The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$14.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
1 Remote Warehouse Popular Fiction- Suspense
11 Remote Warehouse Popular Fiction- Suspense

Blackbox: A Novel in 840 Chapters

by

Blackbox: A Novel in 840 Chapters Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Cross a road, take a train, or get on an airplane and you put your life in the hands of a stranger — every bit as screwed up, every bit as fallible and as human as you are. Then the person turns out not to be a stranger at all, and suddenly it's much worse.

In America and Britain and the sky in between, an apparently disparate group of people is connected, whether intimately or by chance, to the tragic death of a stowaway on board flight AF266.

As the action veers across countries and time zones, the stowaway's real identity is revealed through stolen black box recordings, answering machine messages, sitcom outtakes, and court transcripts. Told in a shifting, circular narrative, the interwoven lives make up a jolting and layered puzzle that builds to a heart-stopping, chilling climax.

An intelligent and invigorating novel with a bizarre menu of dysfunctional characters, Blackbox is the story of an attempt to erase a life on tape.

Review:

"A clever, filmic black comedy....[Walker's] characters are brilliant, his dialogue sparkles, and it's hilarious." The Guardian (U.K.)

Review:

"One of the year's outstanding debuts." Time Out (London)

Review:

"[Walker] behaves as if he is enjoying himself enormously while writing this. The plot makes its revelations at such breakneck speed." The Times (London)

Review:

"Invigorating....Funny enough to let you almost forget the tragedy that lies at its heart." Sunday Herald (U.K.)

Review:

"[Walker] offers...an active imagination and wild morbidity, a sense of Ballardian mythology and wonder...and prose of pared distinction." The Guardian Unlimited (U.K.)

Review:

"Highly original....Walker controls the loose, filmic structure beautifully, drawing us in to what is a gripping and compelling novel." The List (Glasgow)

Review:

"An intense conceptual cosmic thriller." The Big Issue (London)

Review:

"Genuinely original (and how often can you say that?), Blackbox is a masterpiece of loose-limbed, confident storytelling." Patrick Neate, author of Twelve Bar Blues, winner of the 2001 Whitbread Novel Award

Synopsis:

A dark, complex and stunning debut in the tradition of Palahniuk and Ballard — a highly-original, wildly morbid and hysterically tragic masterpiece of loose-limbed, confident storytelling.

Synopsis:

A dark, complex, and stunning debut novel in the tradition of Palahniuk and Ballard, this is a highly original and wildly morbid story about a disparate group of people connected by an airplane accident.

About the Author

Nick Walker is a writer and performer with Talking Birds, a UK mixed-media production company. He has an acute fear of flying and lives in England.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780060532246
Subtitle:
A Novel in 840 Chapters
Author:
Walker, Nick
Publisher:
Harper Paperbacks
Location:
New York
Subject:
Air pilots
Subject:
Suspense
Subject:
Psychological fiction
Subject:
Flight recorders
Subject:
Birmingham (england)
Subject:
Stowaways.
Subject:
Birmingham
Subject:
Aircraft accident victims
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Suspense
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st U.S. ed.
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Series Volume:
107-561
Publication Date:
September 2003
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
7.98x5.34x.73 in. .51 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Man with the Golden Arm
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  2. Dermaphoria
    Used Hardcover $9.50
  3. Concrete Island Used Mass Market $5.50
  4. Martha Peake: A Novel of the Revolution Used Trade Paper $5.50
  5. Brave New World and Brave New World...
    Used Trade Paper $8.95
  6. The Rum Diary
    Used Trade Paper $3.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Suspense

Blackbox: A Novel in 840 Chapters New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$14.99 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Perennial (HarperCollins) - English 9780060532246 Reviews:
"Review" by , "A clever, filmic black comedy....[Walker's] characters are brilliant, his dialogue sparkles, and it's hilarious."
"Review" by , "One of the year's outstanding debuts."
"Review" by , "[Walker] behaves as if he is enjoying himself enormously while writing this. The plot makes its revelations at such breakneck speed."
"Review" by , "Invigorating....Funny enough to let you almost forget the tragedy that lies at its heart."
"Review" by , "[Walker] offers...an active imagination and wild morbidity, a sense of Ballardian mythology and wonder...and prose of pared distinction."
"Review" by , "Highly original....Walker controls the loose, filmic structure beautifully, drawing us in to what is a gripping and compelling novel."
"Review" by , "An intense conceptual cosmic thriller."
"Review" by , "Genuinely original (and how often can you say that?), Blackbox is a masterpiece of loose-limbed, confident storytelling."
"Synopsis" by , A dark, complex and stunning debut in the tradition of Palahniuk and Ballard — a highly-original, wildly morbid and hysterically tragic masterpiece of loose-limbed, confident storytelling.
"Synopsis" by , A dark, complex, and stunning debut novel in the tradition of Palahniuk and Ballard, this is a highly original and wildly morbid story about a disparate group of people connected by an airplane accident.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.