Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 18, 2014

    Lin Enger: IMG Knowing vs. Knowing



    On a hot July evening years ago, my Toyota Tercel overheated on a flat stretch of highway north of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A steam geyser shot up from... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
4 Beaverton Children's Young Adult- Paranormal
7 Burnside ROSE- 658/ENDCAP658EndCap
9 Burnside DISP- CH- HOL- CASE F
7 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General
6 Burnside ROSE- 600/CASE9600
7 Burnside DISP- CH- HOL- CASE G
6 Hawthorne Children's Young Adult- General
16 Local Warehouse Children's- Scary Stories
25 Remote Warehouse Children's- Scary Stories

This title in other editions

Ten

by

Ten Cover

ISBN13: 9780062118790
ISBN10: 006211879x
All Product Details

 

Staff Pick

Looking for a good fright? This book has all the hallmarks of a horror film, and a great twist at the end. McNeil gets all the details of the Puget Sound spot on, making it spooky in how familiar it feels.
Recommended by Erin D., Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

"From Facebook to YA book: K.A. Harringtons Forget Me is a psychological thriller inspired by Facebooks facial recognition software."--Entertainment Weekly

 

Morgan never minded her boyfriend Flynns dark and private nature. She found it mysterious and alluring. But now hes dead, and she cant move on. She feels much like her dying town, Rivers End, with its overgrown amusement park and abandoned houses: once happy . . . now fading away.

Hoping for some closure, Morgan uploads her only picture of Flynn to the social media site FriendShare along with a note to say good-bye. But shes shocked when the facial recognition software suggests she tag him as Evan Murphy. Shes never heard of Evan. A quick search reveals that he lives in a nearby town and looks exactly like Flynn. Same eyes, nose, jawline. Only this boy is very much alive. Digging through layers of secrets, Morgan questions everything she thought she knew about her town, her boyfriend, and even her parents involvement in this massive web of lies.

 

Synopsis:

It was supposed to be the weekend of their lives—three days on Henry Island at an exclusive house party. Best friends Meg and Minnie each have their own reasons for wanting to be there, which involve their school's most eligible bachelor, T.J. Fletcher, and look forward to three glorious days of boys, bonding, and fun-filled luxury.

But what they expect is definitely not what they get. Suddenly, people are dying, and with a storm raging outside, the teens are cut off from the rest of the world. No electricity, no phones, no internet, and a ferry that isn't scheduled to return for days. As the deaths become more violent and the teens turn on one another, can Meg find the killer before more people die? Or is the killer closer to her than she ever imagined?

Synopsis:

From Possess author Gretchen McNeil comes this teen horror novel inspired by Agatha Christies And Then There Were None. Perfect for fans of Christopher Pikes Chain Letter and Lois Duncans I Know What You Did Last Summer, Ten will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very last page!

It was supposed to be the weekend of their lives—an exclusive house party on Henry Island. Best friends Meg and Minnie are looking forward to two days of boys, booze, and fun-filled luxury. But what starts out as fun turns twisted after the discovery of a DVD with a sinister message: Vengeance is mine. And things only get worse from there.

With a storm raging outside, the teens are cut off from the outside world . . . so when a mysterious killer begins picking them off one by one, theres no escape. As the deaths become more violent and the teens turn on one another, can Meg find the killer before more people die? Or is the killer closer to her than she could ever imagine?

About the Author

Gretchen McNeil is the author of Ten and Possess. She is also a former coloratura soprano, is the voice of Mary on G4's Code Monkeys, and currently sings with the L.A.-based circus troupe Cirque Berzerk. She is a founding member of vlog group the YARebels—where she can be seen as "Monday"—and is an active member of the Enchanted Inkpot, a group blog of YA and middle-grade fantasy writers.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Cayden W, December 15, 2013 (view all comments by Cayden W)
Ten teenagers are on an island that is completely isolated from the rest of the world. To them, it sounds like a perfect weekend. However, the unexpecting teens are dying one by one. As the deaths become more violent, the teens start blaming each other. With extremely gripping twists and turns, Meg, the main character, tries to track down the killer.
I loved this book because it was gripping and it was very hard to keep from reading. Ten was also complicated, yet I could still understand it. The author, Gretchen McNeil, includes details that are so vivid, I can see the story in my head. I would recommend this book to someone who likes fast moving, gripping, horror books or movies. I would also recommend this book to someone who wants a good scare.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062118790
Author:
Mcneil, Gretchen
Publisher:
Balzer + Bray
Author:
Harrington, K.A.
Subject:
Horror & Ghost Stories
Subject:
Children s-Scary Stories
Subject:
Mysteries & Detective Stories
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback
Publication Date:
20130917
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 8
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 13

Other books you might like

  1. Mink River
    Used Trade Paper $12.95
  2. Last Go Round Used Trade Paper $7.95
  3. Sometimes a Great Notion Used Mass Market $6.50

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Scary Stories » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Paranormal
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship
Young Adult » General

Ten New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.99 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - English 9780062118790 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

Looking for a good fright? This book has all the hallmarks of a horror film, and a great twist at the end. McNeil gets all the details of the Puget Sound spot on, making it spooky in how familiar it feels.

"Synopsis" by , It was supposed to be the weekend of their lives—three days on Henry Island at an exclusive house party. Best friends Meg and Minnie each have their own reasons for wanting to be there, which involve their school's most eligible bachelor, T.J. Fletcher, and look forward to three glorious days of boys, bonding, and fun-filled luxury.

But what they expect is definitely not what they get. Suddenly, people are dying, and with a storm raging outside, the teens are cut off from the rest of the world. No electricity, no phones, no internet, and a ferry that isn't scheduled to return for days. As the deaths become more violent and the teens turn on one another, can Meg find the killer before more people die? Or is the killer closer to her than she ever imagined?

"Synopsis" by , From Possess author Gretchen McNeil comes this teen horror novel inspired by Agatha Christies And Then There Were None. Perfect for fans of Christopher Pikes Chain Letter and Lois Duncans I Know What You Did Last Summer, Ten will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very last page!

It was supposed to be the weekend of their lives—an exclusive house party on Henry Island. Best friends Meg and Minnie are looking forward to two days of boys, booze, and fun-filled luxury. But what starts out as fun turns twisted after the discovery of a DVD with a sinister message: Vengeance is mine. And things only get worse from there.

With a storm raging outside, the teens are cut off from the outside world . . . so when a mysterious killer begins picking them off one by one, theres no escape. As the deaths become more violent and the teens turn on one another, can Meg find the killer before more people die? Or is the killer closer to her than she could ever imagine?

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.