The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 18, 2014

Lin Enger: IMG Knowing vs. Knowing



On a hot July evening years ago, my Toyota Tercel overheated on a flat stretch of highway north of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A steam geyser shot up from... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The High Divide

    Lin Enger 9781616203757

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.00
List price: $9.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
16 Partner Warehouse General- General

Cirque Du Freak: Saga of Darren Shan #01: A Living Nightmare

by

Cirque Du Freak: Saga of Darren Shan #01: A Living Nightmare Cover

ISBN13: 9780316605106
ISBN10: 0316605107
Condition: Student Owned
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Please note that used books may not include additional media (study guides, CDs, DVDs, solutions manuals, etc.) as described in the publisher comments.

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of Anne Rice and Stephen King's 'Salem's Lot, Cirque Du Freak is the frightening saga of a young boy whose visit to a mysterious freak show leads him on a journey into a dark world of vampires. Author Darren Shan's vivid detail and original voice will have young readers glued to their seats in terror. Filled with grotesque creatures, murderous vampires, and a petrifying ending, Cirque Du Freak will chill, thrill, and leave readers begging for more.

Review:

"Fast-paced and compelling, full of satisfying macabre touches — Cirque Du Freak explores the powerful fascination of the dangerous and unnatural and also, movingly, the obligations of friendship....A plot full of twists which leaves the reader hungry for more." J.K. Rowling, author of the Harry Potter series

Review:

"The gripping plot moves forward at a lightning pace....[A] rip-roaring story full of oddities, low-key horror, and occasional, unexpected poignancy." Debbie Carton, Booklist

Review:

"Poised to capture a wide audience of series horror readers....The scenario is compelling, and the author mines the exploitative history of early 20th-century sideshows to create an artfully macabre Cirque Du Freak." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"The slowness of the plot in the beginning might turn some readers off, but once the supernatural enters, they will be hooked. The fun here is in the details and in the uniqueness of the non-evil vampire monster." School Library Journal

Review:

"The author's choice of using a 'mock-umentary' style is a brilliant one....Readers will be howling for the sequel to this bone-chilling novel." Children's Literature

Review:

"Reluctant readers and fans of shows such as Buffy and Angel are the perfect targets for this first installment....This wry twist is sure to start some great urban legends about this vampire story and its origins." VOYA

Synopsis:

Darren Shan and his best friend, Steve, get tickets to the Cirque Du Freak, a wonderfully gothic freak show featuring weird, frightening half human/half animals who interact terrifyingly with the audience. In the midst of the excitement, true terror raises its head when Steve recognizes that one of the performers-- Mr. Crepsley-- is a vampire!

Stever remains after the show finishes to confront the vampire-- but his motives are surprising! In the shadows of a crumbling theater, a horrified Darren eavesdrops on his friend and the vampire, and is witness to a monstrous, disturbing plea. As if by destiny, Darren is pulled to Mr. Crepsley and what follows is his forrifying descent into the dark and bloody world of vampires.

This is Darren's story.

Synopsis:

Darren Shan and his two schoolmates get tickets to Cirque Du Freak. They are mesmerized by the fantastic and disturbing show, but when they get caught up in a deadly trap Darren must make a deal with the only person who can save him. And that person is not human and only deals in blood.

About the Author

Darren Shan was born in London, but at an early age he moved to Limerick, Ireland, with his parents and younger brother. He grew up watching old Dracula horror movies and reading spooky comics, which were the inspirations for this book. Cirque Du Freak is Darren Shan's first novel for young readers. Visit the author's website at www.darrenshan.com.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

samantha wardwell, November 4, 2009 (view all comments by samantha wardwell)
This book could use some help in describing whats going on in the beginning. Other than that this book is a very good book, from what I have read so far. I am hoping to get this book and read it so i may enjoy its contents.
With love,
Vanessa.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780316605106
Author:
Shan, Darren
Publisher:
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Location:
Boston
Subject:
Friendship
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Horror & Ghost Stories
Subject:
Conduct of life
Subject:
Horror fiction
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Fiction - Horror
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Fiction - Horror
Subject:
Vampires
Subject:
Freak shows
Subject:
Social Issues - General
Subject:
Children s-Scary Stories
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Male friendship; Boys; Circuses; Circus life; Secrets; Vampires
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st U.S. pbk. ed.
Edition Description:
Paperback
Series:
Cirque Du Freak: Saga of Darren Shan (Paperback)
Series Volume:
01
Publication Date:
June 2002
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 7 up to 17
Language:
English
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
7.99x5.05x.74 in. .59 lbs.
Age Level:
13-17

Other books you might like

  1. The Outlaws of Sherwood Used Mass Market $2.95
  2. What Would Joey Do? (04 Edition) Used Trade Paper $4.00
  3. Beauty: A Retelling of Beauty & the...
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  4. Monster
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  5. Summerland Used Hardcover $3.95
  6. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants
    Used Trade Paper $0.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Scary Stories » General
Children's » Situations » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Horror
Young Adult » Fiction » Paranormal

Cirque Du Freak: Saga of Darren Shan #01: A Living Nightmare Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.00 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Little Brown and Company - English 9780316605106 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Fast-paced and compelling, full of satisfying macabre touches — Cirque Du Freak explores the powerful fascination of the dangerous and unnatural and also, movingly, the obligations of friendship....A plot full of twists which leaves the reader hungry for more."
"Review" by , "The gripping plot moves forward at a lightning pace....[A] rip-roaring story full of oddities, low-key horror, and occasional, unexpected poignancy."
"Review" by , "Poised to capture a wide audience of series horror readers....The scenario is compelling, and the author mines the exploitative history of early 20th-century sideshows to create an artfully macabre Cirque Du Freak."
"Review" by , "The slowness of the plot in the beginning might turn some readers off, but once the supernatural enters, they will be hooked. The fun here is in the details and in the uniqueness of the non-evil vampire monster."
"Review" by , "The author's choice of using a 'mock-umentary' style is a brilliant one....Readers will be howling for the sequel to this bone-chilling novel."
"Review" by , "Reluctant readers and fans of shows such as Buffy and Angel are the perfect targets for this first installment....This wry twist is sure to start some great urban legends about this vampire story and its origins."
"Synopsis" by , Darren Shan and his best friend, Steve, get tickets to the Cirque Du Freak, a wonderfully gothic freak show featuring weird, frightening half human/half animals who interact terrifyingly with the audience. In the midst of the excitement, true terror raises its head when Steve recognizes that one of the performers-- Mr. Crepsley-- is a vampire!

Stever remains after the show finishes to confront the vampire-- but his motives are surprising! In the shadows of a crumbling theater, a horrified Darren eavesdrops on his friend and the vampire, and is witness to a monstrous, disturbing plea. As if by destiny, Darren is pulled to Mr. Crepsley and what follows is his forrifying descent into the dark and bloody world of vampires.

This is Darren's story.

"Synopsis" by , Darren Shan and his two schoolmates get tickets to Cirque Du Freak. They are mesmerized by the fantastic and disturbing show, but when they get caught up in a deadly trap Darren must make a deal with the only person who can save him. And that person is not human and only deals in blood.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.