Mega Dose
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
Used Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Mystery- A to Z

To the Power of Three

by

To the Power of Three Cover

ISBN13: 9780060506735
ISBN10: 0060506733
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $4.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Josie, Perri, and Kat have been inseparable best friends since third grade — the athlete, the brilliant, acerbic drama queen, and the popular beauty with a heart that is open to all around her. They live in an affluent suburb of Baltimore and enjoy privileges many teenagers are denied. But on the final day of school one of them brings a gun with her. And when the police break down the door of the high school girls' bathroom, locked from the inside, they find two of the friends wounded, one of them critically — and the third girl is dead.

From one of the most acclaimed authors of crime fiction writing today comes a novel breathtaking in its emotional depth — a riveting, powerful, provocative, and consistently surprising tale of secrets, friendship, and betrayal that brilliantly illuminates a dark and chilling event with startling clarity and unique empathy.

Review:

"Some of the scenes are wonderfully well told, and Lippman, as always, neatly skewers people in power." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"[W]hat Lippman is really going for here is an analysis of teenage friendship and how cultural pressures can twist it into something so ugly it becomes lethal." New York Times

Review:

"[F]ans of suspense fiction won't be disappointed with this solid addition to the genre." Library Journal

Synopsis:

“Powerful….A gripping tale that is a mystery only in the same sense as To Kill a Mockingbird was….Brilliant, insightful, moving.”
—Chicago Sun-Times

There are excellent reasons why New York Times bestselling author Laura Lippman has won the Edgar®, Agatha, Anthony, Nero Wolfe, and every other major award the mystery genre has to offer. To the Power of Three is just one of those reasons. Lippmans brilliant and disturbing tale of three inseparable high school girlfriends in an affluent Baltimore suburb who share dark secrets literally until death, To the Power of Three is this “writing powerhouse” (USA Today), who has “exploded the boundaries of the mystery genre to become one of the most significant social realists of our time” (Madison Smartt Bell) operating at the very top of her game. Not merely crime fiction, but fiction that gets to the deep psychological, emotional, and human roots of a terrible crime, Lippmans novel is one that will not be easily forgotten—a must read for fans of Kate Atkinson, Tana French, Jodi Picoult, and Harlan Coben

About the Author

Laura Lippman grew up in Baltimore and returned to her hometown in 1989 to work as a journalist. After writing seven books while still a full-time reporter, she left the Baltimore Sun to focus on fiction. She is the author of eleven Tess Monaghan books, including Baltimore Blues, Another Thing to Fall, and The Girl in the Green Raincoat; five stand-alone novels, including Every Secret Thing, To the Power of Three, What the Dead Know, and Life Sentences; and one short story collection, Hardly Knew Her. She is also the editor of another story collection, Baltimore Noir. Lippman has won numerous awards for her work, including the Edgar, Quill, Anthony, Nero Wolfe, Agatha, Gumshoe, Barry, and Macavity.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Cathy Crane, November 1, 2007 (view all comments by Cathy Crane)
I've heard a lot of good things about Laura Lippman's books - but somehow never got around to trying one. After reading this - she's going on my list! This novel about 3 childhood friends whose friendship goes horribly wrong in high school was such a cut above the average mystery. I loved it!

Fup - I miss you! Rest in peace much loved store cat!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(5 of 9 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780060506735
Author:
Lippman, Laura
Publisher:
Avon
Author:
by Laura Lippman
Author:
Landis, Deborah Nadoolman
Author:
McCall, Bruce
Subject:
Police
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Police Procedural
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Series
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Women Sleuths
Subject:
Suspense
Subject:
Teenage girls
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
General Photography
Subject:
General Humor
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Mass Market PB
Publication Date:
20060627
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
448
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 0.375 in 7.60 oz

Other books you might like

  1. The Lincoln Lawyer
    Used Mass Market $1.50
  2. Touching Evil Used Mass Market $2.50
  3. Lost Lake Used Mass Market $3.50
  4. Field of Blood
    Used Mass Market $5.50
  5. Ruby's Wish
    Used Book Club Paperback $2.50
  6. Tales of the Otori #02: Across the... Used Mass Market $2.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Suspense

To the Power of Three Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 448 pages Avon Books - English 9780060506735 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Some of the scenes are wonderfully well told, and Lippman, as always, neatly skewers people in power." Publishers Weekly
"Review" by , "[W]hat Lippman is really going for here is an analysis of teenage friendship and how cultural pressures can twist it into something so ugly it becomes lethal."
"Review" by , "[F]ans of suspense fiction won't be disappointed with this solid addition to the genre."
"Synopsis" by , “Powerful….A gripping tale that is a mystery only in the same sense as To Kill a Mockingbird was….Brilliant, insightful, moving.”
—Chicago Sun-Times

There are excellent reasons why New York Times bestselling author Laura Lippman has won the Edgar®, Agatha, Anthony, Nero Wolfe, and every other major award the mystery genre has to offer. To the Power of Three is just one of those reasons. Lippmans brilliant and disturbing tale of three inseparable high school girlfriends in an affluent Baltimore suburb who share dark secrets literally until death, To the Power of Three is this “writing powerhouse” (USA Today), who has “exploded the boundaries of the mystery genre to become one of the most significant social realists of our time” (Madison Smartt Bell) operating at the very top of her game. Not merely crime fiction, but fiction that gets to the deep psychological, emotional, and human roots of a terrible crime, Lippmans novel is one that will not be easily forgotten—a must read for fans of Kate Atkinson, Tana French, Jodi Picoult, and Harlan Coben

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.