering the Jesuits in 1988 he graduated from the Wharton School of Business.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

Pat Ell, October 21, 2014 (view all comments by Pat Ell)
Fantastic! A great summary of Jesuit history, thinking, principles, and prayer, written for the regular person.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
SusanW, January 2, 2012 (view all comments by SusanW)
Low key guide to meaningful New Year's resolutions!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061432699
Subtitle:
A Spirituality for Real Life
Author:
Martin, James
Publisher:
HarperOne
Subject:
Spirituality - General
Subject:
Spirituality
Subject:
Religion Comparative-General
Subject:
Christianity-Spiritual Growth
Copyright:
Edition Description:
TradePB
Publication Date:
20120306
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
448
Dimensions:
8 x 5.3125 x 1.12 in 13.2 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Surrender: Your Way to Spiritual... Used Trade Paper $1.95

Related Subjects


Featured Titles » Staff Picks
Religion » Christianity » Catholicism
Religion » Christianity » Christian Life » Spiritual Growth
Religion » Comparative Religion » General

The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything: A Spirituality for Real Life New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.99 In Stock
Product details 448 pages HarperOne - English 9780061432699 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything by the Revered James Martin, SJ (My Life with the Saints) is a practical spiritual guidebook based on the life and teachings of St. Ignatius of Loyola, the founder of the Society of Jesus. Centered around the Ignatian goal of “finding God in all things,” The Jesuit Guide to Almost Everything shows us how to manage relationships, money, work, prayer, and decision-making, all while keeping a sense of humor.  Filled with user-friendly examples, humorous stories, and anecdotes from the heroic and inspiring lives of Jesuit saints and average priests and brothers, The Jesuit Guide to Almost Everything is sure to appeal to fans of Kathleen Norris, Richard Rohr, Anne Lamott, and other Christian Spiritual writers.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.