Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | October 21, 2014

    Katha Pollitt: IMG My Bookstore Fantasy — No Customers Necessary



    "Let's open a bookstore," I say to my husband every now and then. "A used bookstore. With a few new books we really like." I'm picturing an... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
List price: $8.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's Young Adult- General
1 Hawthorne Children's Young Adult- General

Saving Francesca

by

Saving Francesca Cover

ISBN13: 9780375829833
ISBN10: 0375829830
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $4.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Before there was Eleanor and Park, there was Francesca and Will.

A compelling story of romance, family, and friendship, with humor and heart, perfect for fans of If I Stay, The Spectacular Now, and Looking for Alaska.

Francesca is stuck at St. Sebastian’s, a boys' school that pretends it's coed by giving the girls their own bathroom.  Her only female companions are an ultra-feminist, a rumored slut, and an impossibly dorky accordion player.  The boys are no better, from Thomas, who specializes in musical burping, to Will, the perpetually frowning, smug moron that Francesca can't seem to stop thinking about.

 

Then there's Francesca's mother, who always thinks she knows what's best for Francesca—until she is suddenly stricken with acute depression, leaving Francesca lost, alone, and without an inkling of who she really is.  Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, her social life, and—hardest of all—herself.

Melina Marchetta is the Printz-winning author of Jellicoe Road, as well as Looking for Alibrandi and Finnikin of the Rock.

From the Hardcover edition.

Synopsis:

A compelling story of romance, family, and friendship with humor and heart, perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Lauren Myracle.

Francesca is stuck at St. Sebastian’s, a boys' school that's pretends it's coed by giving the girls their own bathroom.  Her only female companions are an ultra-feminist, a rumored slut, and an impossibly dorky accordion player.  The boys are no better, from Thomas, who specializes in musical burping, to Will, the perpetually frowning, smug moron that Francesca can't seem to stop thinking about.

 

Then there's Francesca's mother, who always thinks she knows what's best for Francesca—until she is suddenly stricken with acute depression, leaving Francesca lost, alone, and without an inkling of who she really is.  Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, hersocial life and—hardest of all—herself.

From the Hardcover edition.

Synopsis:

Teenage Francesca is constantly battling her mother over what it best for her. But when her mother becomes severely depressed, her family begins to fall apart, and Francesca realizes that without her mother's high spirits, she hardly knows who she is.

About the Author

Melina Marchetta lives in Sydney, Australia, and is also the author of Looking for Alibrandi and Jellicoe Road, winner of the Printz award.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Jenn, September 2, 2006 (view all comments by Jenn)
This is an excellent book set in Sydney Australia. Francesca is one of only 30 girls attending a (formerly) all boys school. Her mother is struggling with depression, and Francesca is having a hard time fitting in and enjoying her last year in high school.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(13 of 28 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375829833
Author:
Marchetta, Melina
Publisher:
Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Subject:
Girls & Women
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Fiction - General
Subject:
Family life
Subject:
Schools
Subject:
Social Issues - Depression & Mental Illness
Subject:
Family
Subject:
Australia
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Depression and Mental Illness
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Subject:
depression;young adult;fiction;ya;family;australia;friendship;romance;contemporary;realistic fiction;mental illness;private school;teen;relationships;high school;young adult fiction;mothers;identity;catholic school;realistic;friends;love
Subject:
depression;young adult;fiction;ya;family;australia;friendship;romance;contemporary;realistic fiction;mental illness;private school;teen;relationships;high school;young adult fiction;mothers;identity;catholic school;realistic;friends;love
Subject:
depression;young adult;fiction;ya;family;australia;friendship;romance;contemporary;realistic fiction;mental illness;private school;teen;relationships;high school;young adult fiction;mothers;identity;catholic school;realistic;friends;love
Subject:
depression;young adult;fiction;ya;family;australia;friendship;romance;contemporary;realistic fiction;mental illness;private school;teen;relationships;high school;young adult fiction;mothers;identity;catholic school;realistic;friends;love
Subject:
depression;young adult;fiction;ya;family;australia;friendship;romance;contemporary;realistic fiction;mental illness;private school;teen;relationships;high school;young adult fiction;mothers;identity;catholic school;realistic;friends;love
Subject:
depression;young adult;fiction;ya;family;friendship;australia;contemporary;realistic fiction;romance;mental illness;teen;relationships;private school;high school;young adult fiction;mothers;identity;catholic school;love;friends;realistic;australian author
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20060531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
8.34x4.86x.56 in. .42 lbs.
Age Level:
12-17

Other books you might like

  1. Al Capone Does My Shirts
    Used Book Club Paperback $2.95
  2. Chief Sunrise, John Mcgraw, and Me
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  3. Snakecharm: The Kiesha'ra: Volume Two Used Hardcover $3.95
  4. So B. It
    Used Book Club Hardcover $0.50
  5. Behind You Sale Mass Market $2.98
  6. Bucking the Sarge (Readers Circle) Used Trade Paper $5.00

Related Subjects


Children's » General
Children's » Sale Books
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Depression and Mental Illness
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Peer Pressure
Young Adult » General

Saving Francesca Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - English 9780375829833 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , A compelling story of romance, family, and friendship with humor and heart, perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Lauren Myracle.

Francesca is stuck at St. Sebastian’s, a boys' school that's pretends it's coed by giving the girls their own bathroom.  Her only female companions are an ultra-feminist, a rumored slut, and an impossibly dorky accordion player.  The boys are no better, from Thomas, who specializes in musical burping, to Will, the perpetually frowning, smug moron that Francesca can't seem to stop thinking about.

 

Then there's Francesca's mother, who always thinks she knows what's best for Francesca—until she is suddenly stricken with acute depression, leaving Francesca lost, alone, and without an inkling of who she really is.  Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, hersocial life and—hardest of all—herself.

From the Hardcover edition.

"Synopsis" by , Teenage Francesca is constantly battling her mother over what it best for her. But when her mother becomes severely depressed, her family begins to fall apart, and Francesca realizes that without her mother's high spirits, she hardly knows who she is.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.