Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | October 21, 2014

    Anne Rice: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Anne Rice



    These are the songs that wake me up, take me out of my worries and anxieties, wash my brain cells, and send me to the keyboard to write with new... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
List price: $25.00
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Health and Medicine- Medical Biographies

The Man Who Couldn't Eat

by

The Man Who Couldn't Eat Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

andlt;iandgt;andlt;bandgt;and#8220;Iand#8217;m a glutton in a greyhoundand#8217;s body, a walking contradiction, in the grip of the one thing I canand#8217;t haveand#8212;food.and#8221;andlt;BRandgt;andlt;/bandgt;andlt;/iandgt;andlt;BRandgt;Food is not just sustenance. It is memories, a lobster roll on the beach in Maine; heritage, hot pastrami club with a half-sour pickle; guilty pleasures, a chocolate rum-soaked Bundt cake; identity, vegetarian or carnivore. Food is the sensuality of a ripe strawberry or a pork chop sizzling on the grill. But what if the very thing that keeps you alive, that bonds us together and marks occasions in our lives, became a toxic substance, an inflammatory invader? In this beautifully written memoir, both gut-wrenching and inspiring, award-winning writer Jon Reiner explores our complex and often contradictory relationship with food as he tells the story of his agonizing battle with Crohnand#8217;s diseaseand#8212;and the extraordinary places his hunger and obsession with food took him. andlt;BRandgt;andlt;iandgt;The Man Who Couldnand#8217;t Eat andlt;/iandgt;is an unvarnished account of a marriage in crisis, children faced with grown-up fears, a man at a life-and-death crossroads sifting through his past and his present. And it shows us a tough, courageous climb out of despair and hopelessness. Aided by the loving kindness of family, friends, and strangers and by a new approach to food, Reiner began a process of healing in body and mind. Most of all, he chose lifeand#8212;and a renewed appetite, any way he could manage it, for the things that truly matter most.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of The Last Lecture and Three Cups of Tea, and inspired by his much-praised 2009 Esquire article, “The Man Who Couldn’t Eat,” a famed food writer chronicles his battle with Crohn’s disease.

Jon Reiner was middle-aged, happily married with two children, living on Manhattan’s Upper West Side, and acclimating to his role as primary parent-caregiver when he suffered a near-fatal collapse due to complications from his chronic battle with Crohn’s disease. From that point, he was forbidden from eating food, fed intravenously, and denied the pleasures of taste, which, as an award-winning food writer, had been a central part of his life. In Curb Your Appetite, Reiner reinvents the foodoir, recounting what happens when a man obsessed with food cannot eat, and what happened to his family as a result. Coping with illness, unemployment, and financial ruin spun him into a deep depression, straining his relationship with his wife and children. It was this deprivation, ironically, that forced Jon to recognize what he’d been taking for granted.

Eloquent and powerful, this is one man’s journey from deprivation and despair to ultimately acceptance and appreciation of what is truly important.

Synopsis:

Based on his Esquire magazine article, THE MAN WHO COULDN'T EAT is the very personal journey of Jon Reiner's struggle with chronic illness.

About the Author

Jon Reiner is a food writer for Esquire magazine. While battling Crohn's disease, he seeks to be the best father and husband he can be.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781439192467
Author:
Reiner, Jon
Publisher:
Gallery
Subject:
Biography/Medical
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20110931
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
text only
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
9.25 x 6.12 in

Other books you might like

  1. Just Like Someone Without Mental...
    Used Hardcover $7.50
  2. Knocking on Heaven's Door: How...
    Used Trade Paper $8.95

Related Subjects


Biography » General
Biography » Medical
Cooking and Food » Food Writing » General
Featured Titles » General
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Gastrointestinal
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Illnesses
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Medical Biographies
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Stomach Bowels and Bladder

The Man Who Couldn't Eat Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Gallery Books - English 9781439192467 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of The Last Lecture and Three Cups of Tea, and inspired by his much-praised 2009 Esquire article, “The Man Who Couldn’t Eat,” a famed food writer chronicles his battle with Crohn’s disease.

Jon Reiner was middle-aged, happily married with two children, living on Manhattan’s Upper West Side, and acclimating to his role as primary parent-caregiver when he suffered a near-fatal collapse due to complications from his chronic battle with Crohn’s disease. From that point, he was forbidden from eating food, fed intravenously, and denied the pleasures of taste, which, as an award-winning food writer, had been a central part of his life. In Curb Your Appetite, Reiner reinvents the foodoir, recounting what happens when a man obsessed with food cannot eat, and what happened to his family as a result. Coping with illness, unemployment, and financial ruin spun him into a deep depression, straining his relationship with his wife and children. It was this deprivation, ironically, that forced Jon to recognize what he’d been taking for granted.

Eloquent and powerful, this is one man’s journey from deprivation and despair to ultimately acceptance and appreciation of what is truly important.

"Synopsis" by , Based on his Esquire magazine article, THE MAN WHO COULDN'T EAT is the very personal journey of Jon Reiner's struggle with chronic illness.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.