25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 6, 2014

Graham Joyce: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Graham Joyce



The Ghost in the Electric Blue Suit is set on the English coast in the hot summer of 1976, so the music in this playlist is pretty much all from the... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer

The Secret Life of Bees (Penguin Drop Caps)

by

The Secret Life of Bees (Penguin Drop Caps) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From A to Z, the Penguin Drop Caps series collects 26 unique hardcovers — featuring cover art by Jessica Hische.

It all begins with a letter. Fall in love with Penguin Drop Caps, a new series of twenty-six collectible and hardcover editions, each with a type cover showcasing a gorgeously illustrated letter of the alphabet. In a design collaboration between Jessica Hische and Penguin Art Director Paul Buckley, the series features unique cover art by Hische, a superstar in the world of type design and illustration, whose work has appeared everywhere from Tiffany and Co. to Wes Anderson's recent film Moonrise Kingdom to Penguin's own bestsellers Committed and Rules of Civility. With exclusive designs that have never before appeared on Hische's hugely popular Daily Drop Cap blog, the Penguin Drop Caps series launches with six perennial favorites to give as elegant gifts, or to showcase on your own shelves.

K is for Kidd. Set in South Carolina during the tumultuous summer of 1964, The Secret Life of Bees also ushered young Lily Owens, a girl transformed by the power and divinity of the female spirit, into the canon of modern-day heroines. Lily and her fierce-hearted black “stand-in mother” escape the racism of their hometown and find refuge with an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters, whose world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna is mesmerizing.

Review:

"Kidd's lovely prose, passion for the spiritual life, and early instincts for telling a compelling story should help this book attract a wide readership." Publishers Weekly, starred review

Review:

"Thoughtful, moving, often luminous meditations on faith, family, death, and love; on compassion, solitude, and grace." Booklist

Synopsis:

Set in South Carolina in 1964, The Secret Life of Bees will appeal to fans of Kathryn Stockett’s The Help and Beth Hoffman’s Saving CeeCee Honeycutt, and tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed.

When Lily's fierce-hearted black "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina — a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love — a story that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.

About the Author

Sue Monk Kidd is the award-winning and bestselling author of the novels The Secret Life of Bees and The Mermaid Chair, the memoirs When the Heart Waits, The Dance of the Dissident, and Traveling with Pomegranates, which she wrote with her daughter Ann Kidd Taylor, as well as Firstlight, a collection of her early writings. She lives on an island off the coast of Florida with her husband.

Jessica Hische is a letterer, illustrator, typographer, and web designer. She currently serves on the Type Directors Club board of directors, has been named a Forbes Magazine "30 under 30" in art and design as well as an ADC Young Gun and one of Print Magazines "New Visual Artists". She has designed for Wes Anderson, McSweeney's, Tiffany and Co, Penguin Books and many others. She resides primarily in San Francisco, occasionally in Brooklyn.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143124320
Author:
Kidd, Sue Monk
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Artist:
Hische, Jessica
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Personal Transformation
Subject:
Psychological
Subject:
Romance - General
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Literature-Coming of Age
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series:
Penguin Drop Caps
Publication Date:
20130531
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
7.9 x 5.3 x 0.65 in 0.42 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Introducing RDA: A Guide to the Basics Used Trade Paper $34.00
  2. Jasper Jones Used Trade Paper $4.95
  3. Transatlantic Used Trade Paper $10.95
  4. Lord of the Flies (Penguin Drop Caps) New Hardcover $22.00
  5. An Artist of the Floating World... New Hardcover $20.00
  6. Siddhartha (Penguin Drop Caps) New Hardcover $20.00

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » African American » Historical
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Coming of Age
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Family Life

The Secret Life of Bees (Penguin Drop Caps) New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$23.00 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143124320 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Kidd's lovely prose, passion for the spiritual life, and early instincts for telling a compelling story should help this book attract a wide readership."
"Review" by , "Thoughtful, moving, often luminous meditations on faith, family, death, and love; on compassion, solitude, and grace."
"Synopsis" by , Set in South Carolina in 1964, The Secret Life of Bees will appeal to fans of Kathryn Stockett’s The Help and Beth Hoffman’s Saving CeeCee Honeycutt, and tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed.

When Lily's fierce-hearted black "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina — a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love — a story that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.