Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Best Books of the Year | December 7, 2014

    Gigi Little: IMG Best Kids' Books of 2014



    No, I'm sorry, it's impossible. The best kids' books of 2014? The best? Can't do it. There have been entirely too many exceptional examples of the... Continue »
    1. $11.87 Sale Board Book add to wish list

      Countablock

      Christopher Franceschelli and Peskimo 9781419713743

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
List price: $14.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Not available for In-store Pickup
Qty Store Section

This title in other editions

Confessions of a Wall Street Analyst: A True Story of Inside Information and Corruption in the Stock Market

by

Confessions of a Wall Street Analyst: A True Story of Inside Information and Corruption in the Stock Market Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Here is the true story of a top Wall Street player's transformation from a straight-arrow believer to a jaded cynic, who reveals how Wall Street's insider game is really played.

Dan Reingold was a top Wall Street analyst for fourteen years and Salomon Smith Barney analyst Jack Grubman's chief competitor in the red-hot sector of telecom. Reingold was part of the "Street" and believed in it.

But in this action-packed, highly personal memoir written with accomplished Fast Company senior writer Jennifer Reingold the author describes how his enthusiasm gave way to disgust as he learned how deeply corrupted Wall Street and much of corporate America had become during the roaring stock market bubble of the 1990s.

Confessions of a Wall Street Analyst provides a front-row seat at one of the most dramatic — and ultimately tragic — periods in financial history. Reingold recounts his introduction to the world of Wall Street leaks and secret deal-making; his experiences with corporate fraud; and Wall Street's alarming penchant for lavish spending and multimillion-dollar pay packages.

Reingold spars with arch rival Grubman; fends off intense pressures from Wall Street bankers and corporate CEOs; and is wooed by Morgan Stanley's CEO, John Mack, and CSFB's über-banker Frank Quattrone.

Reingold describes instances in which confidential deals are whispered days before their official announcement. He recalls the moment he learns that Bernie Ebbers's WorldCom was massively cooking its books. And he is shocked to have been an unwitting catalyst for a series of sexually explicit e-mails that would rock Wall Street; bring Jack Grubman to his knees; and contribute to the stepping aside of Grubman's boss, Citigroup CEO Sandy Weill.

Some of Reingold's stories are outrageous, others hilarious, and many are simply absurd. But, together, they provide a sobering exposé of Wall Street: a jungle of greed and ego, a place brimming with conflicts and inside information, and a business absurdly out of touch with the Main Street it claims to serve.

He shows how government investigators, headlines notwithstanding, never got to the heart of the ethical and legal transgressions of the era. And how they completely overlooked Wall Street's pervasive use of inside information, leaving investors — even sophisticated professionals — cheated. The book ends with a series of important policy recommendations to clean up the investing business.

In the tradition of Liar's Poker and Den of Thieves, Confessions of a Wall Street Analyst is a no-holds-barred insider's account that will open the eyes of every investor.

Synopsis:

Dan Reingold believed in the "Street." But in this controversial, highly personal memoir written with "Fast Company" senior writer Jennifer Reingold, the author describes how his enthusiasm gave way to disgust as he learned how deeply corrupted his industry had become. "Confessions of a Wall Street Analyst" is a sobering exposé of Wall Street: a jungle of greed and ego, a place brimming with conflicts and inside information, and a business absurdly out of touch with the Main Street it claims to serve. In the tradition of "Liar's Poker" and "Den of Thieves," "Confessions of a Wall Street Analyst" is a no-holds-barred insider's account that will open the eyes of every investor.

About the Author

Dan Reingold was a Managing Director and telecom analyst for fourteen years at Morgan Stanley, Merrill Lynch, and Credit Suisse First Boston. He was ranked number one or number two by Institutional Investor magazine for most of his career. Prior to that he was a financial executive at MCI. He has been profiled in Barron's; frequently quoted in the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, and BusinessWeek; and interviewed on TV, including CNBC and Wall $treet Week with Louis Rukeyser. Reingold is currently Project Director for Telecom Finance at the Columbia Institute for Tele-Information at Columbia's Graduate School of Business.

Jennifer Reingold is a senior writer at Fast Company magazine. She is the coauthor of Final Accounting: Greed, Ambition, and the Fall of Arthur Andersen and the BusinessWeek Guide to the Best Business Schools. Jennifer is Dan's niece.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780060747701
Subtitle:
A True Story of Inside Information and Corruption in the Stock Market
Author:
Reingold, Daniel
With:
Reingold, Jennifer
Author:
Reingold, Jennifer
Author:
Cleary, Beverly
Author:
Roberts, William
Author:
by Daniel Reingold and Jennifer Reingold
Publisher:
HarperBusiness
Subject:
General
Subject:
General Business & Economics
Subject:
Animals - Dogs
Subject:
Business - General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Publication Date:
20070529
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 0.704 in 13.92 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Your Body's Many Cries for Water Used Trade Paper $1.95
  2. Why We Run: A Natural History Used Trade Paper $5.95
  3. In Defense of Food: An Eater's Manifesto
    Used Trade Paper $6.95
  4. Burning Wild Used Mass Market $1.95
  5. How to Read the Bible: A Guide to...
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  6. The Year of the Goat: 40,000 Miles...
    Used Hardcover $9.50

Related Subjects

» Business » Biographies
» Business » General
» Business » History and Biographies
» Business » Management
» History and Social Science » Crime » True Crime

Confessions of a Wall Street Analyst: A True Story of Inside Information and Corruption in the Stock Market Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 384 pages Collins - English 9780060747701 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Dan Reingold believed in the "Street." But in this controversial, highly personal memoir written with "Fast Company" senior writer Jennifer Reingold, the author describes how his enthusiasm gave way to disgust as he learned how deeply corrupted his industry had become. "Confessions of a Wall Street Analyst" is a sobering exposé of Wall Street: a jungle of greed and ego, a place brimming with conflicts and inside information, and a business absurdly out of touch with the Main Street it claims to serve. In the tradition of "Liar's Poker" and "Den of Thieves," "Confessions of a Wall Street Analyst" is a no-holds-barred insider's account that will open the eyes of every investor.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.