Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | July 29, 2015

    Edward Carey: IMG 10 Best Books by Writer-Illustrators



    As a child who loved books I was fascinated by the illustrations just as much as the text. The same is true for me today, and I'm happy to be among... Continue »
    1. $11.89 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Foulsham (Iremonger Series #2)

      Edward Carey 9781468309546

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$34.99
New Compact Disc
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
3 Remote Warehouse Economics- General

The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and at Home

by

The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and at Home Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The provocative follow-up to the New York Times bestseller Predictably Irrational
  • Why can large bonuses make CEOs less productive?
  • How can confusing directions actually help us?
  • Why is revenge so important to us?
  • Why is there such a big difference between what we think will make us happy and what really makes us happy?

In his groundbreaking book Predictably Irrational, social scientist Dan Ariely revealed the multiple biases that lead us into making unwise decisions. Now, in The Upside of Irrationality, he exposes the surprising negative and positive effects irrationality can have on our lives. Focusing on our behaviors at work and in relationships, he offers new insights and eye-opening truths about what really motivates us on the job, how one unwise action can become a long-term habit, how we learn to love the ones we're with, and more.

Drawing on the same experimental methods that made Predictably Irrational one of the most talked-about bestsellers of the past few years, Ariely uses data from his own original and entertaining experiments to draw arresting conclusions about how—and why—we behave the way we do. From our office attitudes, to our romantic relationships, to our search for purpose in life, Ariely explains how to break through our negative patterns of thought and behavior to make better decisions. The Upside of Irrationality will change the way we see ourselves at work and at home—and cast our irrational behaviors in a more nuanced light.

Review:

"Arielly examines the powerful sway that irrational motivations and urges have on our personal and professional lives. His discussion mixes both his personal experiences and a variety of research, including many experiments performed by him and colleagues. With his crisp English accent and assertive delivery, Simon Jones can be wonderful to listen to for much of the book. However, his own personality is so overpowering that it becomes difficult to remember that the conclusions are the author's--not the reader's. The difficulty to discern the authorial voice behind the narrator's is made more problematic as a creeping arrogance creeps into Jones's reading that the writer clearly did not intend. A Harper hardcover (Reviews, Apr. 12). (June)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)

Synopsis:

Drawing on the same experimental methods that made "Predictably Irrational" such a hit, Ariely emphasizes the important role that irrationality plays in our day-to-day decision-making--not just in the financial marketplace but in the most personal aspects of our lives.

Synopsis:

“Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act.” — James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds

Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely returns to offer a much-needed take on the irrational decisions that influence our dating lives, our workplace experiences, and our temptation to cheat in any and all areas. Fans of Freakonomics, Survival of the Sickest, and Malcolm Gladwells Blink and The Tipping Point will find many thought-provoking insights in The Upside of Irrationality.

About the Author

Dan Ariely is the James B. Duke Professor of Psychology and Behavioral Economics at Duke University, and is the founder of the Center for Advanced Hindsight. His work has been featured in the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, and elsewhere. He lives in North Carolina with his family.

Simon Jones has been featured in nine Broadway productions, was Bridey in PBS's Brideshead Revisited, and the voice of Arthur Dent in the acclaimed Hitchhiker's Guide series.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062009937
Author:
Ariely, Dan
Publisher:
HarperAudio
Read by:
Jones, Simon
Read:
Jones, Simon
Read:
Tbd
Author:
N
Author:
Ariely, Da
Author:
Tbd
Author:
McIntosh, Fiona
Author:
Jones, Simon
Subject:
Business Life - Inspirational
Subject:
Popular Culture - General
Subject:
Probability & Statistics - General
Subject:
Audiobooks
Subject:
Logic
Subject:
General Business & Economics
Subject:
Fantasy - General
Subject:
Business Writing
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Audio
Publication Date:
20100631
Binding:
COMPACT DISC
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
480
Dimensions:
11 x 8.5 in 53.52 oz
Media Run Time:
540

Related Subjects

» Arts and Entertainment » Humor » General
» Business » General
» Business » Management
» Business » Writing
» History and Social Science » Sociology » General
» Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » Probability and Statistics » General
» Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » Probability and Statistics » Statistics

The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and at Home New Compact Disc
0 stars - 0 reviews
$34.99 In Stock
Product details 480 pages HarperAudio - English 9780062009937 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Arielly examines the powerful sway that irrational motivations and urges have on our personal and professional lives. His discussion mixes both his personal experiences and a variety of research, including many experiments performed by him and colleagues. With his crisp English accent and assertive delivery, Simon Jones can be wonderful to listen to for much of the book. However, his own personality is so overpowering that it becomes difficult to remember that the conclusions are the author's--not the reader's. The difficulty to discern the authorial voice behind the narrator's is made more problematic as a creeping arrogance creeps into Jones's reading that the writer clearly did not intend. A Harper hardcover (Reviews, Apr. 12). (June)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
"Synopsis" by , Drawing on the same experimental methods that made "Predictably Irrational" such a hit, Ariely emphasizes the important role that irrationality plays in our day-to-day decision-making--not just in the financial marketplace but in the most personal aspects of our lives.
"Synopsis" by , “Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act.” — James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds

Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely returns to offer a much-needed take on the irrational decisions that influence our dating lives, our workplace experiences, and our temptation to cheat in any and all areas. Fans of Freakonomics, Survival of the Sickest, and Malcolm Gladwells Blink and The Tipping Point will find many thought-provoking insights in The Upside of Irrationality.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.