Knockout Narratives Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | February 2, 2015

    Irvine Welsh: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Irvine Welsh



    When I started writing The Sex Lives of Siamese Twins, I went through my usual routine of making a music playlist to immerse myself in and help me... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
List price: $15.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Hawthorne Literature- A to Z

The Memory of Love

by

The Memory of Love Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From the beloved author of Astrid & Veronika, a moving tale of friendship and redemption

Fans of Astrid & Veronika and Chris Cleave's Little Bee will be thrilled to read Linda Olsson's third novel. Here is Olsson doing what she does best: illuminating the terrain of friendship and examining the many forms that love can take.

Marion Flint, in her early fifties, has spent fifteen years living a quiet life on the rugged coast of New Zealand, a life that allows the door to her past to remain firmly shut. But a chance meeting with a young boy, Ika, and her desire to help him force Marion to open the Pandora’s box of her memory. Seized by a sudden urgency to make sense of her past, she examines each image one-by-one: her grandfather, her mother, her brother, her lover. Perhaps if she can create order from the chaos, her memories will be easier to carry. Perhaps she’ll be able to find forgiveness for the little girl that was her. For the young woman she had been. For the people she left behind.

Olsson expertly interweaves scenes from Marion’s past with her quest to save Ika from his own tragic childhood, and renders with reflective tenderness the fragility of memory and the healing power of the heart.

Review:

"One of the most stirring and sensitive books I have read for a long time....An outstanding read." The Star (New Zealand)

Review:

"Haunting and beautiful, [The Memory of Love] is a reminder of the fragility of happiness and the impossibility of living without hope." Otago Times (New Zealand)

Review:

"Linda Olsson writes beautifully, capturing the fragile nature of her characters and the beauty of the rugged landscape around her with great precision and subtlety. A hugely evocative book. The story gets under your skin and will live on long after the final page has been turned." Gisborne Herald (New Zealand)

Review:

"The emotional weather of the story is changeable and dramatic, with storm clouds sometimes threatening, unpredictable tides and winds of inner conflict, and chance meetings....It is the storytelling, of course, that is most seductive, with the right balance between the disclosure and holding back of information to keep us reading to the end — appreciating at every twist a writer delighting in her craft." Sunday Star Times (New Zealand)

Review:

"[A] tender, loving story...concerned with searching and healing....You sense an author of real integrity." Weekend Herald (New Zealand)

Review:

"Olsson's lyrical style is perfectly suited to the reflective tenderness that characterises Marion's narrative voice....The tragedies of the novel, combined with the powerful resonance of the windswept and lonely coast, makes [The Memory of Love] a heavily atmospheric novel of great emotional weight." Listener (New Zealand)

Review:

“Olsson successfully intertwines New Zealand and Sweden to create a beautiful and compelling story.” Mahrangimatters (New Zealand)

Review:

“Olsson's eloquent prose offers an intimate, poignant portrait of a woman at midlife who finds her way back…to a life filled with love.” Publishers Weekly

Review:

"Beautiful and deeply affecting. A dreamlike evocation of the power of friendship." Mary McGarry Morris, author of The Lost Mother and Songs in Ordinary Time

Synopsis:

With extraordinary emotional power, Linda Olsson’s stunningly well-crafted debut novel recounts the unusual and unexpected friendship that develops between two women. Veronika, a young writer from New Zealand, rents a house in a small Swedish village as she tries to come to terms with a recent tragedy while also finishing a novel. Her arrival is silently observed by Astrid, an older, reclusive neighbor who slowly becomes a presence in Veronika’s life, offering comfort in the form of companionship and lovingly prepared home-cooked meals. Set against a haunting Swedish landscape, Astrid and Veronika is a lyrical and meditative novel of love and loss, and a story that will remain with readers long after the characters’ secrets are revealed.

About the Author

Linda Olsson was born in Stockholm, Sweden. In 2003, she won the Sunday Star-Times Short Story Competition. Linda has lived in Kenya, Singapore, Britain, and Japan before settling in Auckland, New Zealand, where she lives today. Her previous novel, Astrid and Veronika, was published in 2007.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143122432
Author:
Olsson, Linda
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20130231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
240
Dimensions:
7.8 x 5.2 x 0.56 in 0.47 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. The Quiet Place Used Hardcover $10.50
  2. The People on Privilege Hill and... Used Trade Paper $10.95
  3. A Partial History of Lost Causes
    Used Trade Paper $10.50
  4. Bird Cloud: A Memoir of Place Used Trade Paper $7.95
  5. My Brilliant Friend
    New Trade Paper $17.00
  6. The Portable Atheist: Essential...
    Used Trade Paper $9.95

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Literature
Featured Titles » Staff Favorites
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Contemporary Women
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Featured Titles
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Sale Books

The Memory of Love Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 240 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143122432 Reviews:
"Review" by , "One of the most stirring and sensitive books I have read for a long time....An outstanding read."
"Review" by , "Haunting and beautiful, [The Memory of Love] is a reminder of the fragility of happiness and the impossibility of living without hope."
"Review" by , "Linda Olsson writes beautifully, capturing the fragile nature of her characters and the beauty of the rugged landscape around her with great precision and subtlety. A hugely evocative book. The story gets under your skin and will live on long after the final page has been turned."
"Review" by , "The emotional weather of the story is changeable and dramatic, with storm clouds sometimes threatening, unpredictable tides and winds of inner conflict, and chance meetings....It is the storytelling, of course, that is most seductive, with the right balance between the disclosure and holding back of information to keep us reading to the end — appreciating at every twist a writer delighting in her craft."
"Review" by , "[A] tender, loving story...concerned with searching and healing....You sense an author of real integrity."
"Review" by , "Olsson's lyrical style is perfectly suited to the reflective tenderness that characterises Marion's narrative voice....The tragedies of the novel, combined with the powerful resonance of the windswept and lonely coast, makes [The Memory of Love] a heavily atmospheric novel of great emotional weight."
"Review" by , “Olsson successfully intertwines New Zealand and Sweden to create a beautiful and compelling story.”
"Review" by , “Olsson's eloquent prose offers an intimate, poignant portrait of a woman at midlife who finds her way back…to a life filled with love.”
"Review" by , "Beautiful and deeply affecting. A dreamlike evocation of the power of friendship."
"Synopsis" by , With extraordinary emotional power, Linda Olsson’s stunningly well-crafted debut novel recounts the unusual and unexpected friendship that develops between two women. Veronika, a young writer from New Zealand, rents a house in a small Swedish village as she tries to come to terms with a recent tragedy while also finishing a novel. Her arrival is silently observed by Astrid, an older, reclusive neighbor who slowly becomes a presence in Veronika’s life, offering comfort in the form of companionship and lovingly prepared home-cooked meals. Set against a haunting Swedish landscape, Astrid and Veronika is a lyrical and meditative novel of love and loss, and a story that will remain with readers long after the characters’ secrets are revealed.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.