Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 21, 2014

Richard Bausch: IMG Why Literature Can Save Us



Our title is, of course, a problem. "Why Literature Can Save Us." And of course the problem is one of definition: what those words mean. What is... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Before, During, After

    Richard Bausch 9780307266262

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$14.95
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
3 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z
1 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

The Sky Below

by

The Sky Below Cover

ISBN13: 9780547336275
ISBN10: 0547336276
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From a rising literary star “in the tradition of Carol Shields and A. S. Byatt” comes this luminous story of a contemporary mans metamorphosis.

Andrea Barrett and Michael Cunningham have lauded Stacey DErasmo for the beauty of her language and her ability to create worlds that leave a lasting impression. In her new novel, DErasmo reaches back to Ovid for inspiration in this tale of how the mythic animates our everyday lives. At thirty-seven, Gabriel Collins works halfheartedly as an obituary writer at a fading newspaper in lower Manhattan, which, since 9/11, feels like a city of the dead. This once dreamy and appealing boy has turned from a rebellious adolescent to an adult who trades in petty crimes.His wealthy, older boyfriend is indulgent of him—to a point. But after a brush with his own mortality, Gabriel must flee to Mexico in order to put himself back together. By novels end, we know all of Gabriels ratty little secrets, but by dint of DErasmos spectacular writing, we exult in the story of an imperfect man who—tested by a world that is often too much for him—rises to meet the challenge.

Synopsis:

“DErasmo moves to the top of her craft with The Sky Below,” said Town and Country, and many others have joined the chorus of critical acclaim for her newest novel, in part inspired by Ovid, which illuminates the myths that underlie our everyday lives.

At thirty-seven, Gabriel Collins works halfheartedly as an obituary writer at a fading newspaper in lower Manhattan, which, since 9/11, feels like a city of the dead. This once dreamy and appealing boy has turned from a rebellious adolescent to an adult who trades in petty crimes. His wealthy, older boyfriend is indulgent of him—to a point. But after a brush with his own mortality, Gabriel must flee to Mexico in order to put himself back together. By the novels end, we know all of Gabriels ratty little secrets, but by dint of DErasmos spectacular writing, we exult in the story of an imperfect man who—tested by a world that is often too much for him—rises to meet the challenge.

About the Author

STACEY DERASMO is the author of the novels The Sky Below and Tea, both New York Times Notable Books, and A Seahorse Year, a San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of the Year. Her writing has appeared in the New York Times Magazine, the New York Times Book Review, and Ploughshares. A recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship in Fiction, she is currently an assistant professor of writing at Columbia University. She lives in New York.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

jadelin, September 11, 2010 (view all comments by jadelin)
Be prepared for a journey that takes place deeply within the lens of Gabriel's head. The Sky Below is full of twists and unexpected turns, some believable and grounded in reality others which are believable because the writing is intense and grounded. Gabriel's story begins in his childhood as memories of a happy life, especially ones experienced with his fun loving mother turn to loss and struggle. From that point on, Gabriel lives by appearing to live in the world that we mostly inhabit but simultaneously coping by habitually ripping off others, ripping off himself. Stacey D'Erasmo is an immensely talented writer, keeping us locked inside Gabriel's mind and leaving us wanting to be there.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 7 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780547336275
Author:
D'erasmo, Stacey
Publisher:
Mariner Books
Author:
D'Erasmo, Stacey
Subject:
General
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Gay
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Cloth
Publication Date:
20100431
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
8 x 5.31 in 0.59 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Lark and Termite
    Used Hardcover $7.50
  2. Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  3. Tea Used Trade Paper $6.50
  4. The Right Mistake: The Further...
    Used Trade Paper $9.50
  5. A Supposedly Fun Thing I'll Never Do... Used Trade Paper $8.00
  6. Starvation Lake: A Mystery Sale Trade Paper $2.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The Sky Below New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$14.95 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Mariner Books - English 9780547336275 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
“DErasmo moves to the top of her craft with The Sky Below,” said Town and Country, and many others have joined the chorus of critical acclaim for her newest novel, in part inspired by Ovid, which illuminates the myths that underlie our everyday lives.

At thirty-seven, Gabriel Collins works halfheartedly as an obituary writer at a fading newspaper in lower Manhattan, which, since 9/11, feels like a city of the dead. This once dreamy and appealing boy has turned from a rebellious adolescent to an adult who trades in petty crimes. His wealthy, older boyfriend is indulgent of him—to a point. But after a brush with his own mortality, Gabriel must flee to Mexico in order to put himself back together. By the novels end, we know all of Gabriels ratty little secrets, but by dint of DErasmos spectacular writing, we exult in the story of an imperfect man who—tested by a world that is often too much for him—rises to meet the challenge.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.