Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
List price: $16.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Hawthorne Environmental Studies- Sustainable Living
1 Local Warehouse Health and Medicine- Politics of Health Care

This title in other editions

The Hundred-Year Lie: How to Protect Yourself from the Chemicals That Are Destroying Your Health

by

The Hundred-Year Lie: How to Protect Yourself from the Chemicals That Are Destroying Your Health Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:


Combining the impact of the classic bestseller Silent Spring with Fast Food Nation, The Hundred-Year Lie presents a devastating exposi of how chemicals in everyday products are ruining our health.

Over the past one hundred years, we have been guinea pigs in a vast chemistry experiment that uses our bodies, our health, and our good will to test the proposition that modern science can improve upon nature. In The Hundred-Year Lie, investigative journalist RandallFitzgerald shatters dozens of myths being perpetuated by the chemical, pharmaceutical and processed food industries.

  • Find out why you would never be FDA-approved, and why humans are becoming one of the most polluted species on the planet
  • The average American now carries a body burden of 700 or more synthetic chemicals, including Teflon, plastics, and dozens of pesticides
  • Musk fragrances used in detergents and air fresheners are not filtered out by our current water treatment facilities, ending up in our drinking water
  • The artificial sweetener aspartame, an ingredient in 1,200 food products from diet drinks to chewing gum, has been linked to eighty-eight toxic symptoms
Fitzgerald not only sheds light on the problems we face from the unprecedented chemical onslaught, he presents suggestions for what we can to do to turn the tide.

Synopsis:

In a devastating exposé in the tradition of Silent Spring and Fast Food Nation, investigative journalist Randall Fitzgerald warns how thousands of man-made chemicals in our food, water, medicine, and environment are making humans the most polluted species on the planet. A century ago in 1906, when Congress enacted the Pure Food and Drug Act, Americans were promised ?better living through chemistry.? Fitzgerald provides overwhelming evidence to shatter this myth, and many others perpetrated by the chemical, pharmaceutical, and processed foods industries. In the face of this national health crisis, Fitzgerald also presents informed and practical suggestions for what we can do to turn the tide and live healthier lives.

Consider this:

? The average American carries a ?body burden? of 700 synthetic chemicals

? Chemicals in tap water can cause reproductive abnormalities and hermaphroditic birth

? A 2005 study of lactating women in eighteen U.S. states found perchlorate (a toxic component of rocket fuel) in practically every mother?s breast milk

Synopsis:

An investigative journalist shatters dozens of myths being perpetuated by the chemical, pharmaceutical, and processed food industries, and reveals why humans are becoming one of the most polluted species on the planet.

About the Author

RANDALL FITZGERALD has written investigative features for The Washington Post and The Wall Street Journal, and for twenty years was a contributing editor for Reade‛s Digest, where he researched, wrote, and edited articles on science and medicine.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780452288393
Author:
Fitzgerald, Randall
Publisher:
Plume Books
Subject:
Nutrition
Subject:
Toxicology
Subject:
Safety
Subject:
Popular Culture - General
Subject:
Alternative medicine
Subject:
Health and Medicine-General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
July 2007
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
8.44x5.54x.65 in. .61 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Excitotoxins the Taste That Kills Used Trade Paper $11.95
  2. Fight for Your Health: Exposing the... New Trade Paper $17.95
  3. A Practical Guide To Vibrational... Used Trade Paper $3.95
  4. The Spirit Catches You and You Fall...
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  5. Overdosed America: The Broken...
    Used Trade Paper $8.00
  6. It's Not All in Your Head: Now Women... Used Trade Paper $3.95

Related Subjects


Cooking and Food » Diet and Nutrition » General
Cooking and Food » Diet and Nutrition » Nutrition
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Environment and Health
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General Medicine
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Medical Specialties
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Nutrition
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Politics of Health Care
Health and Self-Help » Safety » General
Reference » Science Reference » Technology
Science and Mathematics » Chemistry » Biochemistry
Science and Mathematics » Environmental Studies » Sustainable Living
Science and Mathematics » Geology » Petroleum Geology
Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Medicine Nutrition and Psychology

The Hundred-Year Lie: How to Protect Yourself from the Chemicals That Are Destroying Your Health Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Plume Books - English 9780452288393 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
In a devastating exposé in the tradition of Silent Spring and Fast Food Nation, investigative journalist Randall Fitzgerald warns how thousands of man-made chemicals in our food, water, medicine, and environment are making humans the most polluted species on the planet. A century ago in 1906, when Congress enacted the Pure Food and Drug Act, Americans were promised ?better living through chemistry.? Fitzgerald provides overwhelming evidence to shatter this myth, and many others perpetrated by the chemical, pharmaceutical, and processed foods industries. In the face of this national health crisis, Fitzgerald also presents informed and practical suggestions for what we can do to turn the tide and live healthier lives.

Consider this:

? The average American carries a ?body burden? of 700 synthetic chemicals

? Chemicals in tap water can cause reproductive abnormalities and hermaphroditic birth

? A 2005 study of lactating women in eighteen U.S. states found perchlorate (a toxic component of rocket fuel) in practically every mother?s breast milk

"Synopsis" by , An investigative journalist shatters dozens of myths being perpetuated by the chemical, pharmaceutical, and processed food industries, and reveals why humans are becoming one of the most polluted species on the planet.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.