This is the International Mystery Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | March 13, 2015

    Hanya Yanagihara: IMG Nine Tips for Finishing That Novel



    My second novel, A Little Life — about a group of men in New York and their friendship over the course of 30 years — will be published... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.50
List price: $15.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Hawthorne Mystery- A to Z

The Dispatcher

by

The Dispatcher Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A gripping thriller from the acclaimed author of Good Neighbors, perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Robert Crais

Los Angeles, 1952. After 13-year-old Sandy Duncan shoots his stepfather and carves a symbol from a comic book into the corpse’s forehead, district attorney Seymour Markley launches a grand jury investigation into the murder, one that could implicate east-coast crime boss James Manning. Also in the frame is the comic book’s creator, Eugene Dahl. When threatening notes appear nailed to his front door, he is lured to a downtown hotel where one of the men who could bring down James Manning is being held. There, Eugene finds the witness murdered, as well as the police officer charged with protecting him, and all fingers point to Eugene. Forced to go on the run, Eugene devises a plan that involves deeds far worse than any of which he’s been accused.

Review:

"At the start of Jahn's relentlessly grim vigilante novel, Ian Hunt, a police dispatcher in Bulls Mouth, Tex., receives a phone call from his presumed dead daughter, Maggie, who was kidnapped seven years earlier at age seven by Henry Dean, a twisted and sadistic neighbor who left no clues. The girl has just a little time to speak before she's cut off. Hunt goes on a determined and merciless quest to find Maggie, starting in Bulls Mouth, a truly benighted hamlet replete with faltering businesses and emotionally damaged citizens. The body count is high, but the suspense is minimal, since Jahn (Good Neighbors) keeps the reader privy to Dean's actions and plans. The inept, negligent police are usually drunk, and Hunt's stubborn and inexplicable insistence on not asking for aid in his single-minded pursuit of his daughter and her captor defies logic. Those with an appetite for unrelieved violence and gore will be most satisfied." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

From the author of the award-winning debut crime novel Good Neighbors-a white-knuckle thriller about the lengths a man will go to for his daughter.

The phone rings. It's your daughter. She's been dead for four months.

So begins East Texas police dispatcher Ian Hunt's fight to get his daughter back. The call is cut off by the man who snatched her from her bedroom seven years ago, and a basic description of the kidnapper is all Ian has to go on. What follows is a bullet-strewn cross-country chase from Texas to California along Interstate 10- a wild ride in a 1965 Mustang that passes through the outlaw territory of No Country for Old Men and is shot through with moments of macabre violence that call to mind the novels of Thomas Harris.

About the Author

Ryan David Jahn won the Crime Writers Association debut novel prize for Good Neighbors. Born in 1979, he grew up in Arizona, Texas, and California and now lives in Louisville, Kentucky.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143120704
Author:
Jahn, Ryan David
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Subject:
Thrillers
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Contemporary Thrillers
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20111231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
560
Dimensions:
8 x 5 in
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. The Annotated Christmas Carol: A... Used Hardcover $15.00

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers

The Dispatcher Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.50 In Stock
Product details 560 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143120704 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "At the start of Jahn's relentlessly grim vigilante novel, Ian Hunt, a police dispatcher in Bulls Mouth, Tex., receives a phone call from his presumed dead daughter, Maggie, who was kidnapped seven years earlier at age seven by Henry Dean, a twisted and sadistic neighbor who left no clues. The girl has just a little time to speak before she's cut off. Hunt goes on a determined and merciless quest to find Maggie, starting in Bulls Mouth, a truly benighted hamlet replete with faltering businesses and emotionally damaged citizens. The body count is high, but the suspense is minimal, since Jahn (Good Neighbors) keeps the reader privy to Dean's actions and plans. The inept, negligent police are usually drunk, and Hunt's stubborn and inexplicable insistence on not asking for aid in his single-minded pursuit of his daughter and her captor defies logic. Those with an appetite for unrelieved violence and gore will be most satisfied." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,

From the author of the award-winning debut crime novel Good Neighbors-a white-knuckle thriller about the lengths a man will go to for his daughter.

The phone rings. It's your daughter. She's been dead for four months.

So begins East Texas police dispatcher Ian Hunt's fight to get his daughter back. The call is cut off by the man who snatched her from her bedroom seven years ago, and a basic description of the kidnapper is all Ian has to go on. What follows is a bullet-strewn cross-country chase from Texas to California along Interstate 10- a wild ride in a 1965 Mustang that passes through the outlaw territory of No Country for Old Men and is shot through with moments of macabre violence that call to mind the novels of Thomas Harris.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.