The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.00
List price: $18.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
5 Partner Warehouse General- General

Great Fortune : the Epic of Rockefeller Center (03 Edition)

by

Great Fortune : the Epic of Rockefeller Center (03 Edition) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Please note that used books may not include additional media (study guides, CDs, DVDs, solutions manuals, etc.) as described in the publisher comments.

Publisher Comments:

In this hugely appealing book, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, acclaimed author and journalist Daniel Okrent weaves together themes of money, politics, art, architecture, business, and society to tell the story of the majestic suite of buildings that came to dominate the heart of midtown Manhattan and with it, for a time, the heart of the world. At the center of Okrent?s riveting story are four remarkable individuals?tycoon John D. Rockefeller, his ambitious son Nelson Rockefeller, real estate genius John R. Todd, and visionary skyscraper architect Raymond Hood. In the tradition of David McCullough?s The Great Bridge, Ron Chernow?s Titan, and Robert Caro?s The Power Broker, Great Fortune is a stunning tribute to an American landmark that captures the heart and spirit of New York at its apotheosis.

Synopsis:

An acclaimed author and journalist weaves together themes of money, politics, art, architecture, business, and society to tell the story of the majestic suite of buildings that came to dominate the heart of midtown Manhattan.

Synopsis:

In this hugely appealing book, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, acclaimed author and journalist Daniel Okrent weaves together themes of money, politics, art, architecture, business, and society to tell the story of the majestic suite of buildings that came to dominate the heart of midtown Manhattan and with it, for a time, the heart of the world. At the center of Okrents riveting story are four remarkable individualstycoon John D. Rockefeller, his ambitious son Nelson Rockefeller, real estate genius John R. Todd, and visionary skyscraper architect Raymond Hood. In the tradition of David McCulloughs The Great Bridge, Ron Chernows Titan, and Robert Caros The Power Broker, Great Fortune is a stunning tribute to an American landmark that captures the heart and spirit of New York at its apotheosis.

About the Author

Daniel Okrent is a prizewinning journalist, author, and television commentator. For many years he was a senior editorial executive at Time Inc. In 2003 he was appointed the first Public Editor of the New York Times.

Table of Contents

A Note to the Reader

Prologue: May 21, 1928 and September 30, 1939

  1. The Heart of This Great City
  2. A Commonplace Person
  3. These Properties Will Be Greatly Increased in Value
  4. I Chose the Latter Course
  5. Architecture Never Lies
  6. Tears of Joy to a Small Business Man
  7. I Like Having a Lot of People Against Me
  8. A Genius
  9. A Hundred Lawsuits
  10. Let Owen Young Do It
  11. Who Designed Rockefeller Center?
  12. Wondering Where I'm Going to Get the Money
  13. Our Architects Deserve to Remain in Chains
  14. Desperate for Business
  15. Give 'Em Something Better
  16. Ruthlessness Was Just Another Word for Good Business
  17. All the Finns in Helsingfors
  18. What Do You Paint, When You Paint on a Wall?
  19. I Was Not Interested in Sitting and Listening
  20. Visitors Give Him Dollars
  21. The Snake Changing Its Skin
  22. The Kingdom of the World
  23. The Demand is Almost Unbelievable

Epilogue: 1948-2003

Notes

Bibliography

Acknowledgements

Illustration Credits

Index

Product Details

ISBN:
9780142001776
Author:
Okrent, Daniel
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Subject:
General
Subject:
Public, Commercial, or Industrial Buildings
Subject:
United States - 20th Century/Depression
Subject:
United States - State & Local - Middle Atlantic
Subject:
History
Subject:
Buildings - Public, Commercial & Industrial
Subject:
World History-General
Edition Description:
Mass Market
Publication Date:
20041131
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Two 16-page b/w photo inserts
Pages:
528
Dimensions:
9.26x6.28x.89 in. 1.40 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. The Great Bridge: The Epic Story of...
    Used Trade Paper $9.50
  2. New York: An Illustrated History Used Hardcover $17.50
  3. The Children's Blizzard (P.S.)
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  4. The Sky's the Limit: Passion and... Used Hardcover $10.50
  5. 740 Park Used Hardcover $12.50
  6. Enchanted Hill the Story of Hearst Castl Used Trade Paper $4.95

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Architecture » Types
Biography » Business
History and Social Science » Americana » New York
History and Social Science » Americana » Northeast
History and Social Science » US History » 20th Century » General
History and Social Science » World History » General

Great Fortune : the Epic of Rockefeller Center (03 Edition) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.00 In Stock
Product details 528 pages Penguin Books - English 9780142001776 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , An acclaimed author and journalist weaves together themes of money, politics, art, architecture, business, and society to tell the story of the majestic suite of buildings that came to dominate the heart of midtown Manhattan.

"Synopsis" by , In this hugely appealing book, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, acclaimed author and journalist Daniel Okrent weaves together themes of money, politics, art, architecture, business, and society to tell the story of the majestic suite of buildings that came to dominate the heart of midtown Manhattan and with it, for a time, the heart of the world. At the center of Okrents riveting story are four remarkable individualstycoon John D. Rockefeller, his ambitious son Nelson Rockefeller, real estate genius John R. Todd, and visionary skyscraper architect Raymond Hood. In the tradition of David McCulloughs The Great Bridge, Ron Chernows Titan, and Robert Caros The Power Broker, Great Fortune is a stunning tribute to an American landmark that captures the heart and spirit of New York at its apotheosis.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.