Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    New Favorites | November 25, 2014

    Powell's Staff: IMG Our Favorite New Favorites of 2014



    Every week, we gather together a small pile of newly released titles that we agree should be on everyone's radar. We deem these titles our New... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.98
Sale Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Literature- A to Z
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Godforsaken Idaho

by

Godforsaken Idaho Cover

ISBN13: 9780544027763
ISBN10: 0544027760
Condition:
All Product Details

Only 3 left in stock at $7.98!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Stories of the afterlife, the rugged Northwest, and the early days of Mormonism — by a ferociously imaginative new writer. This stunning debut story collection by an acclaimed McSweeneys and Tin House contributor will satisfy fans of such short-fiction masters as Denis Johnson and George Saunders, as well as those readers fascinated by the Mormon faith — and those who enjoyed the show Big Love and the musical The Book of Mormon.

“The First Several Hundred Years Following My Death” is a comic vision of the afterlife in which everyone in heaven is the age they were when they died — a fantasy both profound and absurd. In the tough, tender “About as Fast as This Car Can Go,” a teenager gets introduced to crime after his father is released from jail, and in “Winter Elders,” Mormon missionaries pursue a man who has left the fold — with gruesome results.

In the concluding triptych, Vestal takes on the legends and legacy of Mormonism. “Diviner,” the final piece, is an indelible portrait of the young Joseph Smith, in the days when he was not yet the founder of the Mormon faith but a man hired to find buried treasure.

Review:

“Shawn Vestal's Godforsaken Idaho is a wickedly funny, surprisingly profound collection. These nine stories of prophets and parents, of doppelgangers and pocket dogs, form a thrilling introduction to one of the wryest, most inventive new voices in fiction.” Jess Walter, author of Beautiful Ruins

Review:

Godforsaken Idaho mixes the hardpan realism of Richard Ford's Rock Springs with the dreadful wonder of Dan Chaon's best stories. In the lyrical beauty of his sentences, in the brutal choices his characters must make, and in the heartbreaking landscape itself, Shawn Vestal finds startling moments of grace and unexpected redemption.” Kim Barnes, author of In the Kingdom of Men

Review:

“Shutter your windows — Godforsaken Idaho is an awesome storm of history, grit, and revelatory imagination. These stories take huge risks and simply do not falter. Shawn Vestal has set out to reimagine the American West, and hes done so with the soulful, single-minded purpose of a half-mad pioneer.” Patrick Somerville, author of This Bright River and The Cradle

Synopsis:

For fans of George Saunders and Raymond Carver, this powerful, imaginative story collection takes readers on a journey from the afterlife to contemporary times to the early days of Mormonism — a stunning debut by an acclaimed McSweeneys and Tin House contributor.

Table of Contents

Contents

1. The First Several Hundred Years Following My Death 1

2. About as Fast as This Car Will Go 29

3. Families Are Forever! 45

4. Pocket Dog 71

5. Godforsaken Idaho 91

6. Winter Elders 105

7. Opposition in All Things 127

8. Gulls 169

9. Diviner 181

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

thechaostheorist, July 9, 2013 (view all comments by thechaostheorist)
Perfection in short bursts. A wonderfully creative storyteller.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780544027763
Author:
Vestal, Shawn
Publisher:
New Harvest
Subject:
Religious
Subject:
Religion Western-Religious Fiction
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20130431
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. Eunoia Used Trade Paper $9.95
  3. Little America: The War Within the... Used Hardcover $8.95
  4. Riprap and Cold Mountain Poems [With... Used Hardcover $14.00
  5. The Newlyweds
    Used Hardcover $4.95
  6. Jumping the Queue Used Trade Paper $3.50

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Sale Books
Religion » Western Religions » Religious Fiction

Godforsaken Idaho Sale Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.98 In Stock
Product details 224 pages New Harvest - English 9780544027763 Reviews:
"Review" by , “Shawn Vestal's Godforsaken Idaho is a wickedly funny, surprisingly profound collection. These nine stories of prophets and parents, of doppelgangers and pocket dogs, form a thrilling introduction to one of the wryest, most inventive new voices in fiction.”
"Review" by , Godforsaken Idaho mixes the hardpan realism of Richard Ford's Rock Springs with the dreadful wonder of Dan Chaon's best stories. In the lyrical beauty of his sentences, in the brutal choices his characters must make, and in the heartbreaking landscape itself, Shawn Vestal finds startling moments of grace and unexpected redemption.”
"Review" by , “Shutter your windows — Godforsaken Idaho is an awesome storm of history, grit, and revelatory imagination. These stories take huge risks and simply do not falter. Shawn Vestal has set out to reimagine the American West, and hes done so with the soulful, single-minded purpose of a half-mad pioneer.”
"Synopsis" by , For fans of George Saunders and Raymond Carver, this powerful, imaginative story collection takes readers on a journey from the afterlife to contemporary times to the early days of Mormonism — a stunning debut by an acclaimed McSweeneys and Tin House contributor.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.