25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 6, 2014

Graham Joyce: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Graham Joyce



The Ghost in the Electric Blue Suit is set on the English coast in the hot summer of 1976, so the music in this playlist is pretty much all from the... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Endurance

Endurance Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Green is back in Copper Downs. Purchased from her father in sunny Selistan when she was four years old, she was harshly raised to be a courtesan, companion, and bedmate of the Immortal Duke of Copper Downs. But Green rebelled. Green killed the Duke, and many others, and won her freedom. Yet she is still claimed by the gods and goddesses of her world, and they still require her service. Their demands are greater than any dukes could have been.

Godslayers have come to the Stone Coast, magicians whose cult is dedicated to destroying the many gods of Greens world. In the turmoil following the Immortal Dukes murder, Green made a god out of her power and her memories. Now the gods turn to her to protect them from the Slayers.

Jay Lake brings us an epic fantasy not "in the tradition of Tolkien," but, instead, sensual, ominous, shot through with the sweat of fear and the intoxication of power.

Review:

"Assassin and ex-courtesan Green has saved a city and birthed a god (in 2009's Green). Now she wants to move on — but she's hunted by enemies from her past, the city council is mired in a power struggle and can't provide much aid, and something is stalking goddesses, including the one Green serves. Lake deftly weaves complicated, stubborn characters into a plot that reaches the grandest and most personal scales without ever straining credulity. Green's basically solitary nature, expressed in extensive internal monologue, is balanced by her feelings of tenderness, responsibility, and exasperation toward her fellow humans, the catlike Pardines, and the gods. Her pragmatic acceptance of killing is likewise mitigated by her refusal to trivialize death and her emotional reactions to pregnancy's effects on her body, self-control, and expectations. This complex, lonesome, haunting novel will appeal to fans of Valente, Monette, and Miéville." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

A courtesan-assassin who rebelled and changed the world returns to the city—and the Gods—who shaped her, in this sequel (can stand alone) to Jay Lake's extraordinary novel Green.

About the Author

JAY LAKE lives and works in Portland, Oregon, within sight of an 11,000 foot volcano. He is the author of over two hundred short stories, four collections, and a chapbook, along with ten novels. In 2004, Lake won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer. He has also been a Hugo nominee for his short fiction and a three-time World Fantasy Award nominee for his editing.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780765326768
Publisher:
Tor Books
Subject:
Fantasy - General
Author:
Lake, Jay
Subject:
Science Fiction and Fantasy-Fantasy
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series Volume:
2
Publication Date:
20120821
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
9.25 x 6.125 in 1 lb

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Fantasy » General
Young Adult » General

Endurance
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 320 pages Tor Books - English 9780765326768 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Assassin and ex-courtesan Green has saved a city and birthed a god (in 2009's Green). Now she wants to move on — but she's hunted by enemies from her past, the city council is mired in a power struggle and can't provide much aid, and something is stalking goddesses, including the one Green serves. Lake deftly weaves complicated, stubborn characters into a plot that reaches the grandest and most personal scales without ever straining credulity. Green's basically solitary nature, expressed in extensive internal monologue, is balanced by her feelings of tenderness, responsibility, and exasperation toward her fellow humans, the catlike Pardines, and the gods. Her pragmatic acceptance of killing is likewise mitigated by her refusal to trivialize death and her emotional reactions to pregnancy's effects on her body, self-control, and expectations. This complex, lonesome, haunting novel will appeal to fans of Valente, Monette, and Miéville." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,
A courtesan-assassin who rebelled and changed the world returns to the city—and the Gods—who shaped her, in this sequel (can stand alone) to Jay Lake's extraordinary novel Green.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.