25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 21, 2014

Richard Bausch: IMG Why Literature Can Save Us



Our title is, of course, a problem. "Why Literature Can Save Us." And of course the problem is one of definition: what those words mean. What is... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Before, During, After

    Richard Bausch 9780307266262

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.99
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
3 Remote Warehouse Children's Animals- Animal Stories- Elephants
17 Remote Warehouse Children's- Beginning Readers

More copies of this ISBN

Hopper and Wilson

by

Hopper and Wilson Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A fun-filled introduction to maps through the eyes of an adorable pig

Henry is a very particular sort of pig. "A place for everything and everything in its place," he always says. But when he looks out his window he is troubled. The farm is a mess!  Henry is worried that nobody will be able to find anything in this mess. So he draws a map showing all the animals exactly where they belong.  And Henry embarks on a journey through the farm, his friends tagging along as he creates his map: sheep in the woolshed, chickens in the coop, the horse in the stable. After the map is complete, Henry uses it to bring himself back home, where he is relieved to know that he is exactly where he belongs. A place for everything and everything in its place, indeed.

For fans of Zen Shorts by Jon J. Muth or of Winnie the Pooh, this sweet romp through the farm is adorably illustrated by David Elliot, who created the endearing animals who inhabit Brian Jacques world of Redwall.  Perfect for pre-schoolers and elemetary-schoolers learning to read maps for the first time.

Review:

"Hopper, a stuffed blue elephant, and his chum Wilson, a yellow mouse, set off in a newspaper boat in search of the end of the world. Hopper goes overboard in a storm, though, and Wilson has to canvass some sea turtles ('I lost my friend Hopper. Have you seen him by chance?'), a penguin ('He's a big guy. Funny ears'), and a 'giant fish' (it's a whale) before he and Hopper are reunited. Instead of finding the end of the world and fulfilling their wishes (Wilson wanted lots of lemonade; Hopper wanted to touch the moon), they arrive back at home, tired but satisfied. Van Lieshout (Bloom!), a gifted illustrator, plays up the suspense of the separation with lots of space in the spreads and long waits; even when Wilson receives a clue that Hopper is nearby (the string from his friend's red balloon), Hopper doesn't appear for another two pages. While the underlying message is cautious — Hopper and Wilson's friendship and safety are more important than their dreams — van Lieshout's story is filled with adventure, emotion, and imagery that supplies lots of effervescent warmth. Ages 3 — 5. (July)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

An elephant and a mouse embark on a journey to discover what it looks like at the end of the world.

Synopsis:

A fun-filled introduction to maps through the eyes of an adorable pig

Henry is a very particular sort of pig. "A place for everything and everything in its place," he always says. But when he looks out his window he is troubled. The farm is a mess!  Henry is worried that nobody will be able to find anything in this mess. So he draws a map showing all the animals exactly where they belong.  And Henry embarks on a journey through the farm, his friends tagging along as he creates his map: sheep in the woolshed, chickens in the coop, the horse in the stable. After the map is complete, Henry uses it to bring himself back home, where he is relieved to know that he is exactly where he belongs. A place for everything and everything in its place, indeed.

For fans of Zen Shorts by Jon J. Muth or of Winnie the Pooh, this sweet romp through the farm is adorably illustrated by David Elliot, who created the endearing animals who inhabit Brian Jacques world of Redwall.  Perfect for pre-schoolers and elemetary-schoolers learning to read maps for the first time.

Synopsis:

A beautiful book about friendship and the specialness of home, now in board book form!

“What,” Hopper asks his little friend Wilson, “do you think it’s like at the end of the world?” Hopper, the blue elephant, imagines a staircase to the moon, while Wilson, the yellow mouse, hopes for an endless supply of lemonade. So the two sail off in a boat made of paper . . . only to discover they already have everything they could wish for in each other, and at home.

The adorable art, simple text, and clean design will appeal to toddlers and elementary-schoolers alike. A perfect story for fans of Lost and Found by Oliver Jeffers. 

About the Author

Maria van Lieshout (www.mariavanlieshout.com) lives in San Francisco, California.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780399251849
Author:
Van Lieshout, Maria
Publisher:
Philomel Books
Author:
Cordell, Matthew
Author:
Tiffany Strelitz Haber
Author:
Lieshout, Maria Van
Author:
Elliot, David
Author:
Strelitz Haber, Tiffany
Subject:
Animals - Elephants
Subject:
Animals - Mice Hamsters Guinea Pigs etc.
Subject:
Transportation - Boats, Ships & Underwater Craft
Subject:
Mice
Subject:
Elephants
Subject:
Children s Animals-Animal Stories-Elephants
Subject:
Animals - Dogs
Subject:
Animals - General
Subject:
Animals - Farm Animals
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Picture book
Publication Date:
20110531
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from P up to K
Language:
English
Illustrations:
YES
Pages:
32
Dimensions:
5.65 x 5.15 x 1.5 in 0.52 lb
Age Level:
04-05

Related Subjects

Children's » Animals » Elephants
Children's » Animals » Mice, Hamsters, Guinea Pigs, etc.
Children's » Picture Books » A to Z
Children's » Picture Books » General
Children's » Transportation » Boats, Ships and Underwater Craft

Hopper and Wilson New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.99 In Stock
Product details 32 pages Philomel Books - English 9780399251849 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Hopper, a stuffed blue elephant, and his chum Wilson, a yellow mouse, set off in a newspaper boat in search of the end of the world. Hopper goes overboard in a storm, though, and Wilson has to canvass some sea turtles ('I lost my friend Hopper. Have you seen him by chance?'), a penguin ('He's a big guy. Funny ears'), and a 'giant fish' (it's a whale) before he and Hopper are reunited. Instead of finding the end of the world and fulfilling their wishes (Wilson wanted lots of lemonade; Hopper wanted to touch the moon), they arrive back at home, tired but satisfied. Van Lieshout (Bloom!), a gifted illustrator, plays up the suspense of the separation with lots of space in the spreads and long waits; even when Wilson receives a clue that Hopper is nearby (the string from his friend's red balloon), Hopper doesn't appear for another two pages. While the underlying message is cautious — Hopper and Wilson's friendship and safety are more important than their dreams — van Lieshout's story is filled with adventure, emotion, and imagery that supplies lots of effervescent warmth. Ages 3 — 5. (July)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , An elephant and a mouse embark on a journey to discover what it looks like at the end of the world.
"Synopsis" by ,
A fun-filled introduction to maps through the eyes of an adorable pig

Henry is a very particular sort of pig. "A place for everything and everything in its place," he always says. But when he looks out his window he is troubled. The farm is a mess!  Henry is worried that nobody will be able to find anything in this mess. So he draws a map showing all the animals exactly where they belong.  And Henry embarks on a journey through the farm, his friends tagging along as he creates his map: sheep in the woolshed, chickens in the coop, the horse in the stable. After the map is complete, Henry uses it to bring himself back home, where he is relieved to know that he is exactly where he belongs. A place for everything and everything in its place, indeed.

For fans of Zen Shorts by Jon J. Muth or of Winnie the Pooh, this sweet romp through the farm is adorably illustrated by David Elliot, who created the endearing animals who inhabit Brian Jacques world of Redwall.  Perfect for pre-schoolers and elemetary-schoolers learning to read maps for the first time.

"Synopsis" by ,
A beautiful book about friendship and the specialness of home, now in board book form!

“What,” Hopper asks his little friend Wilson, “do you think it’s like at the end of the world?” Hopper, the blue elephant, imagines a staircase to the moon, while Wilson, the yellow mouse, hopes for an endless supply of lemonade. So the two sail off in a boat made of paper . . . only to discover they already have everything they could wish for in each other, and at home.

The adorable art, simple text, and clean design will appeal to toddlers and elementary-schoolers alike. A perfect story for fans of Lost and Found by Oliver Jeffers. 

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.