We Need Diverse Ya Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | June 29, 2015

    Roger Hobbs: IMG Soundtrack of Macau: Roger Hobbs's Playlist for Vanishing Games



    My new novel, Vanishing Games, is a heist thriller set in the gambling city of Macau, China. I lived there briefly while researching the book and... Continue »
    1. $18.17 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Vanishing Games

      Roger Hobbs 9780385352642

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

The Golden Calf

The Golden Calf Cover

 

Staff Pick

This tight little novel is a burst of comic angst and venom in the tradition of Selby, Bukowski, and Nelson Algren. Originally published by Soft Skull back when their books were glued in a basement apartment, this new version of The Golden Calf is part of a rescue effort by local press Another Sky.
Recommended by Kevin Sampsell, Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Ray Tompkins is the kind of person you never get to know. He's the security guard, the factory worker, the man working the midnight shift. Nobody really understands Ray - not his coworkers, not his family, and certainly not the women in his life. There is a rage building inside Ray Tompkins and Los Angeles is the fuel - the sick obsession with celebrity mixed with the vacuousness of everyday life. Against this backdrop, Ray Tompkins finds a way to vent his anger. He, too, will be known.

Review:

"Explores the hazy junction where the teeth of the daily grind sink into the day-dreamt certainties of life’s true bell-head sounds. Lee Ranaldo, member of Sonic Youth

Review:

"With a superb narrative control, Baum paints a portrait of male dysfunction set to explode." The List

Review:

"A marvel of pace and comic timing….Much of Baum's narrative bears a similarity to Dostoevsky’s Notes from the Underground." Daily Telegraph

Product Details

ISBN:
9780977605156
Publisher:
Another Sky Press
Subject:
Literary
Author:
Baum, Henry
Subject:
Suspense
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Publication Date:
20080631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
180
Dimensions:
8.50x5.50x.41 in. .52 lbs.

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Suspense
Fiction and Poetry » Small Press » Fiction and Prose
Fiction and Poetry » Small Press » General

The Golden Calf
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 180 pages Another Sky Press - English 9780977605156 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

This tight little novel is a burst of comic angst and venom in the tradition of Selby, Bukowski, and Nelson Algren. Originally published by Soft Skull back when their books were glued in a basement apartment, this new version of The Golden Calf is part of a rescue effort by local press Another Sky.

"Review" by , "Explores the hazy junction where the teeth of the daily grind sink into the day-dreamt certainties of life’s true bell-head sounds.
"Review" by , "With a superb narrative control, Baum paints a portrait of male dysfunction set to explode."
"Review" by , "A marvel of pace and comic timing….Much of Baum's narrative bears a similarity to Dostoevsky’s Notes from the Underground."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.