Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | April 11, 2014

Paul Laudiero: IMG Shit Rough Draft



I was sitting in a British and Irish romantic drama class my last semester in college when the idea for Shit Rough Drafts hit me. I was working... Continue »
  1. $9.07 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer

Eros the Bittersweet (American Literature)

by

Eros the Bittersweet (American Literature) Cover

 

Staff Pick

Beginning with Sappho's description of Eros as "sweetbitter," Anne Carson traces the treatment and understanding of Eros in philosophy and literature, both classical and contemporary. Written in accessible, smart, and lyrical prose, Eros the Bittersweet will delight anyone who has ever wanted to better understand the complex and paradoxical nature of desire.
Recommended by Crystal, Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A book about romantic love, Eros is Anne Carson's exploration of the concept of "eros" in both classical philosophy and literature. Beginning with, "It was Sappho who first called eros 'bittersweet.' No one who has been in love disputes her", Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view, creating a lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos Williams's Spring and All and William H. Gass's On Being Blue.

Synopsis:

Epigrammatic, witty, ironic, and endlessly interesting, Eros is an utterly original book by an author whose acclaim has been steadily growing since the book was first published in 1986 by Johns Hopkins.

About the Author

Anne Carson was born in Canada and teaches ancient Greek for a living. Her awards and honors include the Lannan Award, the Pushcart Prize, the Griffin Trust Award for Excellence in Poetry, a Guggenheim fellowship, and the MacArthur "Genius" Award.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781564781888
Publisher:
Dalkey Archive Press
Location:
Normal, IL :
Author:
Carson, Anne
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Ethics & Moral Philosophy
Subject:
Love
Subject:
Ancient and Classical
Subject:
Eros (Greek deity)
Subject:
Literary Criticism : General
Edition Number:
1
Edition Description:
1st Dalkey Archive ed.
Series:
American Literature (Dalkey Archive)
Publication Date:
19980331
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
189
Dimensions:
8.51x5.51x.57 in. .60 lbs.

Related Subjects


Featured Titles » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Poetry » A to Z
History and Social Science » Linguistics » General
Humanities » Literary Criticism » General
Humanities » Philosophy » Ethics
Metaphysics » General
Metaphysics » Healing
Religion » Comparative Religion » General

Eros the Bittersweet (American Literature)
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 189 pages Dalkey Archive Press - English 9781564781888 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

Beginning with Sappho's description of Eros as "sweetbitter," Anne Carson traces the treatment and understanding of Eros in philosophy and literature, both classical and contemporary. Written in accessible, smart, and lyrical prose, Eros the Bittersweet will delight anyone who has ever wanted to better understand the complex and paradoxical nature of desire.

"Synopsis" by , Epigrammatic, witty, ironic, and endlessly interesting, Eros is an utterly original book by an author whose acclaim has been steadily growing since the book was first published in 1986 by Johns Hopkins.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.