25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 18, 2014

Ian Leslie: IMG Empathic Curiosity



Today, we wonder anxiously if digital media is changing our brains. But if there's any time in history when our mental operations changed... Continue »
  1. $18.89 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
List price: $19.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Hawthorne SF- FILM/TV/MEDI

Slayer Slang: A Buffy the Vampire Slayer Lexicon

by

Slayer Slang: A Buffy the Vampire Slayer Lexicon Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In its seven years on television, Buffy the Vampire Slayer has earned critical acclaim and a massive cult following among teen viewers. One of the most distinguishing features of the program is the innovative way the show's writers play with language: fabricating new words, morphing existing ones, and throwing usage on its head. The result has been a strikingly resonant lexicon that reflects the power of both youth culture and television in the evolution of American slang. Using the show to illustrate how new slang is formed, transformed, and transmitted, Slayer Slang is one of those rare books that combines a serious explanation of a pop culture phenomena with an engrossing read for fans of the show, word geeks, and language professionals. Michael Adams begins his book with a synopsis of the program's history and a defense of ephemeral language. He then moves to the main body of the work: a detailed glossary of slayer slang, annotated with actual dialogue and recorded the style accepted by the American Dialect Society. The book concludes with a bibliography and a lengthy index, a guide to sources (novels based on the show, magazine articles about the show, and language culled from the official posting board) and an appendix of slang-making suffixes. Introduced by Jane Espenson, one of the show's most inventive writers (and herself a linguist), Slayer Slang offers a quintessential example of contemporary youth culture serving as a vehicle for slang.

In the tradition of The Physics of Star Trek, Slayer Slang is one of those rare books that offers a serious examination a TV cult phenomenon appealing to fans and thinkers alike.

A few examples from the Slayer Slang glossary:

bitca n [AHD4 bitch n in sense 2.a + a] Bitch 1997 Sep 15 Whedon When She Was Bad "[Willow:] 'I mean, why else would she be acting like such a b-i-t-c-h?' [Giles:] 'Willow, I think we're all a little old to be spelling things out.' [Xander:] 'A bitca?'"

break and enterish adj [AHD4 sv breaking and entering n + -ish suff in sense 2.a] Suitable for crime 1999 Mar 16 Petrie Enemies "I'll go home and stock up on weapons, slip into something a little more break and enterish." [B]

carbon-dated adj [fr. AHD4 carbondating + -ed] Very out of date 1997 Mar 10 Whedon Welcome to the Hellmouth "[Buffy:] 'Deal with that outfit for a moment.' [Giles:] 'It's dated?' [Buffy:] 'It's carbon-dated.'"

cuddle-monkey n [AHD4 cuddle v + monkey n in sense 2, by analogy fr. RHHDAS (also DAS3 and NTC) sv cuddle bunny 'an affectionate, passionate, or sexually attractive young woman'] Male lover 1998 Feb 10 Noxon Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered "Every woman in Sunnydale wants to make me her cuddle-monkey." [X]

Synopsis:

In its seven years on television, Buffy the Vampire Slayer earned critical acclaim and a massive cult following among teen viewers. One of the most distinguishing features of the show is the innovative way its writers play with language--fabricating new words, morphing existing ones, and throwing usage on its head. The result has been a strikingly resonant lexicon that reflects the power of both youth culture and television in the evolution of American slang. Using the show to illustrate how new slang is formed, transformed, and transmitted, Slayer Slang is one of those rare books that combines a serious explanation of a pop culture phenomenon with an engrossing read for Buffy fans, language mavens, and pop culture critics. Noted linguist Michael Adams offers a synopsis of the program's history, an essay on the nature and evolution of the show's language, and a detailed glossary of slayer slang, annotated with actual dialogue. Introduced by Jane Espenson, one of the show's most inventive writers (and herself a linguist), Slayer Slang offers a quintessential example of contemporary youth culture serving as a vehicle for slang.

Synopsis:

Adams uses the show "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" as an example of how slang is formed, transformed, and transmitted.

About the Author

Michael Adams teaches at North Carolina State University and is the editor of Dictionaries: The Journal of the Dictionary Society of North America.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780195175998
Author:
Adams, Michael
Publisher:
Oxford University Press, USA
Author:
null, Michael
Subject:
Vocabulary
Subject:
Television - General
Subject:
Dictionaries - Idioms & Slang
Subject:
Linguistics | The English Language
Subject:
Film and Television-Reference
Copyright:
Edition Number:
2
Publication Date:
20041131
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
, 220 b/w illus.
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
5.3 x 8 x 0.7 in 0.75 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Sunnydale... Used Hardcover $10.50
  2. Popular Culture and Philosophy #4:... Used Trade Paper $6.50
  3. Buffy the Vampire Slayer Watcher's... Used Trade Paper $5.95
  4. Reading the Vampire Slayer (04 Edition) Used Trade Paper $11.00
  5. Yu-GI-Oh! Duelist ... New Trade Paper $7.95
  6. Gossip Girl #08: Nothing Can Keep Us...
    Used Trade Paper $4.95

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Film and Television » Reference
Engineering » Communications » Television
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Film, Television, and Media Tie Ins
History and Social Science » Politics » United States » Foreign Policy
Reference » Dictionaries » General
Reference » Rhetoric
Reference » Spelling and Vocabulary

Slayer Slang: A Buffy the Vampire Slayer Lexicon Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Oxford University Press - English 9780195175998 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In its seven years on television, Buffy the Vampire Slayer earned critical acclaim and a massive cult following among teen viewers. One of the most distinguishing features of the show is the innovative way its writers play with language--fabricating new words, morphing existing ones, and throwing usage on its head. The result has been a strikingly resonant lexicon that reflects the power of both youth culture and television in the evolution of American slang. Using the show to illustrate how new slang is formed, transformed, and transmitted, Slayer Slang is one of those rare books that combines a serious explanation of a pop culture phenomenon with an engrossing read for Buffy fans, language mavens, and pop culture critics. Noted linguist Michael Adams offers a synopsis of the program's history, an essay on the nature and evolution of the show's language, and a detailed glossary of slayer slang, annotated with actual dialogue. Introduced by Jane Espenson, one of the show's most inventive writers (and herself a linguist), Slayer Slang offers a quintessential example of contemporary youth culture serving as a vehicle for slang.
"Synopsis" by , Adams uses the show "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" as an example of how slang is formed, transformed, and transmitted.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.