Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | August 19, 2014

Richard Kadrey: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Richard Kadrey



Describe your latest book. The Getaway God is the sixth book in the Sandman Slim series. In it, the very unholy nephilim, James Stark, aka Sandman... Continue »
  1. $17.49 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.00
List price: $17.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
2 Partner Warehouse General- General

Nudge: Improving Decisions about Health, Wealth, and Happiness

by and

Nudge: Improving Decisions about Health, Wealth, and Happiness Cover

ISBN13: 9780143115267
ISBN10: 014311526x
Condition: Student Owned
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $9.00!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Please note that used books may not include additional media (study guides, CDs, DVDs, solutions manuals, etc.) as described in the publisher comments.

Publisher Comments:

For fans of Malcolm Gladwell's Blink and Nobel Prize winner Daniel Kahneman's Thinking Fast and Slow, a revelatory new look at how we make decisions

More than 750,000 copies sold

New York Times bestseller

An Economist Best Book of the Year

Financial Times Best Book of the Year

Nudge is about choices — how we make them and how we can make better ones. Drawing on decades of research in the fields of behavioral science and economics, authors Richard H. Thaler and Cass R. Sunstein offer a new perspective on preventing the countless mistakes we make—ill-advised personal investments, consumption of unhealthy foods, neglect of our natural resources — and show us how sensible “choice architecture” can successfully nudge people toward the best decisions. In the tradition of The Tipping Point and Freakonomics, Nudge is straightforward, informative, and entertaining — a must-read for anyone interested in our individual and collective well-being.

Synopsis:

Citing decades of cutting-edge behavioral science research, the authors demonstrate that sensible choice architecture can successfully nudge people towards the best decisions without restricting their freedom.

Synopsis:

Nudge is about choices-how we make them and how we can make better ones. Authors Richard H. Thaler and Cass R. Sunstein offer a new perspective on preventing the countless mistakes we make- including ill-advised personal investments, consumption of unhealthy foods, neglect of our natural resources, and other bad decisions. Citing decades of cutting-edge behavioral science research, they demonstrate that sensible "choice architecture"can successfully nudge people towards the best decisions without restricting their freedom of choice. S straightforward, informative, and entertaining, this is a must-read for anyone with interest in our individual and collective well-being.

About the Author

Richard H. Thaler is the Ralph and Dorothy Keller Distinguished Service Professor of Behavioral Science and Economics and the director of the Center for Decision Research at the University of Chicago's Graduate School of Business.

Cass R. Sunstein is Felix Frankfurter Professor of Law at Harvard Law School.

Table of Contents

Nudge Acknowledgments

Introduction

Part I: Humans and Econs

1. Biases and Blunders

2. Resisting Temptation

3. Following the Herd

4.When Do We Need a Nudge?

5. Choice Architecture

Part II: Money

6. Save More Tomorrow

7. Naive Investing

8. Credit Markets

9. Privatizing Social Security: Smorgasbord Style

Part III: Health

10. Prescription Drugs: Part D for Daunting

11. How to Increase Organ Donations

12. Saving the Planet

Part IV: Freedom

13. Improving School Choices

14. Should Patients Be Forced to Buy Lottery Tickets?

15. Privatizing Marriage

Part V: Extensions and Objections

16. A Dozen Nudges

17. Objections

18. The Real Third Way

19. Bonus Chapter: Twenty More Nudges

Postscript: November 2008

Notes

Bibliography

Index

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

Elena Adamo, May 25, 2013 (view all comments by Elena Adamo)
Fascinating from the first few pages! This book sucks you in with offbeat examples that had me striking up conversations with everyone I came into contact with. It was practical too! Many of us have responsibilities in our work and home lives that require us to assist others in making decisions. This book lays out some of the ways that we do that so that we can be more conscientious and effective at it.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
curmudgeon, January 1, 2011 (view all comments by curmudgeon)
Good book. Keeps you talking back to it, arguing, agreeing, thinking about how you'd present its ideas to others.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143115267
Subtitle:
Improving Decisions about Health, Wealth, and Happiness
Author:
Richard H. Thaler and Cass R. Sunstein
Author:
Sunstein, Cass R.
Author:
Thaler, Richard H.
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Subject:
General
Subject:
Decision Making & Problem Solving
Subject:
Sociology - General
Subject:
Consumer behavior
Subject:
Economics -- Psychological aspects.
Subject:
Making & Problem Solving
Subject:
Psychology : General
Subject:
Leadership
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20090224
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb
Age Level:
18-17

Other books you might like

  1. Sway: The Irresistible Pull of... Used Hardcover $10.95
  2. Buying In: The Secret Dialogue...
    Used Trade Paper $13.00
  3. Traffic: Why We Drive the Way We Do... Used Hardcover $5.95
  4. Predictably Irrational: The Hidden... Used Hardcover $9.95
  5. Animal Spirits: How Human Psychology...
    Used Hardcover $4.50
  6. Snoop: What Your Stuff Says about...
    Used Hardcover $7.95

Related Subjects


Business » Strategy
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » General
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General
History and Social Science » Economics » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » General

Nudge: Improving Decisions about Health, Wealth, and Happiness Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.00 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143115267 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Citing decades of cutting-edge behavioral science research, the authors demonstrate that sensible choice architecture can successfully nudge people towards the best decisions without restricting their freedom.
"Synopsis" by ,
Nudge is about choices-how we make them and how we can make better ones. Authors Richard H. Thaler and Cass R. Sunstein offer a new perspective on preventing the countless mistakes we make- including ill-advised personal investments, consumption of unhealthy foods, neglect of our natural resources, and other bad decisions. Citing decades of cutting-edge behavioral science research, they demonstrate that sensible "choice architecture"can successfully nudge people towards the best decisions without restricting their freedom of choice. S straightforward, informative, and entertaining, this is a must-read for anyone with interest in our individual and collective well-being.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.