Warriors B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | May 12, 2015

    Aleksandar Hemon: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Aleksandar Hemon



    Describe your latest book. The Making of Zombie Wars is a roller-coaster ride of violence and sex. The main character, Joshua Levin, is a modestly... Continue »
    1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      The Making of Zombie Wars

      Aleksandar Hemon 9780374203412

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$14.50
List price: $15.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
4 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

Sam the Cat: And Other Stories (Vintage Contemporaries)

by

Sam the Cat: And Other Stories (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In this beautifully imaginative collection, young people attempt to negotiate the often surreal terrain of childhood and adolescence where family, friends, clergy, and teachers often pose a threat instead of providing safe harbor. At the heart of the collection is the relationship between the meek narrator, his best friend alpha-male Clip, and the near-feral Rogerand#8212;but there are also agoraphobic mothers, gorgeous babysitters from New Zealand, paranoid stoned veterans, and deeply sad older sisters.

Ennis has crafted modern-day captivity narratives, set not at some remote fort, but in the neighborhoods of Philadelphia. Using cinematic imagery and deft characterization, Ennis explores how we often feel confined and yet find ourselves in places we least expect.

Review:

"A riveting, honest and unvarnished voice that sounds like no one else?s." Los Angeles Times

Review:

"Repeatedly nails the fragile braggadocio of the modern American male....Each story takes on a memorable life of its own, thanks to Klam?s...ability to find the perfect word or phrase." San Francisco Chronicle

Review:

"A knockout. [Klam] seems to have tapped right into the heads of certain men, none of whom you want courting your daughter." Portland Oregonian

Review:

"[W]hat opens up before the reader of Matthew Klam...are the enduring comedy and essential sweetness of his work....He does not traffic much in sustained fury or hate — a difficult accomplishment for comic writers — and is, oddly, frequently interested in justice." Lorrie Moore, The New York Times Book Review

Synopsis:

"The New Yorker" named Klam one of the 20 best young writers in America, and the seven stories that comprise "Sam the Cat" are all the proof readers will need. These stories crackle with humor, intelligence, and style and add up to an outrageously funny debut.

Synopsis:

For fans of Kevin Brockmeier or Justin Taylor, a poignant and inventive collection of coming-of-age stories by Tin House and Best New American Voices contributor Sean Ennis.

Synopsis:

The New Yorker magazine named Matt Klam one of the twenty best young writers in America, and the seven stories that comprise Sam the Cat are all the proof we need.

Knowing, perceptive, and wickedly funny, Matt Klam loves his characters but spares them nothing: the swaggering womanizer Sam falls in love with a woman across a crowded room who, upon closer inspection, turns out to be not quite what he expected; a self-doubting young professional attends the posh wedding of his successful friend and delivers a disastrous toast; the chicken one man?s girlfriend is preparing for dinner comes to embody the darkly corrosive element in their relationship. These stories crackle with humor, intelligence and style and add up to an outrageously funny, unforgettable debut.

About the Author

Matthew Klam lives in Washington, D.C., with his wife. In 1999 he was named one of the twenty best young fiction writers in America by The New Yorker. He is an O. Henry Award winner. His nonfiction has been featured in such places as Harper's and The New York Times Magazine.

From the Hardcover edition.

Table of Contents

1.and#160;Going After Lovelyand#8195;1

2.and#160;This Is Suicideand#8195;19

3.and#160;Saint Kevin of Fox Chaseand#8195;35

4.and#160;Darkflipsand#8195;4

5.and#160;This Is Pennypackand#8195;76

6.and#160;Chase Usand#8195;94

7.and#160;The Kidnapped and the Volunteersand#8195;107

8.and#160;This Is Amblerand#8195;123

9.and#160;This Is Recessionand#8195;152

10.and#160;Dependentsand#8195;169

11.and#160;This Is Tomorrowand#8195;180

and#160;and#160;and#160;and#160;and#160; Acknowledgmentsand#8195;201

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375726613
Author:
Klam, Matthew
Publisher:
Vintage
Author:
Ennis, Sean
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Short Stories (single author)
Subject:
Short stories
Subject:
Stories (single author)
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Literary
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Vintage Contemporaries (Paperback)
Publication Date:
20010531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
1 b/w author photo
Pages:
208
Dimensions:
8 x 5.31 in 0.36 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Everything's Eventual: 14 Dark Tales
    Used Hardcover $3.50
  2. Do the Windows Open Used Trade Paper $4.95
  3. In the Electric Eden: Stories Used Trade Paper $3.95
  4. Fight Club
    Used Trade Paper $6.50
  5. Mr Poppers Penguins Used Trade Paper $3.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Sam the Cat: And Other Stories (Vintage Contemporaries) New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$14.50 In Stock
Product details 208 pages Vintage Books USA - English 9780375726613 Reviews:
"Review" by , "A riveting, honest and unvarnished voice that sounds like no one else?s."
"Review" by , "Repeatedly nails the fragile braggadocio of the modern American male....Each story takes on a memorable life of its own, thanks to Klam?s...ability to find the perfect word or phrase."
"Review" by , "A knockout. [Klam] seems to have tapped right into the heads of certain men, none of whom you want courting your daughter."
"Review" by , "[W]hat opens up before the reader of Matthew Klam...are the enduring comedy and essential sweetness of his work....He does not traffic much in sustained fury or hate — a difficult accomplishment for comic writers — and is, oddly, frequently interested in justice."
"Synopsis" by , "The New Yorker" named Klam one of the 20 best young writers in America, and the seven stories that comprise "Sam the Cat" are all the proof readers will need. These stories crackle with humor, intelligence, and style and add up to an outrageously funny debut.
"Synopsis" by , For fans of Kevin Brockmeier or Justin Taylor, a poignant and inventive collection of coming-of-age stories by Tin House and Best New American Voices contributor Sean Ennis.
"Synopsis" by , The New Yorker magazine named Matt Klam one of the twenty best young writers in America, and the seven stories that comprise Sam the Cat are all the proof we need.

Knowing, perceptive, and wickedly funny, Matt Klam loves his characters but spares them nothing: the swaggering womanizer Sam falls in love with a woman across a crowded room who, upon closer inspection, turns out to be not quite what he expected; a self-doubting young professional attends the posh wedding of his successful friend and delivers a disastrous toast; the chicken one man?s girlfriend is preparing for dinner comes to embody the darkly corrosive element in their relationship. These stories crackle with humor, intelligence and style and add up to an outrageously funny, unforgettable debut.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.