Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | July 14, 2015

    Joshua Mohr: IMG Your Imagination, Your Fingerprint



    When I was in grad school, a teacher told our workshop that if a published novel is 300 pages, the writer had to generate 1,200 along the way. I... Continue »
    1. $17.50 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      All This Life

      Joshua Mohr 9781593766030

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
List price: $9.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General

Impossible

by

Impossible Cover

ISBN13: 9780142414910
ISBN10: 0142414913
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $5.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

For fans of Beautiful Creatures and Wicked Lovely comes this New York Times Bestselling modern fairy tale from National Book Award Finalist Nancy Werlin.

Inspired by the classic folk ballad “Scarborough Fair,” this wonderfully riveting novel is rife with suspense, romance, and fantasy. Seventeen-year-old Lucy discovers that she is the latest recipient of a generations-old Elvin curse that requires women in her family to complete three impossible tasks or risk falling into madness and passing the curse on to the next generation. Unlike her ancestors, Lucy has the support of her fiercely protective adoptive parents, and her best friend Zach, whose friendship may be turning into something more. But do they have enough love and resolve to conquer this age-old evil?

 

The Scarborough Girls story continues in Unthinkable and the companion novel Extraordinary.

 

 

“Teens, especially young women, will enjoy this romantic fairy tale with modern trappings.”—School Library Journal (starred review)

 

“Showcases the authors finesse at melding genres [with its] graceful interplay between wild magic and contemporary reality [and its] catapulting suspense.”—Booklist (starred review)

 

“The melding of magic and practicality produces a lovely whole.”—Kirkus (starred review)

 

 

Synopsis:

Inspired by the ballad Scarborough Fair, popularized by Simon & Garfunkel, this riveting novel combines suspense, fantasy, and romance. It tells the story of a teenage girl who has nine months to break an ancient curse in order to save both herself and her unborn daughter.

Synopsis:

A message. A key. A mirror. A secret world unlocked. Lena has lived her whole life near the beach, walking the shore, breathing the salty air,swimming in the cold water, and watching the surfers rule the waves. As her sixteenth birthday approaches, Lena vows to learn to surf. Her father forbids it. But something Lena cant identify at first—an ancient, powerful magic—keeps drawing her to the water. One day, she finally catches sight of it: a beautiful woman, with a silvery tail. Now nothing can stop Lena from seeking the mermaid, not even the dangerouswaves at Magic Crescent Cove.

And what Lena sees in the mermaids mirror will change her life forever.

Synopsis:

A compelling thriller from a National Book Award Finalist author

Frances Leventhal refuses to look in the mirror; she can't bear to face her reflection. She has hidden from herself and everyone around her for such a long time, and now that her brother Daniel has committed suicide, she can't help thinking that it's somehow her fault. If she hadn't been so caught up in her own pain, maybe she would have noticed her brother's. It's time to stop hiding—to reach out to Daniel's friends at their private school. Daniel had been deeply involved in Unity Service, the charitable group on campus, and Frances is determined to join the group and to make amends.

But something's not quite right about Unity, and soon Frances finds herself in the middle of a puzzle too ominous to ignore. Exactly what are the Unity members trying so hard to hide? And why does no one else on campus, adult or teen, seem suspicious of them? This time Frances won't scurry away to hide. The memory of her brother is at stake.

About the Author

L. K. Madigan lives in Portland, Oregon with her husband, son, two big black dogs, hundreds of books, and a couple of vintage cars.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

bopherina, September 17, 2009 (view all comments by bopherina)
Three impossible tasks.
Nine months.
A genius story with true love, fantastic characters, suspenseful plot, and a family curse that will send shivers down your spine.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 3 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780142414910
Author:
Werlin, Nancy
Publisher:
Speak
Author:
Various
Author:
Cusick, Richie Tankersley
Author:
Nielsen, Cliff
Author:
Madigan, L. K.
Subject:
Fantasy & Magic
Subject:
Love & Romance
Subject:
Social Issues - Pregnancy
Subject:
Girls & Women
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Subject:
Horror & Ghost Stories
Subject:
Law & Crime
Subject:
Family - Parents
Subject:
Mysteries & Detective Stories
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20090831
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 6
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
7 x 5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
12-17

Other books you might like

  1. Radiant Darkness Used Hardcover $8.50
  2. The Adoration of Jenna Fox
    New Trade Paper $9.99
  3. Blue Lipstick: Concrete Poems New Trade Paper $6.99
  4. Chalice
    Sale Trade Paper $4.98
  5. Sunrise Over Fallujah Used Book Club Hardcover $2.95
  6. The Sweet Far Thing Used Hardcover $4.50

Related Subjects

» Children's » General
» Children's » Sale Books
» Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
» Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Pregnancy
» Young Adult » General

Impossible Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Speak - English 9780142414910 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Inspired by the ballad Scarborough Fair, popularized by Simon & Garfunkel, this riveting novel combines suspense, fantasy, and romance. It tells the story of a teenage girl who has nine months to break an ancient curse in order to save both herself and her unborn daughter.
"Synopsis" by ,

A message. A key. A mirror. A secret world unlocked. Lena has lived her whole life near the beach, walking the shore, breathing the salty air,swimming in the cold water, and watching the surfers rule the waves. As her sixteenth birthday approaches, Lena vows to learn to surf. Her father forbids it. But something Lena cant identify at first—an ancient, powerful magic—keeps drawing her to the water. One day, she finally catches sight of it: a beautiful woman, with a silvery tail. Now nothing can stop Lena from seeking the mermaid, not even the dangerouswaves at Magic Crescent Cove.

And what Lena sees in the mermaids mirror will change her life forever.

"Synopsis" by ,

A compelling thriller from a National Book Award Finalist author

Frances Leventhal refuses to look in the mirror; she can't bear to face her reflection. She has hidden from herself and everyone around her for such a long time, and now that her brother Daniel has committed suicide, she can't help thinking that it's somehow her fault. If she hadn't been so caught up in her own pain, maybe she would have noticed her brother's. It's time to stop hiding—to reach out to Daniel's friends at their private school. Daniel had been deeply involved in Unity Service, the charitable group on campus, and Frances is determined to join the group and to make amends.

But something's not quite right about Unity, and soon Frances finds herself in the middle of a puzzle too ominous to ignore. Exactly what are the Unity members trying so hard to hide? And why does no one else on campus, adult or teen, seem suspicious of them? This time Frances won't scurry away to hide. The memory of her brother is at stake.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.