It's Raining Books Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 18, 2014

Lin Enger: IMG Knowing vs. Knowing



On a hot July evening years ago, my Toyota Tercel overheated on a flat stretch of highway north of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A steam geyser shot up from... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The High Divide

    Lin Enger 9781616203757

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$22.00
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
25 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z
19 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

A Separate Peace

by

A Separate Peace  Cover

ISBN13: 9780684833668
ISBN10: 0684833662
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A ripped-from-the-headlines story about teens and steroids.

From a New York Times bestselling sports writer comes the story of one boy's quest to stay true to himself without letting down his team. Jack and his father have never seen eye to eye…until Jacks dad gives him the chance to transfer to Oakhurst his junior year. His dad sees it as a way for Jack to get into a good college; Jack sees it as refuge from his dad.

 

Oakhurst is more than an escape—it's a chance for Jack to do something new, to try out for the football team. Once Jack makes the team, hes thrust into a foreign world—one of intense hazing, vitamin supplements, monkey hormones and steroids. Jack has to decide how far he's willing to go to fit in—and how much he's willing to compromise himself to be the man his team wants him to be.

Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

Praise for ALWAYS A CATCH:

"Richmond has written an above-average story that will appeal to fans of the genre and authors, such as Mike Lupica and Tim Green."--School Library Journal

  

"A dynamic but thoughtful novel of self-discovery."--Kirkus Reviews

Synopsis:

An American classic and great bestseller for over thirty years, A Separate Peace is timeless in its description of adolescence during a period when the entire country was losing its innocence to the second world war.

Set at a boys’ boarding school in New England during the early years of World War II, A Separate Peace is a harrowing and luminous parable of the dark side of adolescence. Gene is a lonely, introverted intellectual. Phineas is a handsome, taunting, daredevil athlete. What happens between the two friends one summer, like the war itself, banishes the innocence of these boys and their world.

A bestseller for more than thirty years, A Separate Peace is John Knowles’s crowning achievement and an undisputed American classic.

Synopsis:

John Knowles' beloved classic has been a bestseller for more than 30 years and is one of the most moving and accurate novels about the trials and confusions of adolescence ever written. Set at an elite boarding school for boys during World War II, A Separate Peace is the story of friendship and treachery, and how a tragic accident involving two young men forever tarnishes their innocence.

About the Author

John Knowles, who died in 2001, was a graduate of Phillips Exeter Academy and Yale University, as well as a recipient of the William Faulkner Award and the Rosenthal Award of the National Institute of Arts and Letters.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

crowyhead, August 29, 2008 (view all comments by crowyhead)
One of the community challenges on the LiveJournal 50 Book Challenge community last month was to read a book that one was assigned in highschool and disliked, and discover whether it was still as unlikeable.

A Separate Peace was one of those books I clearly remembered actually throwing across the room when I finished it, but there were also images and incidents from the novel that had stuck with me ever since. It seemed like a good candidate for re-reading.

I'm glad I did. There really are wonderful images and incidents here, and up until the last twenty pages or so I couldn't recall quite what had ticked me off so much when I read it years ago. Then I got to the end. I'd forgotten that Knowles basically decided that the metaphors and themes were not obvious enough already, so he pounds on them all for the last chapters of the book, removing most of the subtlety and nuance. I didn't detest the book as much this time around, but I did remember why it had gone across the room -- I felt at the time that it insulted my intelligence and that the author took an easy out at the end, and I still feel the same way, to a certain extent.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780684833668
Author:
Knowles, John
Publisher:
Scribner Book Company
Author:
Richmond, Peter
Location:
New York :
Subject:
General
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Boys
Subject:
Friendship
Subject:
Classics
Subject:
British and irish fiction (fictional works by
Subject:
Death
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
New hampshire
Subject:
New Hampshire Fiction.
Subject:
Bildungsromane.
Subject:
Preparatory school students
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Bildungsromans
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Exeter, Philips Exeter Academy, Gore Vidal, American classic, Peter Yates, New England, World War II, Gene, Phineas, Finny, Leper, Lepellier, West Point, Brinker, PTSD, Devon School, Playing Fields, Rosenthal Award, National Institute of Arts and Letters,
Subject:
Exeter, Philips Exeter Academy, Gore Vidal, American classic, Peter Yates, New England, World War II, Gene, Phineas, Finny, Leper, Lepellier, West Point, Brinker, PTSD, Devon School, Playing Fields, Rosenthal Award, National Institute of Arts and Letters,
Subject:
Exeter, Philips Exeter Academy, Gore Vidal, American classic, Peter Yates, New England, World War II, Gene, Phineas, Finny, Leper, Lepellier, West Point, Brinker, PTSD, Devon School, Playing Fields, Rosenthal Award, National Institute of Arts and Letters,
Subject:
Exeter, Philips Exeter Academy, Gore Vidal, American classic, Peter Yates, New England, World War II, Gene, Phineas, Finny, Leper, Lepellier, West Point, Brinker, PTSD, Devon School, Playing Fields, Rosenthal Award, National Institute of Arts and Letters,
Subject:
Football
Subject:
Exeter, Philips Exeter Academy, Gore Vidal, American classic, Peter Yates, New England, World War II, Gene, Phineas, Finny, Leper, Lepellier, West Point, Brinker, PTSD, Devon School, Playing Fields, Rosenthal Award, National Institute of Arts and Letters,
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Classic Edition
Series:
Scribner Classics
Series Volume:
no. 202
Publication Date:
October 1996
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
208
Dimensions:
8.44 x 5.5 in 10.885 oz
Age Level:
from 12

Other books you might like

  1. Animal Farm
    Used Mass Market $4.50
  2. Stand Before Your God: An American... Used Trade Paper $5.50
  3. Lord of the Flies: Great Books...
    Used Trade Paper $10.50
  4. To Kill a Mockingbird
    Used Mass Market $5.50
  5. The Chocolate War
    Used Mass Market $3.95
  6. The Joy Luck Club Used Trade Paper $2.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
History and Social Science » World History » General

A Separate Peace New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$22.00 In Stock
Product details 208 pages Scribner Book Company - English 9780684833668 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , An American classic and great bestseller for over thirty years, A Separate Peace is timeless in its description of adolescence during a period when the entire country was losing its innocence to the second world war.

Set at a boys’ boarding school in New England during the early years of World War II, A Separate Peace is a harrowing and luminous parable of the dark side of adolescence. Gene is a lonely, introverted intellectual. Phineas is a handsome, taunting, daredevil athlete. What happens between the two friends one summer, like the war itself, banishes the innocence of these boys and their world.

A bestseller for more than thirty years, A Separate Peace is John Knowles’s crowning achievement and an undisputed American classic.

"Synopsis" by , John Knowles' beloved classic has been a bestseller for more than 30 years and is one of the most moving and accurate novels about the trials and confusions of adolescence ever written. Set at an elite boarding school for boys during World War II, A Separate Peace is the story of friendship and treachery, and how a tragic accident involving two young men forever tarnishes their innocence.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.