Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | October 23, 2014

    Kathryn Harrison: IMG On Joan of Arc: A Life Transfigured



    I'm always sorry to finish a book, to let go of characters I love, people I've struggled to understand for years, people who evolve before me.... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.50
List price: $7.99
Used Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Romance- General

Dangerous in Diamonds

by

Dangerous in Diamonds Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From New York Times bestselling author Madeline Hunter comes this seductive tale of a headstrong young lady, a scandalous manuscript, and the iron-willed duke determined to save her from her ruin. and#160;For fans of Mary Balogh, Eloisa James, and Julia Quinn. and#160;

When Lady Lydia Alfreton is blackmailed over the shocking contents of a manuscript she once wrote, she must go to the most desperate of measures to raise the money to buy back the ill-considered prose: agreeing to an old wager posed by the arrogant, dangerous Duke of Penthurst. At least Penthurst is a man she wouldnand#8217;t mind fleecingand#151;and sheand#8217;s confident sheand#8217;ll win.

Penthurst long ago concluded Lydia was a woman in search of ruinous adventure, but even he is surprised when she arrives at his house ready to bet her innocence against his ten thousand poundsand#151;a wager he only proposed to warn her off gambling.

When she loses to a simple draw of the cards, Lydia is shocked. Now, her problems are twofold: a blackmailer determined to see her pay and a duke determined to tame her rebellious ways. One misstep and Lydia could find herself ruinedand#151;or bound to the seductive man who would make her his duchess.

Review:

"Hunter's fourth Rarest Blooms Regency (after Sinful in Satin) masterfully weaves a sensual web ensnaring florist Daphne Joyes and Tristan, the scandalous duke of Castleford. Their paths cross when Daphne's landlord dies and Tristan inherits the land on which she runs her modest flower business. Rarest Blooms secretly offers sanctuary to women who need it, no questions asked. Dukes always get what they want, and Tristan instantly wants Daphne, but she challenges him in arguments as passionate and provocative as their eventual lovemaking. The backdrop of spousal abuse and the millworkers' riots is leavened by mishap as Tristan acts on erroneous assumptions that Daphne cheerfully refrains from correcting. Fans will be delighted to learn what the previous Rarest Blooms ladies and their husbands are up to, laugh at their chatter, and cheer their unwavering friendship. (May)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

FROM NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR MADELINE HUNTER

She was a sensible woman.

He was a man who could drive a woman senseless with desire.

Gareth Fitzallen is celebrated for four things: his handsome face, his notable charm, his aristocratic connections, and an ability to give the kind of pleasure that has women begging for more. Normally he bestows his talents on experienced, worldly women. But when he heads to Langdonand#8217;s End to restore a property he inheritedand#151;and to investigate a massive art theftand#151;he lays plans to seduce a most unlikely lady.

Eva Russell lives a spinsterand#8217;s life of precarious finances and limited dreams while clinging to her familyand#8217;s old gentry status. She supports herself by copying paintings while she plots to marry her lovely sister to a well-established man. Everyone warns her of Garethand#8217;s reputation, and advises her to lock her sister away. Only it is not her sister Gareth desires. One look, and she knows he is trouble. One kiss, however, proves she is no match for this master of seduction.

Synopsis:

Their marriage was arranged, but their desire was not...

After two years, Grayson Bridlington, The Earl of Hawkeswell, has located his missing bride Verity Thompson. Coerced into marrying Hawkeswell by her duplicitous cousin, Verity fled London for the countryside. Now, the couple must make the most of an arranged marriage-even if it means surrendering to their shared desire.

Watch a Video

Video

About the Author

Lynn Kurland is the USA Today bestselling author of Stardust of Yesterday, A Dance Through Time, This Is All I Ask, The Very Thought of You, Another Chance to Dream, The More I See You, and If I Had You. She is also a contributor to The Christmas Cat, Christmas Spirits, Veils of Time, Opposites Attract, and A Knight’s Vow anthologies. A full-time writer, she lives in the Pacific Northwest.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780515149340
Author:
Hunter, Madeline
Publisher:
Jove Books
Author:
Kurland, Lynn
Author:
Moning, Karen Marie
Subject:
Romance - Historical
Subject:
Eloisa James
Subject:
Stephanie Laurens
Subject:
Downton Abbey
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
nobility; aristocrat; spies; wedding; duchess; duke; rake; 19th century; love; marriage; regency; victorian; Mary Balogh; Eloisa James; Stephanie Laurens; Julia Quinn; romances with dukes; romance novel; Downton Abbey; desperate duchesses; Jane Austen; Sh
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Publication Date:
20110431
Binding:
MASS MARKET
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
includes teaser
Pages:
432
Dimensions:
6.75 x 4.19 in 0.43 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Ravished (Signet Historical Romance) Used Mass Market $2.50
  2. Marcelli Sisters of Pleasure Road... New Mass Market $7.99
  3. Hot Pursuit Used Mass Market $5.95
  4. Dream Lover Used Mass Market $2.95
  5. Highland Warrior Used Mass Market $3.95
  6. Forbidden Love Used Mass Market $3.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Romance » General
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » Historical
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » Regency
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » General
Science and Mathematics » Physics » General
Young Adult » General

Dangerous in Diamonds Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.50 In Stock
Product details 432 pages Jove Books - English 9780515149340 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Hunter's fourth Rarest Blooms Regency (after Sinful in Satin) masterfully weaves a sensual web ensnaring florist Daphne Joyes and Tristan, the scandalous duke of Castleford. Their paths cross when Daphne's landlord dies and Tristan inherits the land on which she runs her modest flower business. Rarest Blooms secretly offers sanctuary to women who need it, no questions asked. Dukes always get what they want, and Tristan instantly wants Daphne, but she challenges him in arguments as passionate and provocative as their eventual lovemaking. The backdrop of spousal abuse and the millworkers' riots is leavened by mishap as Tristan acts on erroneous assumptions that Daphne cheerfully refrains from correcting. Fans will be delighted to learn what the previous Rarest Blooms ladies and their husbands are up to, laugh at their chatter, and cheer their unwavering friendship. (May)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,
FROM NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR MADELINE HUNTER

She was a sensible woman.

He was a man who could drive a woman senseless with desire.

Gareth Fitzallen is celebrated for four things: his handsome face, his notable charm, his aristocratic connections, and an ability to give the kind of pleasure that has women begging for more. Normally he bestows his talents on experienced, worldly women. But when he heads to Langdonand#8217;s End to restore a property he inheritedand#151;and to investigate a massive art theftand#151;he lays plans to seduce a most unlikely lady.

Eva Russell lives a spinsterand#8217;s life of precarious finances and limited dreams while clinging to her familyand#8217;s old gentry status. She supports herself by copying paintings while she plots to marry her lovely sister to a well-established man. Everyone warns her of Garethand#8217;s reputation, and advises her to lock her sister away. Only it is not her sister Gareth desires. One look, and she knows he is trouble. One kiss, however, proves she is no match for this master of seduction.

"Synopsis" by ,
Their marriage was arranged, but their desire was not...

After two years, Grayson Bridlington, The Earl of Hawkeswell, has located his missing bride Verity Thompson. Coerced into marrying Hawkeswell by her duplicitous cousin, Verity fled London for the countryside. Now, the couple must make the most of an arranged marriage-even if it means surrendering to their shared desire.

Watch a Video

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.