The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 24, 2014

Jessica Valenti: IMG Full Frontal Feminism Revisited



It is arguably the worst and best time to be a feminist. In the years since I first wrote Full Frontal Feminism, we've seen a huge cultural shift in... Continue »
  1. $11.90 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.95
List price: $19.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Hawthorne Business- Personal Skills

The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions That Determine Personal Success

by

The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions That Determine Personal Success Cover

ISBN13: 9780785264286
ISBN10: 0785264280
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $6.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

This modern morality tale by gifted writer and speaker Andy Andrews teaches seven fundamental strategies for creating a successful life.

Much like the bestselling books by Og Mandino, this unique narrative is a blend of entertaining fiction, allegory, and inspiration, with just a touch of self-help. Gifted storyteller Andy Andrews gives us a front-row seat for one man's journey of a lifetime.

David Ponder is at a crossroads. Having lost his job and the will to live, he has been supernaturally selected to travel through time, gathering wisdom for future generations. Visits to historical figures such as Abraham Lincoln, King Solomon, and Anne Frank yield the Seven Fundamentals for Success that will impact the entire world. A visit to the future reveals the result of David's journey, the fruits of his labor.

Ultimately, like David, readers will see how the perspective of our own circumstances is dramatically altered when we glimpse the "big picture" of life.

Review:

"Andrews effectively combines self-help with fiction to catch readers' interest, sustaining momentum while simultaneously passing on instructions for positive thinking....Some astute thinkers may be put off by the simplistic story line, but Andrews does an exemplary job at providing positive suggestions for overcoming life's obstacles." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"[A] breezy little fantasy reminiscent of It's a Wonderful Life and A Christmas Carol....At book's end, there is a strong element of faith, but Andrews uses a light touch. Readable and less sentimental than Richard Paul Evans's The Christmas Box, this will find a ready audience." Library Journal

Review:

"The Traveler's Gift provides a powerful and compelling road map through the highways of life." John Schuerholz, General Manager, Atlanta Braves

Review:

"Full of insight one can use throughout life. A wonderful story...people of all ages will enjoy reading." Randy Travis, Entertainer

Review:

"I could not put The Traveler's Gift down. The story itself is gripping, but the wisdom is for the ages." Thurl "Big T" Bailey, Musician, Former NBA Star

Review:

"In the tradition of Og Mandino, Andy Andrews has spun an engaging morality tale." John C. Maxwell, Best-selling Author

About the Author

Andy Andrews is a comedian, author, inspirational speaker, corporate entertainer, television celebrity, and a serious fisherman. He has performed for four United States presidents; appeared at Ceasars Palace, The Mirage, and Bally's in Las Vegas; and toured with stars such as Kenny Rogers, Joan Rivers, Cher, Randy Travis, Garth Brooks, and Bob Hope. He also wrote the Storms of Perfection series, a collection of true stories of courage and triumph; Tales from Sawyerton Springs, a series of short stories first published in Country America magazine; and the Go For It series for children.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Grady Harp, February 25, 2008 (view all comments by Grady Harp)
A Bestseller Self Help Book and Why

Andy Andrews absolutely practices what he preaches. His little 'novel' cum self-help book has become widely popular since its introduction to the mass market in 2002. And there is a reason why. Aside from the personal biographical data that the author lived as a street person for a period in his life before he took charge and made changes in his philosophy that led to his rather startling success as a comedian, an advisor, an inspirational speaker and an author, Andrews knows how to capture the attention of his audience, lead them through his concepts of the Seven Decisions the Determine Personal Success in the guise of a novel, and follows up his service to mankind with variations of his original platform. Not only is Andy Andrews an inspirational writer, but he is also a successful marketer!

The original book THE TRAVELER'S BOOK is so well known that repeating a summary is unnecessary. Very succinctly, David Ponder is at the end of his rope financially, emotionally, and physically when he happens to have an auto accident, an event which triggers a time travel where he meets and gathers advice from King Solomon, Harry Truman, Anne Frank, Abraham Lincoln, Colonel Joshua Chamberlain, Christopher Columbus, and the angel Gabriel, each of whom delivers him a message of how to enhance life. Those seven decisions are 1)The buck stops here: Adversity is preparation for greatness, 2) I will seek wisdom: I will choose my friends with care, 3) I am a person of action: I can make a decision and I can make it now, 4) I have a decided heart: My destiny is assured, 5) Today I will choose to be happy; I am the possessor of a grateful heart, 6) I will greet this day with a forgiving spirit: I will forgive myself, and 7) I will persist without exception: I will find way where there is no way.

After his 'time travel' learning experience David Ponder wakes up and sees his world change because of the decisions he has made. Andrews wisely does not make his issues a hard sell. He simply tells a story, one that may be a little on the fantasy side, and allows the reader to absorb and relate to the transformation that takes place. It is very much to his credit that he does not preach in this book: Andrews shares in a warm and familiar friend manner and that makes a big difference! Andy Andrews believes in these decisions and after reading his book, it is difficult not to buy into his smilingly warm philosophy.

Grady Harp
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(30 of 32 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780785264286
Author:
Andrews, Andy
Publisher:
Thomas Nelson Publishers
Location:
Nashville
Subject:
General
Subject:
Inspirational
Subject:
Success
Subject:
Conduct of life
Subject:
Parables
Subject:
Allegories
Subject:
Personal Growth - Success
Subject:
Inspirational - General
Subject:
Christianity - Christian Life - General
Subject:
Christian Life - General
Subject:
Religion Western-Inspirational
Copyright:
Series Volume:
107-341
Publication Date:
November 2002
Binding:
Hardcover
Language:
English
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
8.59x5.77x.81 in. .73 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Self Matters: Creating Your Life... Used Trade Paper $1.50
  2. The Life Strategies Workbook Used Trade Paper $2.50
  3. Power sleep :the revolutionary... Used Hardcover $1.25
  4. Dead Men Do Tell Tales: The Strange... Used Trade Paper $6.95
  5. What Should I Do with My Life? Used Trade Paper $2.95
  6. Answered Prayers Used Book Club Paperback $1.95

Related Subjects

Business » Personal Skills
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General
Religion » Christianity » General
Religion » Comparative Religion » General
Religion » Western Religions » Inspirational

The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions That Determine Personal Success Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.95 In Stock
Product details 224 pages Thomas Nelson Publishers - English 9780785264286 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Andrews effectively combines self-help with fiction to catch readers' interest, sustaining momentum while simultaneously passing on instructions for positive thinking....Some astute thinkers may be put off by the simplistic story line, but Andrews does an exemplary job at providing positive suggestions for overcoming life's obstacles."
"Review" by , "[A] breezy little fantasy reminiscent of It's a Wonderful Life and A Christmas Carol....At book's end, there is a strong element of faith, but Andrews uses a light touch. Readable and less sentimental than Richard Paul Evans's The Christmas Box, this will find a ready audience."
"Review" by , "The Traveler's Gift provides a powerful and compelling road map through the highways of life."
"Review" by , "Full of insight one can use throughout life. A wonderful story...people of all ages will enjoy reading."
"Review" by , "I could not put The Traveler's Gift down. The story itself is gripping, but the wisdom is for the ages."
"Review" by , "In the tradition of Og Mandino, Andy Andrews has spun an engaging morality tale."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.