25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 6, 2014

Graham Joyce: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Graham Joyce



The Ghost in the Electric Blue Suit is set on the English coast in the hot summer of 1976, so the music in this playlist is pretty much all from the... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.95
List price: $15.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Mystery- A to Z
1 Local Warehouse Mystery- A to Z

This title in other editions

The Dead Lie Down

by

The Dead Lie Down Cover

 

Awards

Staff Pick

Ruth Bussey's story is so bizarre, the police don't know what to make of it: her boyfriend insists he's killed a woman she knows to still be alive. Is she mad? Is her boyfriend mad? Is the woman he claims to have killed mad? Or is one or more of them conspiring some elaborate, disturbing hoax? The Dead Lie Down is a gripping novel from acclaimed British poet and novelist Sophie Hannah. Like the extraordinary psychological novels of Ruth Rendell, Hannah puts the reader inside the world of fragile, damaged people compelled to act on a perception of reality skewed by their own unspeakable pasts.
Recommended by Lori M., Powell's Books at Cedar Hills Crossing

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A heart-stopping novel of psychological suspense from the internationally bestselling author of The Wrong Mother and The Other Woman’s House

Ruth Bussey once did something wrong – horribly wrong – and was nearly destroyed by her punishment. Now, she has tentatively rebuilt her life and unexpectedly found love with a man named Aidan Seed. But Aidan also has a secret, and one day he confides in Ruth: years ago, he killed a woman named Mary Trelease. Ruth's initial horror turns to confusion when she realizes that she knows Mary Trelease, and Mary is very much alive. So why does Aidan insist that she’s dead?

 
The fourth book in Sophie Hannah’s beloved Zailer and Waterhouse series, The Dead Lie Down is a sophisticated, addictive page-turner that will appeal to fans of Laura Lippman and Tana French.

Review:

"Det. Sgt. Charlotte 'Charlie' Zailer and Det. Constable Simon Waterhouse face one of their strangest cases yet in this superb thriller from Hannah (The Wrong Mother). Ruth Bussey, who suffered a violent attack years earlier, arrives at the police station in the English town of Spilling and explains that her boyfriend, painter Aidan Seed, confessed to murdering a woman named Mary Trelease. Charlie and Simon — who recently got engaged, despite their bizarre relationship — are reluctant to take Ruth seriously, especially after they learn that Mary, a reclusive painter, is alive and well. Ruth's insistence, bordering on the obsessive, prompts the detectives to start digging into Mary's history. The pair soon discover disturbing links to Aidan and the art world. When an actual murder is committed, Charlie and Simon must sort out what's real and what's imagined. A master of intricate plotting, Hannah seamlessly melds the police procedural with a gothic-inspired whodunit. 5-city author tour. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

Read Sophie Hannah's posts on the Penguin Blog.

A breathtaking novel of psychological suspense from the author of Little Face and The Wrong Mother

Featuring the return of Sergeant Charlotte "Charlie" Zailer and DC Simon Waterhouse, The Dead Lie Down is another sophisticated, addictive read from the new mistress of the page-turner.

Ruth Bussey once did something wrong-horribly wrong-and was nearly destroyed by her punishment. Now, she has tentatively rebuilt her life and unexpectedly found love with a man named Aidan Seed. But Aidan also has a secret-he killed someone years ago, a woman named Mary Trelease. Ruth's horror turns to confusion when she realizes that she knows Mary Trelease, and Mary is very much alive.

About the Author

Sophie Hannah, an internationally bestselling novelist, is also an award-winning poet. Her story The Octopus Nest won first prize in the Daphne du Maurier Festival short story competition. She lives in Yorkshire, England, with her husband and two children.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143117490
Author:
Hannah, Sophie
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Romance - Suspense
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Psychological
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
London (england)
Subject:
Suspense
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
A Zailer & Waterhouse Mystery
Publication Date:
20100631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
480
Dimensions:
7.90x5.20x1.10 in. .85 lbs.
Age Level:
17-17

Other books you might like

  1. The Long Fall
    Used Hardcover $2.95
  2. On Thin Ice: Breakdowns, Whiteouts,... Used Hardcover $4.50
  3. Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human...
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  4. The Stray Shopping Carts of Eastern... Used Flexible $5.50
  5. The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake
    Used Hardcover $5.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » Featured Titles
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » Suspense

The Dead Lie Down Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.95 In Stock
Product details 480 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143117490 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

Ruth Bussey's story is so bizarre, the police don't know what to make of it: her boyfriend insists he's killed a woman she knows to still be alive. Is she mad? Is her boyfriend mad? Is the woman he claims to have killed mad? Or is one or more of them conspiring some elaborate, disturbing hoax? The Dead Lie Down is a gripping novel from acclaimed British poet and novelist Sophie Hannah. Like the extraordinary psychological novels of Ruth Rendell, Hannah puts the reader inside the world of fragile, damaged people compelled to act on a perception of reality skewed by their own unspeakable pasts.

"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Det. Sgt. Charlotte 'Charlie' Zailer and Det. Constable Simon Waterhouse face one of their strangest cases yet in this superb thriller from Hannah (The Wrong Mother). Ruth Bussey, who suffered a violent attack years earlier, arrives at the police station in the English town of Spilling and explains that her boyfriend, painter Aidan Seed, confessed to murdering a woman named Mary Trelease. Charlie and Simon — who recently got engaged, despite their bizarre relationship — are reluctant to take Ruth seriously, especially after they learn that Mary, a reclusive painter, is alive and well. Ruth's insistence, bordering on the obsessive, prompts the detectives to start digging into Mary's history. The pair soon discover disturbing links to Aidan and the art world. When an actual murder is committed, Charlie and Simon must sort out what's real and what's imagined. A master of intricate plotting, Hannah seamlessly melds the police procedural with a gothic-inspired whodunit. 5-city author tour. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by ,
Read Sophie Hannah's posts on the Penguin Blog.

A breathtaking novel of psychological suspense from the author of Little Face and The Wrong Mother

Featuring the return of Sergeant Charlotte "Charlie" Zailer and DC Simon Waterhouse, The Dead Lie Down is another sophisticated, addictive read from the new mistress of the page-turner.

Ruth Bussey once did something wrong-horribly wrong-and was nearly destroyed by her punishment. Now, she has tentatively rebuilt her life and unexpectedly found love with a man named Aidan Seed. But Aidan also has a secret-he killed someone years ago, a woman named Mary Trelease. Ruth's horror turns to confusion when she realizes that she knows Mary Trelease, and Mary is very much alive.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.