Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 5, 2014

    William Gibson: IMG William Gibson: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.00
List price: $14.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
5 Partner Warehouse Biography- General

This title in other editions

Charles Dickens: a Life (10 Edition)

by

Charles Dickens: a Life (10 Edition) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Please note that used books may not include additional media (study guides, CDs, DVDs, solutions manuals, etc.) as described in the publisher comments.

Publisher Comments:

For fans of the soon-to-be-released film about Charles Dickens starring Ralph Fiennes, a brilliantly insightful biography from Pulitzer Prize-winning author Jane Smiley

 

With delectable wit and characteristic sensitivity, Jane Smiley presents a fresh, illuminating take on the life of Charles Dickens. Smiley finds a kindred spirit in the author of such classics as Great Expectations and A Christmas Carol, who was not only a prolific writer but also one of the first modern "celebrities." She offers interpretations of many of Dickens's major works, exploring his narrative techniques and his innovative voice and themes. A perceptive profile of the great master and a fascinating meditation on the writing life, this biography is perfect for fans of The Invisible Woman, the Charles Dickens biopic starring Ralph Fiennes, Felicity Jones, and Kristin Scott Thomas, which hits theaters in February 2014.

About the Author

Jane Smiley is the author of numerous novels, including the Pulitzer Prize winner A Thousand Acres and the bestsellers Horse Heaven, Good Faith, and Ten Days in the Hills. She lives in Northern California.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143119920
Author:
Smiley, Jane
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Biography-Literary
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
20111131
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
7.16 x 5.06 x 0.63 in 0.36 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. The Great Sperm Whale: A Natural...
    New Hardcover $34.95
  2. Almost an Island: Travels in Baja... Used Trade Paper $11.50
  3. Raymond Chandler a Biography Used Hardcover $8.95

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Biography » Literary
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Charles Dickens: a Life (10 Edition) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.00 In Stock
Product details 224 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143119920 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.