Warriors B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | May 5, 2015

    Leonard Mlodinow: IMG The Fragility of Grand Discoveries



    When I was in graduate school at Berkeley I was offered a prestigious fellowship to study for a year in Germany, but I decided it would be a... Continue »
    1. $19.57 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.95
List price: $5.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Children's- Chapter Books

Clementine (Clementine)

by

Clementine (Clementine) Cover

ISBN13: 9780786838837
ISBN10: 0786838833
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $3.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

I hate camp. I just hate it. I wish I didnand#8217;t. But I do. Being here is worse than bug juice on a burger. Or homework on Thanksgiving. Or water seeping into my shoes. In this sequel to the critically acclaimed Like Pickle Juice on a Cookie, Eleanor is off to summer camp. At first sheand#8217;s excited to carry on the family tradition at Camp Wallumwahpuck, but when she gets there she finds icky bugs, terrible food, and worst of all: swim class, where she just canand#8217;t seem to keep up with everyone else. But as the days go on, Eleanor realizes that even the most miserable situations can be full of special surprises and that growing up is full of belly flops.

Praise for Like Bug Juice on a Burger

"Eleanor doesnand#8217;t just survive, she growsand#133;Readers will celebrate and look forward to more."

and#151;Kirkus Reviews

"Sternberg gets all of the details exactly right, from the and#147;orange, oozing sloppy joesand#8221; to the frustrations of trying to swim in a life jacket. susan dove lempke."

and#151;The HornBook

"This is a really sweet novel in verse and a good sequel to Like Pickle Juice on a Cookie (Abrams, 2011), though it works fine as a stand-alone."

and#151;School Library Journal

"Eleanorand#8217;s tentative yet heartfelt voice comes through as clearly as in the first volume, with the short, ragged-right-margin lines as approachable as her personality. Sternberg is particularly deft at leaving young-reader-sized room for interpretation and extrapolation."

and#151;The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"This sequel to Like Pickle Juice on a Cookie (2011) is just as endearing and wise, illustrating how small triumphs can help children survive what, at the time, seems an insurmountable trial."

and#151;Booklist

Award

Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books Blue Ribbons List 2013

Honor list - 2014 Gryphon Award

Synopsis:

Gooney Bird Greene returns for another rollicking classroom adventure in this fifth installment of two-time Newbery Award Winner Lois Lowry's Gooney Bird series.

Synopsis:

Move over, Junie B. Jones and Ivy and Bean! Here comes a lovably energetic little sister with a BIG personalityand#151;and an imagination to match!

As the youngest in her family, Dory really wants attention, and more than anything she wants her brother and sister to play with her. But sheand#8217;s too much of a baby for them, so sheand#8217;s left to her own devicesand#151;including her wild imagination and untiring energy. Her siblings may roll their eyes at her childish games, but Dory has lots of things to do: outsmarting the monsters all over the house, escaping from prison (aka time-out), and exacting revenge on her sisterand#8217;s favorite doll. And when they really need her, daring Dory will prove her bravery, and finally get exactly what she has been looking for.

With plenty of pictures bursting with charm and character, this hilarious book about an irresistible rascal is the new must-read for the chapter book set.

Synopsis:

This charming, coming-of-age story is perfect for fans of Joan Bauer and Sheila Turnage.

Prairie Evers is finding that school isnt all its cracked up to be. Shes always been homeschooled by her grandmother, learning about life while they ramble through the woods. But now Prairies family has moved north and she has to attend school for the first time, where her education is in a classroom and the behavior of her classmates isnt very nice. The only good thing is meeting Ivy, her first true friend. Prairie wants to be a good friend, even though she can be clueless at times. But when Ivys world is about to fall apart and she needs a friend most, Prairie is right there for her, corralling all her optimism and determination to hatch a plan to help.

Wonderful writing and an engaging narrator distinguish this lively story that celebrates friendship of every kind. 

About the Author

Julie Sternberg, formerly a public-interest lawyer, is a graduate of the New School's MFA program in writing for children. This is her first novel. She lives in Brooklyn. Matthew Cordell is the illustrator of Trouble Gum. He lives in Chicago.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

future teacher, October 15, 2008 (view all comments by future teacher)
This is a hilarious book. Ramona-lovers will especially love it. Great to read aloud, for all ages!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 6 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780786838837
Author:
Pennypacker, Sara
Publisher:
Puffin
Illustrator:
Frazee, Marla
Author:
Lowry, Lois
Author:
Frazee, Marla
Author:
Hanlon, Abby
Author:
Sisson, Stephanie
Author:
Sisson, Stephanie Roth
Author:
Sternberg, Julie
Author:
Stout, Shawn
Author:
Roth Sisson, Stephanie
Author:
Cordell, Matthew
Author:
Thomas, Middy
Author:
Airgood, Ellen
Author:
Greene, Stephanie
Subject:
Readers - Chapter Books
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Subject:
Family
Subject:
Friendship
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
Children s humor
Subject:
School & Education
Subject:
Family - Multigenerational
Subject:
Situations / Friendship
Subject:
Situations / Emotions & Feelings
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Series:
Princess Posey
Series Volume:
1
Publication Date:
20130221
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from K up to 3
Language:
English
Illustrations:
50 black-and-white illustrations
Pages:
96
Dimensions:
7.50 x 5.50 in
Age Level:
06-10

Other books you might like

  1. Clementine's Letter (Clementine) Used Hardcover $5.50
  2. Gossamer
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  3. The Invisible Rules of the Zoe Lama
    Used Hardcover $10.50
  4. The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  5. The Homework Machine
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  6. Star Jumper: Journal of a Cardboard... Used Trade Paper $4.50

Related Subjects


Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Beginning Readers » General
Children's » Chapter Books
Children's » General
Children's » Humor
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Oregon Battle of the Books
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Adolescence

Clementine (Clementine) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.95 In Stock
Product details 96 pages Hyperion - English 9780786838837 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Gooney Bird Greene returns for another rollicking classroom adventure in this fifth installment of two-time Newbery Award Winner Lois Lowry's Gooney Bird series.
"Synopsis" by ,
Move over, Junie B. Jones and Ivy and Bean! Here comes a lovably energetic little sister with a BIG personalityand#151;and an imagination to match!

As the youngest in her family, Dory really wants attention, and more than anything she wants her brother and sister to play with her. But sheand#8217;s too much of a baby for them, so sheand#8217;s left to her own devicesand#151;including her wild imagination and untiring energy. Her siblings may roll their eyes at her childish games, but Dory has lots of things to do: outsmarting the monsters all over the house, escaping from prison (aka time-out), and exacting revenge on her sisterand#8217;s favorite doll. And when they really need her, daring Dory will prove her bravery, and finally get exactly what she has been looking for.

With plenty of pictures bursting with charm and character, this hilarious book about an irresistible rascal is the new must-read for the chapter book set.

"Synopsis" by ,
This charming, coming-of-age story is perfect for fans of Joan Bauer and Sheila Turnage.

Prairie Evers is finding that school isnt all its cracked up to be. Shes always been homeschooled by her grandmother, learning about life while they ramble through the woods. But now Prairies family has moved north and she has to attend school for the first time, where her education is in a classroom and the behavior of her classmates isnt very nice. The only good thing is meeting Ivy, her first true friend. Prairie wants to be a good friend, even though she can be clueless at times. But when Ivys world is about to fall apart and she needs a friend most, Prairie is right there for her, corralling all her optimism and determination to hatch a plan to help.

Wonderful writing and an engaging narrator distinguish this lively story that celebrates friendship of every kind. 

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.