Mega Dose
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Interviews | September 2, 2014

    Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



    David Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.00
List price: $12.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
2 Partner Warehouse General- General

When I Was Puerto Rican (93 Edition)

by

When I Was Puerto Rican (93 Edition) Cover

ISBN13: 9780679756767
ISBN10: 0679756760
Condition: Student Owned
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $8.00!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Please note that used books may not include additional media (study guides, CDs, DVDs, solutions manuals, etc.) as described in the publisher comments.

Publisher Comments:

Selling over 16,000 copies in hardcover, this triumphant coming-of-age memoir is now available in paperback editions in both English and Spanish. In the tradition of Black Ice, Santiago writes lyrically of her childhood on her native island and of her bewildering years of transition in New York City.

Review:

"Santiago's autobiographical account cinematically recaptures her past and her island culture. What is particularly appealing about Santiago's story is the insight it offers to readers unaware of the double bind Puerto Rican Americans find themselves in: the identity in conflict. Is [she] black or white? Is she rural or urban? Even more importantly, is she Puerto Rican or is she American? [One] can only be grateful that Esmeralda Santiago has chosen to explore her culture and share what she has found." The Los Angeles Times Book Review

Review:

"A beguiling record of a tremendous journey, epic in its own way, from childhood in a vibrant Puerto Rican barrio to triumph at Harvard, with a defining pause in a drab Brooklyn along the way....Cleareyed, quietly powerful, and often lyrical: a story of true grit." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"A poignant look at a girl's coming of age and taking control of her own destiny, Santiago's story reflects that of Puerto Rico: to be a part of the United States, yet distinct and somehow detached." Library Journal

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

KaisenN Travelling Cross Country, October 18, 2014 (view all comments by KaisenN Travelling Cross Country)
We live a good life here in America. We basically live in a first class society. But this is not the case for some countries. Puerto Rico is one of the countries, in the mid 1900's that did not have the best living conditions. In fact, it was even hard to get a job, and live substantially in a good house.
Negi, a small, Spanish speaking child, seeks a better life. She lives in a house with a dirt floor, there are high risks of snake and scorpion bites, and on top of that, she has five other brothers and sisters. Her mother, Mami, does not have a job until later in the story, and her father, Papi, is almost never home. Her parents fight frequently, making it hard for Negi to go to sleep some nights. Although she has all of this commotion in her personal life, she has a incredible passion for living a better life. She is moved to different relatives to live, and she keeps moving school. This puts her back in her education because she has to catch up on the information the rest of the class is learning. Although the constant setbacks may eventually discourage the average human being, Negi keeps trying to learn English and learn the subjects.
Readers would enjoy this book. Although this story of Esmeralda Santiago had depressing sections, it is all worth.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
dhirizarry, April 9, 2009 (view all comments by dhirizarry)
I'm Puerto Rican and I learn so much from reading this book and enjoyed it. Mrs. Santiago thank you this is the first book I ever read and now I'm on my second book (at the age of 41)
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(6 of 10 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780679756767
Author:
Santiago, Esmeralda
Publisher:
Vintage Books USA
Location:
New York :
Subject:
Biography
Subject:
Women
Subject:
United states
Subject:
Central America
Subject:
Puerto rico
Subject:
Ethnic Cultures
Subject:
New York
Subject:
Puerto Ricans
Subject:
New York (N.Y.) Biography.
Subject:
Ethnic Studies - Hispanic American Studies
Subject:
Ethnic Cultures - General
Subject:
Latin America - Central America
Edition Description:
1st Vintage Books ed.
Series Volume:
no. 118
Publication Date:
October 1994
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
8.08x5.20x.64 in. .51 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Low Life: Lures and Snares of Old... Used Trade Paper $8.50
  2. A Lesson Before Dying (Vintage...
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  3. Tuesdays with Morrie: An Old Man, a...
    Used Mass Market $3.50
  4. Black Like Me
    Used Mass Market $2.95
  5. Dreaming in Cuban Used Trade Paper $3.50
  6. The House on Mango Street (Vintage...
    Used Trade Paper $5.95

Related Subjects

Biography » Women
History and Social Science » Ethnic Studies » Latin American

When I Was Puerto Rican (93 Edition) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.00 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Vintage Books USA - English 9780679756767 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Santiago's autobiographical account cinematically recaptures her past and her island culture. What is particularly appealing about Santiago's story is the insight it offers to readers unaware of the double bind Puerto Rican Americans find themselves in: the identity in conflict. Is [she] black or white? Is she rural or urban? Even more importantly, is she Puerto Rican or is she American? [One] can only be grateful that Esmeralda Santiago has chosen to explore her culture and share what she has found."
"Review" by , "A beguiling record of a tremendous journey, epic in its own way, from childhood in a vibrant Puerto Rican barrio to triumph at Harvard, with a defining pause in a drab Brooklyn along the way....Cleareyed, quietly powerful, and often lyrical: a story of true grit."
"Review" by , "A poignant look at a girl's coming of age and taking control of her own destiny, Santiago's story reflects that of Puerto Rico: to be a part of the United States, yet distinct and somehow detached."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.