Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 5, 2014

    William Gibson: IMG William Gibson: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
25 Local Warehouse Literature- Coming of Age
25 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

The Secret Life of Bees

by

The Secret Life of Bees Cover

ISBN13: 9780143114550
ISBN10: 0143114557
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Sue Monk Kidds The Secret Life of Bees, a heartwarming coming of age tale set in 1960s South Carolina, a multi-million copy New York Times bestseller, now an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys

Fans of  Kathryn Stocketts The Help and Beth Hoffmans Saving CeeCee Honeycutt will love Sue Monk Kidds Southern coming of age tale. The Secret Life of Bees was a New York Times bestseller for more than 125 weeks, a Good Morning America “Read This” Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys. Set in South Carolina in 1964, The Secret Life of Bees tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed.

When Lily's fierce-hearted black "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina—a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love—a story that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.

Synopsis:

Sue Monk Kidd is an extraordinary storyteller. In "The Secret Life of Bees," she explores a young girl's search for the truth about her mother; her courage to tear down racial barriers; and her joy as she claims her place within a community of women. "Beautifully written."--Ursula Hegi, author of "The Vision of Emma Blau."

Synopsis:

A big-hearted coming-of-age debut set in civil rights-era New Orleans—a novel of Southern eccentricity and secrets

 

When Ibby Bells father dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother Fannie and throws in her fathers urn for good measure. Fannies New Orleans house is like no place Ibby has ever been—and Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylum—is like no one she has ever met. Fortunately, Fannies black cook, Queenie, and her smart-mouthed daughter, Dollbaby, take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets.

 

For Fannies own family history is fraught with tragedy, hidden behind the closed rooms in her ornate Uptown mansion. It will take Ibbys arrival to begin to unlock the mysteries there. And it will take Queenie and Dollbabys hard-won wisdom to show Ibby that family can sometimes be found in the least expected places.

 

For fans of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and The Help, Dollbaby brings to life the charm and unrest of 1960s New Orleans through the eyes of a young girl learning to understand race for the first time.

 

By turns uplifting and funny, poignant and full of verve, Dollbaby is a novel readers will take to their hearts.

Synopsis:

Make this your next book club selection and everyone saves.

Get 15% off when you order 5 or more of this title for your book club.

Simply enter the coupon code KIDDSECRET at checkout.

This offer does not apply to eBook purchases. This offer applies to only one downloadable audio per purchase.

View our feature on Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees.

Sue Monk Kidd's ravishing debut novel has stolen the hearts of reviewers and readers alike with its strong, assured voice. Set in South Carolina in 1964, The Secret Life of Bees tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed. When Lily's fierce-hearted "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's fiercest racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina—a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love—a story that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.

About the Author

SUE MONK KIDD is the author of the New York Times bestselling novels, The Secret Life of Bees and The Mermaid Chair, and the memoirs Traveling with Pomegranates, which she wrote with her daughter Ann Kidd Taylor, The Dance of the Dissident Daughter, When the Heart Waits, as well as Firstlight, a collection of her early writings. The Secret Life of Bees has spent more than 125 weeks on the New York Times bestseller list and was adapted into an award-winning movie starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys. The Mermaid Chair, a #1 New York Times bestseller, was adapted into a television movie. Both of her novels have been translated into more than 24 languages. The recipient of numerous literary awards, Sue lives with her husband on an island off the coast of Florida.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 4 comments:

Anne O, January 13, 2010 (view all comments by Anne O)
Beautifully written with both humor and wonderful emotional insight. I'm in the over-50 crowd, but would recommend this for all ages.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
Anne O, January 13, 2010 (view all comments by Anne O)
Beautifully written with both humor and wonderful emotional insight. I'm in the over-50 crowd, but would recommend this for all ages.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
scoop, January 3, 2010 (view all comments by scoop)
Sue Monk Kidd speaks with a voice that I instantly liked & responded to in "The Secret Life of Bees". She writes with eloquence & accessability while transporting the reader to another place & time. It's a harsh time in our recent history, but the human landscape is what brings it straight to your heart. These women will entertain, delight & stun you with their perserverence in the face of the difficulties of the times. I absolutely cherish this book & have recommended it to many of my friends.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 4 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143114550
Subtitle:
A Novel
Author:
Kidd, Sue Monk
Author:
McNeal, Laura Lane
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Sisters
Subject:
Teenage girls
Subject:
Domestic fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Literature-Coming of Age
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
20150623
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
8 x 5.31 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. The Passion of Artemisia Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. Three Junes
    Used Hardcover $2.95
  3. Life of Pi
    Used Mass Market $3.50
  4. Kite Runner Used Trade Paper $3.95
  5. The Virgin Blue
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  6. The Curious Incident of the Dog in... Used Trade Paper $6.95

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » African American » Historical
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Coming of Age
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Family Life

The Secret Life of Bees New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.00 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143114550 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Sue Monk Kidd is an extraordinary storyteller. In "The Secret Life of Bees," she explores a young girl's search for the truth about her mother; her courage to tear down racial barriers; and her joy as she claims her place within a community of women. "Beautifully written."--Ursula Hegi, author of "The Vision of Emma Blau."
"Synopsis" by ,
A big-hearted coming-of-age debut set in civil rights-era New Orleans—a novel of Southern eccentricity and secrets

 

When Ibby Bells father dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother Fannie and throws in her fathers urn for good measure. Fannies New Orleans house is like no place Ibby has ever been—and Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylum—is like no one she has ever met. Fortunately, Fannies black cook, Queenie, and her smart-mouthed daughter, Dollbaby, take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets.

 

For Fannies own family history is fraught with tragedy, hidden behind the closed rooms in her ornate Uptown mansion. It will take Ibbys arrival to begin to unlock the mysteries there. And it will take Queenie and Dollbabys hard-won wisdom to show Ibby that family can sometimes be found in the least expected places.

 

For fans of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and The Help, Dollbaby brings to life the charm and unrest of 1960s New Orleans through the eyes of a young girl learning to understand race for the first time.

 

By turns uplifting and funny, poignant and full of verve, Dollbaby is a novel readers will take to their hearts.

"Synopsis" by ,
Make this your next book club selection and everyone saves.

Get 15% off when you order 5 or more of this title for your book club.

Simply enter the coupon code KIDDSECRET at checkout.

This offer does not apply to eBook purchases. This offer applies to only one downloadable audio per purchase.

View our feature on Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees.

Sue Monk Kidd's ravishing debut novel has stolen the hearts of reviewers and readers alike with its strong, assured voice. Set in South Carolina in 1964, The Secret Life of Bees tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed. When Lily's fierce-hearted "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's fiercest racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina—a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love—a story that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.