It's Raining Books Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 17, 2014

Merritt Tierce: IMG Has My Husband Read It?



My first novel, Love Me Back, was published on September 16. Writing the book took seven years, and along the way three chapters were published in... Continue »
  1. $16.77 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Love Me Back

    Merritt Tierce 9780385538077

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.50
List price: $16.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Literature- A to Z
1 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

The House at Tyneford

by

The House at Tyneford Cover

ISBN13: 9780452297647
ISBN10: 0452297648
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 3 left in stock at $6.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Snow had fallen in the night, and now the great house, standing at the head of the valley, seemed like a five-hundred-year old ship sailing in a white oceanand#133;

For the Cavendish family, Rutherford Park is much more than a place to call home. It is a way of life marked by rigid rules and lavish rewards, governed by unspoken desiresand#133;

and#160;

Lady of the house Octavia Cavendish lives like a bird in a gilded cage. With her familyand#8217;s fortune, her husband, William, has made significant additions to the estate, but he too feels boundand#151;by the obligations of his title as well as his vows. Their son, Harry, is expected to follow in his footsteps, but the boy has dreams of his own, like pursuing the new adventure of aerial flight. Meanwhile, below stairs, a housemaid named Emily holds a secret that could undo the Cavendish name.

and#160;

On Christmas Eve 1913, Octavia catches a glimpse of her husband in an intimate moment with his beautiful and scandalous distant cousin. She then spies the housemaid Emily out in the snow, walking toward the river, about to make her own secret known to the world. As the clouds of war gather on the horizon, an epic tale of longing and betrayal is about to unfold at Rutherford Parkand#133;

Synopsis:

A stunning new novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The House at Tyneford

London, 1958. Its the eve of the sexual revolution, but in Juliet Montagues conservative Jewish community where only men can divorce women, shefinds herself a living widow, invisible. Ever since her husband disappeared seven years ago, Juliet has been a hardworking single mother of two and unnaturally practical. But on her thirtieth birthday, thats all about to change. A wealthy young artist asks to paint her portrait, and Juliet, moved by the powerful desire to be seen, enters into the burgeoning art world of 1960s London, which will bring her fame, fortune, and a life-long love aff air.

Synopsis:

The start of an affair, the end of an era.

Fans of Kate Morton's The Forgotten Garden, Catherine Bailey's The Secret Rooms, and TV's Downton Abbey will love this New York Times bestselling sweeping historical novel of love and loss. It's the spring of 1938 and no longer safe to be a Jew in Vienna. Nineteen-year-old Elise Landau is forced to leave her glittering life of parties and champagne to become a parlor maid in England. She arrives at Tyneford, the great house on the bay, where servants polish silver and serve drinks on the lawn. But war is coming, and the world is changing. When the master of Tyneford's young son, Kit, returns home, he and Elise strike up an unlikely friendship that will transform Tyneford—and Elise—forever.

About the Author

Natasha Solomons is a screenwriter and the New York Times bestselling author of The House at Tyneford, �Mr. Rosenblum Dreams in English, and The Gallery of Vanished Husbands. She lives in Dorset, England, with her husband and young son.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 4 comments:

Laurre, January 1, 2013 (view all comments by Laurre)
This book tells the story of a Jewish girl from Vienna, who goes to England just before WWII and finds a new life. I enjoyed everything about it,
the description of this wonderful Manor House, the village, the coast, and the people who live there. I found it seemed like a true story and the
emotions if envoked were sad but sweet.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Beth Ann Beckmann, August 14, 2012 (view all comments by Beth Ann Beckmann)
It has been a long time since I went to bed early and stayed up half the night because I couldn't put a book down. The story sweeps you in and you can almost hear the waves crashing on the shore and feel the chill of the maids quarters on a winters night. As the lives of the inhabitants unfold I couldn't turn the pages fast enough or savor the words slow enough. I find myself today thinking about those who lived it
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Reader Eternal, May 20, 2012 (view all comments by Reader Eternal)
This stunning, masterfully written novel will sweep you from the glitter of pre-war Vienna to the genteel charm of coastal England. I was absolutely mesmerized by this book. Solomons writes with a preturnaturally deft touch. I was captivated from the first page to the last. The story of Elise's wartime experiences of love and loss and the triumph of the human spirit in the face of the worst hardships imaginable will hold you in its spell and haunt you long after the final word is read.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 4 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780452297647
Author:
Solomons, Natasha
Publisher:
Plume Books
Author:
Cooke, Elizabeth
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
Romance - Contemporary
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20111231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
includes a readers guide
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
8 x 5.31 in 0.56 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. The Crown
    Sale Trade Paper $7.98
  2. The Gift Used Trade Paper $2.95
  3. End of Eternity Used Trade Paper $10.95
  4. The Wizard of Karres Used Mass Market $4.95
  5. Beach Week Used Hardcover $9.95

Related Subjects


Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Literature
Featured Titles » New Arrivals
Featured Titles » Staff Picks
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Featured Titles
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Jewish

The House at Tyneford Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.50 In Stock
Product details 368 pages Plume Books - English 9780452297647 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
A stunning new novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The House at Tyneford

London, 1958. Its the eve of the sexual revolution, but in Juliet Montagues conservative Jewish community where only men can divorce women, shefinds herself a living widow, invisible. Ever since her husband disappeared seven years ago, Juliet has been a hardworking single mother of two and unnaturally practical. But on her thirtieth birthday, thats all about to change. A wealthy young artist asks to paint her portrait, and Juliet, moved by the powerful desire to be seen, enters into the burgeoning art world of 1960s London, which will bring her fame, fortune, and a life-long love aff air.

"Synopsis" by ,

The start of an affair, the end of an era.

Fans of Kate Morton's The Forgotten Garden, Catherine Bailey's The Secret Rooms, and TV's Downton Abbey will love this New York Times bestselling sweeping historical novel of love and loss. It's the spring of 1938 and no longer safe to be a Jew in Vienna. Nineteen-year-old Elise Landau is forced to leave her glittering life of parties and champagne to become a parlor maid in England. She arrives at Tyneford, the great house on the bay, where servants polish silver and serve drinks on the lawn. But war is coming, and the world is changing. When the master of Tyneford's young son, Kit, returns home, he and Elise strike up an unlikely friendship that will transform Tyneford—and Elise—forever.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.