Signed Edition Sweepstakes
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 18, 2014

Lin Enger: IMG Knowing vs. Knowing



On a hot July evening years ago, my Toyota Tercel overheated on a flat stretch of highway north of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A steam geyser shot up from... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

The Cry of the Sloth Signed 1st Edition

by

The Cry of the Sloth Signed 1st Edition Cover

 

Review-A-Day

"If you're ever looking to scare someone out of pursuing a career in literature — and you just might want to do that, if you're either a realist or a complete dick — all you have to do is give them a copy of The Cry of the Sloth, Sam Savage's bitter, brilliant, and devastatingly hilarious second novel." Michael Schaub, Bookslut (read the entire Bookslut review)

Synopses & Reviews

From Powells.com:

  1. Featured in Indiespensable Volume 14!
  2. Powell's subscription club offers signed first editions, exclusive content, and unique handpicked gifts.
  3. Read about this shipment on our blog!

Publisher Comments:

Living on a diet of fried Spam, vodka, sardines, cupcakes, and Southern Comfort, Andrew Whittaker is slowly being sucked into the morass of middle age. A negligent landlord, small-time literary journal editor, and aspiring novelist, he is — quite literally — authoring his own downfall. From his letters, diary entries, and fragments of fiction, to grocery lists and posted signs, this novel is a collection of everything Whittaker commits to paper over the course of four critical months.

Beginning in July, during the economic hardships of the Nixon era, we witness our hero hounded by tenants and creditors, harassed by a loathsome local arts group, and tormented by his ex-wife. Determined to redeem his failures and eviscerate his enemies, Whittaker hatches a grand plan. But as winter nears, his difficulties accumulate, and the disorder of his life threatens to overwhelm him. As his hold on reality weakens and his schemes grow wilder, his self-image as a placid and slow-moving sloth evolves into that of a bizarre and frantic creature driven mad by solitude.

In this tragicomic portrait of a literary life, Sam Savage proves that all the evidence is in the writing, that all the world is, indeed, a stage, and that escape from the mind's prison requires a command performance.

Review:

"Middle-aged underachiever Andy Whittaker plots a preposterous literary festival in this scathingly funny epistolary pastiche from Firmin author Savage. Andy is the editor of Soap, an inconsequential literary magazine ridiculed by rival The Art News, which Andy dismisses as 'the in-house journal for a tiny clique of very conventional, very middle-class writers and painters.' His wife, Jolie, has left him, his mother is dying and the apartment buildings inherited from his father are crumbling. Fern Moss, a precocious poetess, taunts Andy with provocative poems and photos, while Dahlberg Stint, a hardware store employee and former Soap contributor, sends increasingly sinister threats. After his phone is shut off, a beleaguered Andy hunkers down to compose plaintive letters to Jolie, excuses for not visiting his mother, dismissive replies to Soap hopefuls, snide notes to his tenants, pitiful missives to a former one-night-stand, fake letters to the editor and 'prose poems, little existential parables of tedium and despair, set in Africa probably.' Andy's self-aggrandizing and self-pitying grow more desperate as Savage expertly skewers Andy's comically insufferable exterior to reveal the tragic if insubstantial soul of a frustrated writer. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"Out of this world funny and heartbreaking." Bluestalking Reader

Review:

"[A] fascinating, tragicomic portrait of isolation and personal failure, in the tradition of Gogol and Kafka." Lacunae Musing

Review:

"The Cry of the Sloth promises to repeat Firmin's success." Library Journal (starred review)

Synopsis:

From letters and diary entries to grocery lists, this novel comprises a collection of everything Andrew Whittaker commits to paper over the course of four critical months. This tragicomic portrait of a literary life chronicles an aspiring novelist who is — quite literally — authoring his own downfall.

Synopsis:

The four-month odyssey of a literary lowlife.

Synopsis:

Fiction. Chosen by Publishers Weekly as one of the Best Books of 2009. Living on a diet of fried Spam, vodka, sardines, cupcakes, and Southern Comfort, Andrew Whittaker is slowly being sucked into the morass of middle age. A negligent landlord, small-time literary journal editor, and aspiring novelist, he is--quite literally--authoring his own downfall. From his letters, diary entries, and fragments of fiction, to grocery lists and posted signs, this novel is a collection of everything Whittaker commits to paper over the course of four critical months. Beginning in July, during the economic hardships of the Nixon era, we witness our hero hounded by tenants and creditors, harassed by a loathsome local arts group, and tormented by his ex-wife. In this tragicomic portrait of a literary life, Sam Savage proves that all the evidence is in the writing, that all the world is, indeed, a stage, and that escape from the mind's prison requires a command performance.

About the Author

Sam Savage is the best-selling author of Firmin: Adventures of a Metropolitan Lowlife, a debut novel selected as an American Library Association Notable Book and a Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Award finalist. A native of South Carolina, he now lives in Madison, Wisconsin.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781566892315
Author:
Savage, Sam
Publisher:
Coffee House Press
Illustrator:
Mikolowski, Michael
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Authorship
Subject:
Psychological fiction
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20090931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
7.9 x 5.1 x 0.8 in 9.5 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Russian Picture Word Book: Learn... New Trade Paper $3.99
  2. Firmin
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  3. Too Many Dogs! (Step Into Reading: A... New Trade Paper $3.99
  4. I Like Bugs (Step Into Reading: A... Used Trade Paper $2.95
  5. Thomas and Friends: Thomas and the... Used Trade Paper $2.50

Related Subjects

» Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
» Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Locked Case
» History and Social Science » American Studies » Popular Culture

The Cry of the Sloth Signed 1st Edition Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.95 In Stock
Product details 224 pages Coffee House Press - English 9781566892315 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Middle-aged underachiever Andy Whittaker plots a preposterous literary festival in this scathingly funny epistolary pastiche from Firmin author Savage. Andy is the editor of Soap, an inconsequential literary magazine ridiculed by rival The Art News, which Andy dismisses as 'the in-house journal for a tiny clique of very conventional, very middle-class writers and painters.' His wife, Jolie, has left him, his mother is dying and the apartment buildings inherited from his father are crumbling. Fern Moss, a precocious poetess, taunts Andy with provocative poems and photos, while Dahlberg Stint, a hardware store employee and former Soap contributor, sends increasingly sinister threats. After his phone is shut off, a beleaguered Andy hunkers down to compose plaintive letters to Jolie, excuses for not visiting his mother, dismissive replies to Soap hopefuls, snide notes to his tenants, pitiful missives to a former one-night-stand, fake letters to the editor and 'prose poems, little existential parables of tedium and despair, set in Africa probably.' Andy's self-aggrandizing and self-pitying grow more desperate as Savage expertly skewers Andy's comically insufferable exterior to reveal the tragic if insubstantial soul of a frustrated writer. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review A Day" by , "If you're ever looking to scare someone out of pursuing a career in literature — and you just might want to do that, if you're either a realist or a complete dick — all you have to do is give them a copy of The Cry of the Sloth, Sam Savage's bitter, brilliant, and devastatingly hilarious second novel." (read the entire Bookslut review)
"Review" by , "Out of this world funny and heartbreaking."
"Review" by , "[A] fascinating, tragicomic portrait of isolation and personal failure, in the tradition of Gogol and Kafka."
"Review" by , "The Cry of the Sloth promises to repeat Firmin's success." (starred review)
"Synopsis" by , From letters and diary entries to grocery lists, this novel comprises a collection of everything Andrew Whittaker commits to paper over the course of four critical months. This tragicomic portrait of a literary life chronicles an aspiring novelist who is — quite literally — authoring his own downfall.
"Synopsis" by ,
The four-month odyssey of a literary lowlife.
"Synopsis" by , Fiction. Chosen by Publishers Weekly as one of the Best Books of 2009. Living on a diet of fried Spam, vodka, sardines, cupcakes, and Southern Comfort, Andrew Whittaker is slowly being sucked into the morass of middle age. A negligent landlord, small-time literary journal editor, and aspiring novelist, he is--quite literally--authoring his own downfall. From his letters, diary entries, and fragments of fiction, to grocery lists and posted signs, this novel is a collection of everything Whittaker commits to paper over the course of four critical months. Beginning in July, during the economic hardships of the Nixon era, we witness our hero hounded by tenants and creditors, harassed by a loathsome local arts group, and tormented by his ex-wife. In this tragicomic portrait of a literary life, Sam Savage proves that all the evidence is in the writing, that all the world is, indeed, a stage, and that escape from the mind's prison requires a command performance.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.