We Need Diverse Ya Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | June 22, 2015

    Stephen Jarvis: IMG Robert Seymour — 13 Pictures



    1. Self-Portrait. My new novel, Death and Mr. Pickwick, tells the story of the origins of Charles Dickens's first novel, The Pickwick Papers. Its... Continue »
    1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Death and Mr. Pickwick

      Stephen Jarvis 9780374139667

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
List price: $15.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Science Fiction and Fantasy- A to Z

This title in other editions

The Outsorcerer's Apprentice

by

The Outsorcerer's Apprentice Cover

 

Staff Pick

Chock-full of Holt's trademark hilarity and hijinks, The Outsorcerer's Apprentice has overlords, underlings, and an unsuspecting young hero who might just change everything, including reality itself.
Recommended by Mary Jo, Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A happy workforce, it is said, is a productive workforce. Mmmm.

Try telling that to an army of belligerent goblins. Or the Big Bad Wolf. Or a professional dragon slayer. Who is looking after their well-being? Who gives a damn about their intolerable working conditions, lack of adequate health insurance, and terrible coffee in the canteen?

Thankfully, with access to an astonishingly diverse workforce and limitless natural resources, maximizing revenue and improving operating profit has never really been an issue for the one they call "the Wizard." Until now.

Because now a perfectly good business model — based on sound fiscal planning, entrepreneurial flair, and only one or two of the infinite parallel worlds that make up our universe — is about to be disrupted by a young man not entirely aware of what's going on.

There's also a slight risk that the fabric of reality will be torn to shreds. You really do have to be awfully careful with these things.

Review:

"Entertaining....Holt has a zany humor that will appeal to fans of Terry Pratchett and Christopher Moore." Library Journal

About the Author

Tom Holt was born in London in 1961. At Oxford he studied bar billiards, ancient Greek agriculture and the care and feeding of small, temperamental Japanese motorcycle engines; interests which led him, perhaps inevitably, to qualify as a solicitor and emigrate to Somerset, where he specialized in death and taxes for seven years before going straight in 1995. Now a full-time writer, he lives in Chard, Somerset, with his wife, one daughter and the unmistakable scent of blood, wafting in on the breeze from the local meat-packing plant.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780316368797
Author:
Holt, Tom
Publisher:
Orbit
Subject:
Humor : General
Publication Date:
20140731
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English

Other books you might like

  1. Tales from the Odyssey, Part Two Used Trade Paper $4.50
  2. Night of the Ninjas (Magic Tree... Used Trade Paper $2.50
  3. Our Stars New Trade Paper $6.99
  4. The People in the Trees
    Used Hardcover $8.95
  5. A People's History of the United...
    Used Trade Paper $11.00
  6. The Midnight Library New Mass Market $11.00

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Humor » General
Featured Titles » Staff Favorites
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Fantasy » Contemporary
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Fantasy » Urban Life

The Outsorcerer's Apprentice Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details pages Orbit - English 9780316368797 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

Chock-full of Holt's trademark hilarity and hijinks, The Outsorcerer's Apprentice has overlords, underlings, and an unsuspecting young hero who might just change everything, including reality itself.

"Review" by , "Entertaining....Holt has a zany humor that will appeal to fans of Terry Pratchett and Christopher Moore."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.