The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$18.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside SF- OVERSIZE

Mirrormask: The Illustrated Film Script of the Motion Picture from the Jim Henson Company

by and

Mirrormask: The Illustrated Film Script of the Motion Picture from the Jim Henson Company Cover

ISBN13: 9780060798758
ISBN10: 0060798750
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $18.95!

 

Staff Pick

This wondrous volume presents Neil Gaiman's screenplay of the film MirrorMask, along with director/artist Dave McKean's storyboards. The unique format (the relevant panel is positioned next to the depicted section of Gaiman's script) creates a smooth, intriguing read that's somewhere between a storybook and a graphic novel. Fans of Gaiman, McKean, and MirrorMask will need no prompting
Recommended by Chris Bolton, Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From the incomparable imagination and lucid visions of Sandman creator Neil Gaiman and acclaimed artist and director Dave McKean — and the innovative minds at the Jim Henson Company — comes MirrorMask, a breathtaking journey through a strange and magical looking-glass world where anything can happen...and frequently does.

Here is the complete film book of the new high-water mark in family fantasy entertainment. The story of young Helena, daughter of the circus, comes vividly alive as we accompany her on her remarkable mission to a place far beyond wonder; a phantasmagorical quest to rescue a realm from the devouring forces of chaos and shadow in order to win back her stolen "real" life from a runaway interloper from the other side.

Containing the full screenplay and more than 1,700 illustrated storyboards of the major motion picture — as well as movie stills, comments, appreciations, and memories from the authors and filmmakers — this one-of-a-kind volume is destined to become a classic, a keepsake to be cherished by fans of all ages.

For all who believe in the glorious reality of dreams, for everyone who longs to ride their imagination to miraculous places, the door is now open wide. See the world anew through the MirrorMask...and nothing will ever look the same again.

Review:

"[T]he film is endlessly inventive with creativity to burn....[S]ure to charm kids and also intrigue adults with its imagination....MirrorMask...goes places most films never even dream of." The Hollywood Reporter

Synopsis:

This complete script book for the film by the same name contains more than 1,700 original storyboard drawings, two 16-page inserts with scenes from the film, and an inside look at the creation of the movie from email correspondence between Gaiman and McKean.

About the Author

A professional writer for more than twenty years, Neil Gaiman has been one of the top writers in modern comics, and is now a bestselling novelist. His work has appeared in translation in more than nineteen countries, and nearly all of his novels, graphic and otherwise, have been optioned for films. He is listed in the Dictionary of Literary Biography as one of the top ten living post-modern writers. Gaiman was the creator/writer of the monthly cult DC Comics series, Sandman, which won Neil nine Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards, including the award for best writer four times, and three Harvey Awards. Sandman #19 took the 1991 World Fantasy Award for best short story, making it the first comic ever to be awarded a literary award. His six-part fantastical TV series for the BBC, Neverwhere, was broadcast in 1996. His novel, also called Neverwhere, and set in the same strange underground world as the television series, was released in 1997; it appeared on a number of bestseller lists, including those of the Los Angeles Times, the San Francisco Chronicle, and Locus. Stardust, an illustrated prose novel in four parts, began to appear from DC Comics in 1997. In 1999 Avon released the all-prose unillustrated version, which appeared on a number of bestseller lists, was selected by Publishers Weekly as one of the best books of the year, and was awarded the prestigious Mythopoeic Award as best novel for adults. American Gods, a novel for adults, was published in 2001 and appeared on many best-of-the-year lists, was a New York Times bestseller in both hardcover and paperback, and won the Hugo, Nebula, SFX, Bram Stoker, and Locus Awards. Coraline (2002), his first novel for children, was a New York Times and international bestseller, was nominated for the Prix Tam Tam, and won the Elizabeth Burr/Worzalla Award, the BSFA Award, the Hugo, the Nebula, and the Bram Stoker Award. 2003 saw the publication of bestseller The Wolves in the Walls, a children's picture book, illustrated by Gaiman's longtime collaborator Dave McKean, which the New York Times named as one of the best illustrated books of the year; and the first Sandman graphic novel in seven years, Endless Nights, the first graphic novel to make the New York Times bestseller list. In 2004, Gaiman published the a new graphic novel for Marvel called 1602, which was the best-selling comic of 2004, and 2005 saw the Sundance Film Festival premiere of MirrorMask. Born and raised in England, Neil Gaiman now lives near Minneapolis, Minnesota, where he is currently at work on Anansi Boys, the long-awaited follow-up to American Gods.

Dave McKean is an award-winning, world-renowned mixed media artist, illustrator, and film and video director. A longtime friend and collaborator of Neil Gaiman, McKean is famous for his distinctive work on the covers of the entire run of Gaiman's DC/Vertigo Sandman comic book series. He lives in England.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

crowyhead, August 29, 2006 (view all comments by crowyhead)
I received this lovely book for my birthday and had to read it right away. The entire screenplay is here (including some scenes and dialog ultimately cut from the film), all illustrated with Dave McKean's deceptively simple storyboard sketches. There are also some lovely stills from the film, as well as backstage photos.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(9 of 16 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780060798758
Subtitle:
The Illustrated Film Script of the Motion Picture from The Jim Henson Company
Author:
Neil Gaiman and Dave McKean
Author:
McKean, Dave
Author:
Gaiman, Neil
Author:
by Neil Gaiman and Dave McKean
Publisher:
William Morrow
Subject:
General
Subject:
Film & Video - General
Subject:
General Fiction
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
May 1, 2005
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
11.18x9.44x1.05 in. 3.40 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Alchemy of MirrorMask Used Hardcover $22.00
  2. A Wreath for Emmett Till New Trade Paper $7.99
  3. A Little History of the World Used Trade Paper $8.00
  4. The Burn Journals
    Used Trade Paper $8.00
  5. John Lennon: All I Want Is the Truth Used Hardcover $11.95
  6. Spawn of Dykes to Watch Out for:... New Trade Paper $14.50

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Film and Television » Screenplays and Teleplays
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Film, Television, and Media Tie Ins
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Oversized Books
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Star Trek

Mirrormask: The Illustrated Film Script of the Motion Picture from the Jim Henson Company Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$18.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages William Morrow & Company - English 9780060798758 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

This wondrous volume presents Neil Gaiman's screenplay of the film MirrorMask, along with director/artist Dave McKean's storyboards. The unique format (the relevant panel is positioned next to the depicted section of Gaiman's script) creates a smooth, intriguing read that's somewhere between a storybook and a graphic novel. Fans of Gaiman, McKean, and MirrorMask will need no prompting

"Review" by , "[T]he film is endlessly inventive with creativity to burn....[S]ure to charm kids and also intrigue adults with its imagination....MirrorMask...goes places most films never even dream of."
"Synopsis" by , This complete script book for the film by the same name contains more than 1,700 original storyboard drawings, two 16-page inserts with scenes from the film, and an inside look at the creation of the movie from email correspondence between Gaiman and McKean.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.