The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 24, 2014

Jessica Valenti: IMG Full Frontal Feminism Revisited



It is arguably the worst and best time to be a feminist. In the years since I first wrote Full Frontal Feminism, we've seen a huge cultural shift in... Continue »
  1. $11.90 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.50
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's Nonfiction- Birds

Owl Puke the Book

by

Owl Puke the Book Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Kids love science-especially when it's hands-on-and kids love yucky stuff. The Owl Puke Book and Owl Pellet brings the best of those two worlds together in a unique package that follows directly in the tradition of The Bug Book and Bug Bottle and The Bones Book and Skeleton (which together have 3.3 million copies in print). What is an owl pellet? It's the football-shaped object regurgitated twice a day by owls, which contains the skeleton of at least one owl meal, be it a mouse, vole, shrew, or small bird. Used in elementary schools to teach the food web--but virtually unavailable at retail--a professionally collected, heat-sterilized owl pellet is now married to a lively, two-color illustrated book filled with facts and related activities about these most amazing birds. And what a story the Owl Puke Book tells--of the food chain, animal anatomy, life in the forest; of a bird that could read the bottom line of an eye chart from one mile away; and of a fierce hunter that swallows its prey headfirst and digests everything but the bones, which it spits back up in a pellet. As for the story the pellet tells, kids need only a toothpick to find out. The package includes a tray to hold the bones and a chart to help identify the pellet's contents.

It's a hoot.

Synopsis:

Used in elementary schools to teach the food web--but virtually unavailable at retail--a professionally collected, heat-sterilized owl pellet (with remnants of a meal) is joined by an illustrated book filled with facts and related activities about these most amazing birds.

Synopsis:

BE AN OWL DETECTIVE

With toothpick in hand, discover the habits and habitats of owls in an irresistible combination of hands-on science and yuck. Ages 8-12

THE BOOK
Jawbones and the food chain. Ribs no bigger than an eyelash, telling the saga of predator and prey. A lively, 96-page, full-color book, packed with photographs and illustrations, charts, stats and little-known puke facts.

THE PELLET
Guaranteed to contain at least one skeleton, the pellet is professionally collected and heat sterilized for complete safety.

BONE SORTING TRAY
Sturdy plastic, eight dividers– the perfect place to sort and store bones.

About the Author

Jane Hammerslough is the author of more than 20 books for kids, including Owl Puke and Snakes: Face to Face. A former teacher and award-winning parenting columnist, she writes for Child and Parenting, Family Circle, and other publications. She lives in Westport, Connecticut.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780761131861
Subtitle:
Book and Owl Pellet
Editor:
Allender, David
Author:
Hammerslough, Jane
Publisher:
Workman Publishing Company
Subject:
Animals - Birds
Subject:
Science & Technology - Environmental Science & Ecology
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Science
Subject:
Science & Technology - Biology
Subject:
Science & Nature - Environmental Science & Eco Logy
Subject:
Science & Nature - Biology
Subject:
JUVENILE NONFICTION / Science and Nature / Environmental Science and Ecosystems
Subject:
JUVENILE NONFICTION / Animals/Birds
Subject:
JUVENILE NONFICTION / Science & Nature / Environmental Science & Ecosystems
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paperback
Publication Date:
20031217
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
Children/juvenile
Language:
English
Illustrations:
5 x 7
Pages:
92
Dimensions:
7 x 6.69 x 1.5 in 0.5 lb
Age Level:
08-12

Other books you might like

  1. Those Outrageous Owls New Trade Paper $9.95
  2. The Liar's Tale: A History of Falsehood Used Trade Paper $3.95
  3. Owl at Home Used Book Club Hardcover $1.95
  4. Owl at Home (I Can Read Books) Used Trade Paper $3.00
  5. Frankenstein Used Trade Paper $1.50
  6. Signal & Noise Used Hardcover $5.50

Related Subjects

Children's » Nonfiction » Birds
Children's » Nonfiction » Wild Animals
History and Social Science » Military » General History
Home and Garden » Gardening » Gardening for Children
Metaphysics » General
Religion » Comparative Religion » General
Transportation » Automotive » Repair and Maintenance

Owl Puke the Book Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.50 In Stock
Product details 92 pages Workman Publishing - English 9780761131861 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Used in elementary schools to teach the food web--but virtually unavailable at retail--a professionally collected, heat-sterilized owl pellet (with remnants of a meal) is joined by an illustrated book filled with facts and related activities about these most amazing birds.
"Synopsis" by ,
BE AN OWL DETECTIVE

With toothpick in hand, discover the habits and habitats of owls in an irresistible combination of hands-on science and yuck. Ages 8-12

THE BOOK
Jawbones and the food chain. Ribs no bigger than an eyelash, telling the saga of predator and prey. A lively, 96-page, full-color book, packed with photographs and illustrations, charts, stats and little-known puke facts.

THE PELLET
Guaranteed to contain at least one skeleton, the pellet is professionally collected and heat sterilized for complete safety.

BONE SORTING TRAY
Sturdy plastic, eight dividers– the perfect place to sort and store bones.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.