Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | April 8, 2014

Shawn Donley: IMG Gabrielle Zevin: The Powells.com Interview



Gabrielle ZevinThe American Booksellers Association collects nominations from bookstores all over the country for favorite forthcoming titles. The Storied Life of... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry

    Gabrielle Zevin 9781616203214

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.00
List price: $13.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
2 Partner Warehouse General- General

This title in other editions

Dead of Summer (08 Edition)

by

Dead of Summer (08 Edition) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Please note that used books may not include additional media (study guides, CDs, DVDs, solutions manuals, etc.) as described in the publisher comments.

Publisher Comments:

"The Dead of Summer is like an addiction--so impossible to put down, its consumed far too soon. Camilla Way weaves an inexorable web of innocent love and evil, tightening the strands until there is no room to move, no hope of escape."--Jacquelyn Mitchard, author of Still Summer
 
At thirteen, Anita Naidu was the sole witness to Londons notorious cave murders of 1986, which left three children dead. Told seven years later to the police psychologist who interviewed her at the time of the killings, Anitas story exposes the savagery of the schoolyard one chilling detail at a time until the truth reveals itself with startling ferocity. Set against the bustling, tourist-packed streets of historic Greenwich, this audacious debut is a tale of living and dying, quite literally, just below the surface.
 
"Camilla Way's skill at developing realistic, sympathetic characters and a compelling story is impressive. I'm looking forward to reading more from this promising British journalist."--The Kansas City Star

Synopsis:

At thirteen, Anita Naidu was the sole witness to Londons notorious cave murders of 1986, which left three children dead.Told seven years later to the police psychologist who interviewed her at the time of the killings, Anitas story exposes the savagery of the schoolyard one chilling detail at a time until the truth reveals itself with startling ferocity. Set against the bustling, tourist-packed streets of historic Greenwich, this audacious debut examines sinister events that happen, quite literally, right below the surface. An irresistibly disturbing thriller for fans of A.M.Homes and Mary Gaitskill.

Synopsis:

**DEBUT FICTION** Admit how your pulse quickens when you see those headlines: murder spree of schoolgirl loner; boy, 13, rapes classmate; child, 10, stabs pensioner. So says narrator Anita Naidu, and she should know. At thirteen, Anita was the sole witness to London's notorious cave murders of 1986, which left three children dead. Told seven years later to the police psychologist who interviewed her at the time of the killings, Anita's story reveals the savagery of the schoolyard one chilling detail at a time until the truth of what actually happened reveals itself with startling ferocity. Set against the bustling, tourist-packed streets of historic Greenwich, this novel examines sinister events that happen, quite literally, right below the surface.

An audacious debut, The Dead of Summer is written in spare, evocative prose with remarkable psychological acuity and the daring to examine the dark, intensely fragile point between childhood and adolescence, and the morbid impulses of those mutable years.

About the Author

CAMILLA WAY lives in London and works as a journalist.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780156033732
Author:
Way, Camilla
Publisher:
Mariner Books
Subject:
Non-Classifiable
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Psychological
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20090114
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
208
Dimensions:
8 x 5.31 in 0.44 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Thank You Mr. Falker Used Trade Paper $2.95
  2. The Outsiders
    Used Mass Market $4.50
  3. Arthur's Nose Used Hardcover $5.50
  4. Epossumondas
    New Hardcover $16.00
  5. Warriors: The New Prophecy #4:...
    Used Hardcover $6.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

Dead of Summer (08 Edition) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.00 In Stock
Product details 208 pages Mariner Books - English 9780156033732 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
At thirteen, Anita Naidu was the sole witness to Londons notorious cave murders of 1986, which left three children dead.Told seven years later to the police psychologist who interviewed her at the time of the killings, Anitas story exposes the savagery of the schoolyard one chilling detail at a time until the truth reveals itself with startling ferocity. Set against the bustling, tourist-packed streets of historic Greenwich, this audacious debut examines sinister events that happen, quite literally, right below the surface. An irresistibly disturbing thriller for fans of A.M.Homes and Mary Gaitskill.
"Synopsis" by , **DEBUT FICTION** Admit how your pulse quickens when you see those headlines: murder spree of schoolgirl loner; boy, 13, rapes classmate; child, 10, stabs pensioner. So says narrator Anita Naidu, and she should know. At thirteen, Anita was the sole witness to London's notorious cave murders of 1986, which left three children dead. Told seven years later to the police psychologist who interviewed her at the time of the killings, Anita's story reveals the savagery of the schoolyard one chilling detail at a time until the truth of what actually happened reveals itself with startling ferocity. Set against the bustling, tourist-packed streets of historic Greenwich, this novel examines sinister events that happen, quite literally, right below the surface.

An audacious debut, The Dead of Summer is written in spare, evocative prose with remarkable psychological acuity and the daring to examine the dark, intensely fragile point between childhood and adolescence, and the morbid impulses of those mutable years.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.