Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Interviews | October 28, 2014

    Jill Owens: IMG Miriam Toews: The Powells.com Interview



    Some people are compelled by a restlessness from within; others are shaped by the unwieldy forces around them. In Miriam Toews's poignant new novel... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
List price: $19.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General

Other titles in the Pathfinder Trilogy series:

Pathfinder (Trilogy) #01: Pathfinder

by

Pathfinder (Trilogy) #01: Pathfinder Cover

ISBN13: 9781416991762
ISBN10: 141699176x
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $10.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From the author of andlt;Iandgt;Enderand#8217;s Gameandlt;/Iandgt;, the soon-to-be major motion picture!andlt;BRandgt;andlt;BRandgt;A powerful secret. A dangerous path.andlt;BRandgt; andlt;BRandgt;Rigg is well trained at keeping secrets. Only his father knows the truth about Rigg's strange talent for seeing the paths of people's pasts. But when his father dies, Rigg is stunned to learn just how many secrets Father had kept from andlt;Iandgt;himandlt;/Iandgt;--secrets about Rigg's own past, his identity, and his destiny. And when Rigg discovers that he has the power not only to see the past, but also to change it, his future suddenly becomes anything but certain.andlt;BRandgt; andlt;BRandgt;Riggand#8217;s birthright sets him on a path that leaves him caught between two factions, one that wants him crowned and one that wants him dead. He will be forced to question everything he thinks he knows, choose who to trust, and push the limits of his talentand#8230;or forfeit control of his destiny.

Review:

"Card entwines two stories in this fascinatingly complex series opener. In one, 13-year-old Rigg is living a contented life with his acerbic and intellectually challenging father as a backcountry trapper, using his magical ability to perceive paths that show the past movements of people and animals--anywhere from minutes to thousands of years earlier. Then his father dies suddenly, and Rigg becomes an outcast with his friend Umbo, after Rigg is wrongly blamed for Umbo's brother's death. Interwoven is the story of starship captain Ram Odin, whose interspatial jump toward a new colony world results in a bizarre paradox with far-reaching consequences. The result is an amalgamation of adventure, politics, and time travel that invokes issues of class and the right to control one's own life. Yet despite its complexity, the book is never less than page-turning. While Card delves deeply into his story's knotted twists and turns, readers should have no trouble following the philosophical and scientific mysteries, which the characters are parsing right along with them. An epic in the best sense, and not simply because the twin stories stretch across centuries. Ages 12 — up. (Nov.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)

Synopsis:

From the internationally bestselling author of "Ender's Game" comes a brand-new series that draws readers into the world of Rigg, a teenager who possesses a secret talent that allows him to see the paths of people's pasts.

Synopsis:

The obsidian mirror. Its power is great and terrible. Men have been lost in it, the dead brought back to life through it, and the future annihilated by it. Or this is what will happen unless the mirror is destroyed. Three people seek the mirror: the first has been sent from the future to shatter its power; the second will protect the mirror at all costs, obsessed with its power; and the third needs the mirror to find a murdered father and save his life. But only one can succeed.

The mirror can send you to the past, but it will not bring you back.

With superb world-building that includes the real world, the faery world, and a dystopic future, this hauntingly astonishing adventure is the start of a new trilogy from the master of the sci-fi/fantasy genre, Catherine Fisher. Fans of Orson Scott Card, Dr. Who, Shakespeare, and Blade Runner won't be disappointed.

Synopsis:

From the author of Ender’s Game, the soon-to-be major motion picture!

A powerful secret. A dangerous path.

Rigg is well trained at keeping secrets. Only his father knows the truth about Rigg's strange talent for seeing the paths of people's pasts. But when his father dies, Rigg is stunned to learn just how many secrets Father had kept from him--secrets about Rigg's own past, his identity, and his destiny. And when Rigg discovers that he has the power not only to see the past, but also to change it, his future suddenly becomes anything but certain.

Rigg’s birthright sets him on a path that leaves him caught between two factions, one that wants him crowned and one that wants him dead. He will be forced to question everything he thinks he knows, choose who to trust, and push the limits of his talent…or forfeit control of his destiny.

Video

About the Author

Orson Scott Card is the author of numerous bestselling novels and the first writer to receive both the Hugo and Nebula awards two years in a row; first for andlt;iandgt;Enderand#8217;s Gameandlt;/iandgt; and then for the sequel, andlt;iandgt;Speaker for the Deadandlt;/iandgt;. He lives with his wife and children in North Carolina.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

TEO, January 1, 2011 (view all comments by TEO)
This is an amazing new book by Orson Scott Card. He has brought much of the excitement and intrigue from Ender's Game into this new series. As the first of more to come, Card has set up a new world with parallel stories and time travel. This was an extrordinary read and I'll be sure to get the sequel the day it becomes available!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9781416991762
Author:
Card, Orson Scott
Publisher:
Simon Pulse
Author:
Fisher, Catherine
Subject:
Fantasy & Magic
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
Science & Technology
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Subject:
time travel; science fiction; science fantasy; Orson Scott Card; action adventure; fantasy adventure; second-world fantasy;
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Obsidian Mirror
Series Volume:
01
Publication Date:
20101131
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Illustrations:
f-c jacket w- metallic stock-matte lam-o
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in
Age Level:
from 12

Other books you might like

  1. The Contest Used Trade Paper $3.50
  2. The Summit Used Trade Paper $2.95
  3. Everest #02: Everest Book Two: The Climb Used Trade Paper $2.50
  4. The Zero (P.S.)
    Used Trade Paper $7.50
  5. Anna Karenina
    Used Mass Market $1.95
  6. Dreadnought
    Used Trade Paper $10.50

Related Subjects

Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Science Fiction
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Young Adult » General

Pathfinder (Trilogy) #01: Pathfinder Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 384 pages Simon Pulse - English 9781416991762 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Card entwines two stories in this fascinatingly complex series opener. In one, 13-year-old Rigg is living a contented life with his acerbic and intellectually challenging father as a backcountry trapper, using his magical ability to perceive paths that show the past movements of people and animals--anywhere from minutes to thousands of years earlier. Then his father dies suddenly, and Rigg becomes an outcast with his friend Umbo, after Rigg is wrongly blamed for Umbo's brother's death. Interwoven is the story of starship captain Ram Odin, whose interspatial jump toward a new colony world results in a bizarre paradox with far-reaching consequences. The result is an amalgamation of adventure, politics, and time travel that invokes issues of class and the right to control one's own life. Yet despite its complexity, the book is never less than page-turning. While Card delves deeply into his story's knotted twists and turns, readers should have no trouble following the philosophical and scientific mysteries, which the characters are parsing right along with them. An epic in the best sense, and not simply because the twin stories stretch across centuries. Ages 12 — up. (Nov.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
"Synopsis" by , From the internationally bestselling author of "Ender's Game" comes a brand-new series that draws readers into the world of Rigg, a teenager who possesses a secret talent that allows him to see the paths of people's pasts.
"Synopsis" by ,
The obsidian mirror. Its power is great and terrible. Men have been lost in it, the dead brought back to life through it, and the future annihilated by it. Or this is what will happen unless the mirror is destroyed. Three people seek the mirror: the first has been sent from the future to shatter its power; the second will protect the mirror at all costs, obsessed with its power; and the third needs the mirror to find a murdered father and save his life. But only one can succeed.

The mirror can send you to the past, but it will not bring you back.

With superb world-building that includes the real world, the faery world, and a dystopic future, this hauntingly astonishing adventure is the start of a new trilogy from the master of the sci-fi/fantasy genre, Catherine Fisher. Fans of Orson Scott Card, Dr. Who, Shakespeare, and Blade Runner won't be disappointed.

"Synopsis" by , From the author of Ender’s Game, the soon-to-be major motion picture!

A powerful secret. A dangerous path.

Rigg is well trained at keeping secrets. Only his father knows the truth about Rigg's strange talent for seeing the paths of people's pasts. But when his father dies, Rigg is stunned to learn just how many secrets Father had kept from him--secrets about Rigg's own past, his identity, and his destiny. And when Rigg discovers that he has the power not only to see the past, but also to change it, his future suddenly becomes anything but certain.

Rigg’s birthright sets him on a path that leaves him caught between two factions, one that wants him crowned and one that wants him dead. He will be forced to question everything he thinks he knows, choose who to trust, and push the limits of his talent…or forfeit control of his destiny.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.