No Words Wasted Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | January 6, 2015

    Matt Burgess: IMG 35 Seconds



    Late at night on September 22, 2014, at a housing project basketball court in Brooklyn, a white cop pushes a black man against a chain link fence.... Continue »
    1. $18.17 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Uncle Janice

      Matt Burgess 9780385536806

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.99
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
14 Remote Warehouse Children's- General

I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You

by

I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The NERDS series combines the excitement of international espionage with the awkwardness of elementary school as it follows the adventures of a group of unpopular fifth graders who run a spy network from inside their school. With the help of cutting-edge science, they transform their nerdy qualities into incredible abilities, and the results are awesome, inspiring—and hilarious.

This third installment in the series stars Matilda “Wheezer” Choi, the asthmatic who can fly and kick butt courtesy of her nanobyte-enhanced inhalers. Matilda loves pro wrestling and hates anything “girlie.” Unfortunately for Wheezer, when a former-NERD-turned-villain gets extensive plastic surgery in order to become a cheerleader, Matilda must swallow her pride to successfully infiltrate the squad. The villain with pom-poms, Gerdie Baker, has created a device that opens portals to other worlds, and if Matilda doesn’t find a way to destroy it, the fates of all the worlds will be at stake.

Praise for NERDS: The Cheerleaders of Doom

“Fans of the series will gladly recognize how the mayhem of the plot is well matched by a surfeit of quips and general goofiness of the highest order” –Booklist

“This series has gotten better with each book and I can't recommend it highly enough.” –Book Dads blog

Review:

"Set in a spy school for girls, this entertaining novel centers on 15-year-old Cammie, the headmistress's daughter, who must decide if she is cut out for a life of secrets. Though the plot takes a while to unfold, fun details and characters will keep readers engaged (Cammie and her friends speak 14 languages, take classes in Covert Operations, can rappel down buildings and plant tracking devices). But when Cammie, known as the Chameleon for her ability to disappear in public places, is spotted by a cute boy named Josh in the middle of the town fair, she begins a new mission: learning to be an ordinary girlfriend ('All these years I'd thought being a spy was challenging. Turns out, being a girl is the tricky part'). Cammie soon leads a double life, and must decide which one is right for her. Readers may find some details familiar (Cammie lost her spy father during a mission; her CoveOps teacher is a handsome, intense man who seems to get along too well with her mother) and wish that rich, bratty Macey, a new recruit who is 'capable of cracking the Y chromosome code,' had been developed more fully. But the author escalates the tension well, leading to the night of the final exam, where Cammie finds herself blindfolded, kidnapped and facing off against the retired spies of the faculty — and also confronting Josh. Readers will eagerly anticipate the next installment. Ages 12-up." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

The Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women is a fairly typical all-girls' school--except that it's a school for spies. Sophomore Cammie Morgan is fluent in 144 languages and capable of killing a man. Yet she embarks on her most dangerous mission--she's falling in love.

Synopsis:

A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter

Avery West's newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.

To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle—beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family--but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she's falling in love with. 

 

Synopsis:

Matilda and#8220;Wheezerand#8221; Choi, the asthmatic who can fly and kick butt courtesy of her nanobyte-enhanced inhalers, loves pro wrestling and hates anything and#8220;girlie.and#8221; Maybe thatand#8217;s because she grew up with six brothersand#8212;or maybe itand#8217;s because her home life has become a battle zone in the conflict between her parents. Unfortunately for Wheezer, when a former member of NERDS turned villain gets extensive plastic surgery in order to become a cheerleader, Matilda must swallow her pride to successfully infiltrate the squad.

The newest supervillain, Gerdie Baker, assisted by the criminal mastermind Simon, has created a device that opens portals to other worlds, which she and the other cheerleaders have been pillaging. But the alternate realities are starting to get awfully close together, so itand#8217;s up to Wheezer and the NERDS to stop the cheerleaders before the worlds collide.

About the Author

Erin Dionne is the author of Models Don't Eat Chocolate Cookies, The Total Tragedy of a Girl Named Hamlet, and Notes from an Accidental Band Geek. She broke her share of rules as a kid, and has always been fascinated with real-life mysteries. When not writing about the miseries, mysteries, and magic of middle school, or teaching Liberal Arts at a small college north of Boston, Erin catches Red Sox games and rocks out to local Boston bands. She lives with her husband and two children in Framingham, Massachusetts.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781423100034
Author:
Carter, Ally
Publisher:
Putnam Juvenile
Author:
Hall, Maggie
Author:
Dionne, Erin
Author:
Buckley, Michael
Author:
Beavers, Ethen
Subject:
General
Subject:
Mysteries, Espionage, & Detective Stories
Subject:
Schools
Subject:
Love & Romance
Subject:
Spies
Subject:
Children s 12-Up - Fiction - Espionage
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Subject:
Children s Middle Readers-General
Subject:
Mysteries & Detective Stories
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Gallagher Girls
Publication Date:
20150113
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Illustrations:
20 BandW illustrations
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 x 1 in
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Cathy's Book: If Found Call (650)...
    Used Hardcover $7.50
  2. Plan B Used Trade Paper $7.50
  3. Inside the Mind of Gideon Rayburn Used Trade Paper $2.95
  4. Cathy's Book: If Found Call (650)... Used Trade Paper $1.48
  5. Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  6. Sweet Miss Honeywell's Revenge: A...
    Used Trade Paper $3.95

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Young Adult » General

I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.99 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Hyperion Books - English 9781423100034 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Set in a spy school for girls, this entertaining novel centers on 15-year-old Cammie, the headmistress's daughter, who must decide if she is cut out for a life of secrets. Though the plot takes a while to unfold, fun details and characters will keep readers engaged (Cammie and her friends speak 14 languages, take classes in Covert Operations, can rappel down buildings and plant tracking devices). But when Cammie, known as the Chameleon for her ability to disappear in public places, is spotted by a cute boy named Josh in the middle of the town fair, she begins a new mission: learning to be an ordinary girlfriend ('All these years I'd thought being a spy was challenging. Turns out, being a girl is the tricky part'). Cammie soon leads a double life, and must decide which one is right for her. Readers may find some details familiar (Cammie lost her spy father during a mission; her CoveOps teacher is a handsome, intense man who seems to get along too well with her mother) and wish that rich, bratty Macey, a new recruit who is 'capable of cracking the Y chromosome code,' had been developed more fully. But the author escalates the tension well, leading to the night of the final exam, where Cammie finds herself blindfolded, kidnapped and facing off against the retired spies of the faculty — and also confronting Josh. Readers will eagerly anticipate the next installment. Ages 12-up." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , The Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women is a fairly typical all-girls' school--except that it's a school for spies. Sophomore Cammie Morgan is fluent in 144 languages and capable of killing a man. Yet she embarks on her most dangerous mission--she's falling in love.
"Synopsis" by ,
A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter

Avery West's newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.

To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle—beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family--but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she's falling in love with. 

 

"Synopsis" by , Matilda and#8220;Wheezerand#8221; Choi, the asthmatic who can fly and kick butt courtesy of her nanobyte-enhanced inhalers, loves pro wrestling and hates anything and#8220;girlie.and#8221; Maybe thatand#8217;s because she grew up with six brothersand#8212;or maybe itand#8217;s because her home life has become a battle zone in the conflict between her parents. Unfortunately for Wheezer, when a former member of NERDS turned villain gets extensive plastic surgery in order to become a cheerleader, Matilda must swallow her pride to successfully infiltrate the squad.

The newest supervillain, Gerdie Baker, assisted by the criminal mastermind Simon, has created a device that opens portals to other worlds, which she and the other cheerleaders have been pillaging. But the alternate realities are starting to get awfully close together, so itand#8217;s up to Wheezer and the NERDS to stop the cheerleaders before the worlds collide.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.