Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 6, 2014

Graham Joyce: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Graham Joyce



The Ghost in the Electric Blue Suit is set on the English coast in the hot summer of 1976, so the music in this playlist is pretty much all from the... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$24.00
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
11 Local Warehouse Literature- Contemporary Women
24 Remote Warehouse Literature- Contemporary Women

More copies of this ISBN

Buying in

by

Buying in Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Its October 2007, and twenty-two-year-old Sophie Landgraf is a small-town girl who hopes her new job as a Wall Street analyst will be her ticket to the American elite. She knew that giving her life over to the bank would be hard on her boyfriend, family, and friends, but she hadn't realized it would send her into a spiral of self-doubt. After four months in this fast-paced, male-dominated world, Sophie is floundering—and things are about to get worse.

 

Boom times cant last forever. With the crash looming and layoffs inevitable, Sophies attractive but ruthless boss Ethan Pearce pulls her into a multibillion-dollar merger that could make or break their careers. The problem? Ethan, devoted family-man Vasu Kumar, and straight-talking Ohio executive Jake Hutchinson each have very different reasons for advancing the merger, and Sophie doesnt know who to trust. When the deal goes awry, she must decide how far shell go to get what she wants.

 

Set inside the fortresses of high finance, Manhattans after-hours clubs, and factories in the Midwest and India, this is the high-powered, heartfelt story of a young woman finding her footing on Wall Street as it crumbles underneath her. Written by an industry veteran, Buying In tackles what it means to be a woman in a mans world, and how to survive in big business without sacrificing who you are.

Review:

"The world of high finance provides a thrilling setting for Hemphill's fine debut about survival in a cutthroat business where millions of dollars are at stake and the wrong comment can cost you your job. Sophie Landgraf, from smalltown Massachusetts, lands a lucrative Wall Street job out of college as an analyst for Sterling, while her college boyfriend struggles to make ends meet at an entry-level position at NPR. Sophie befriends a colleague, Vasu Mehta, who, after seven years on the job, is used to the grueling work but longs to spend more time with his family. Ethan Pearce, their department's managing director, is a brilliant, suave, and cold-hearted wheeler and dealer who throws Sophie for a loop by bringing her into a major merger of aluminum companies. She forges a genuine connection with one of the deal's main players, AlumiCorp CEO Jake Hutchinson, who worked his way up from the plant floor 23 years prior. The author, who paid her own dues at Lehman Brothers and other firms, clearly knows her way around Wall Street, but, more importantly, can make us care about her characters' successes and failures, against a formidable backdrop rife with competition, backstabbing, and soul-searching. Agent: Amanda Urban, ICM." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

For fans of Liars Poker and Den of Thieves, a debut novel about one womans adventures on Wall Street, and how risking everything for her job turned out to be the best gamble she ever made.

Synopsis:

Bright, ambitious Sophie Landgraf has landed a job as a Wall Street analyst. The small-town girl finally has her ticket to the American elite, but she doesnt real­ize the toll it will take—on her boyfriend, on her family, and on her. It isnt long before Sophie is floundering in this male-dominated world, and things are about to get worse.

 

With the financial crisis looming, Sophie be­comes embroiled in a multibillion-dollar merger that could make or break her career. The problem? Three men at the top of their game, each with very different reasons for advancing the merger. Now Sophie doesnt know whom to trust—or how far shell go to get ahead.

 

Set inside the high-stakes world of finance, Manhattans after-hours clubs, and factories in the Midwest and India, this is the high-powered, heartfelt story of a young woman finding her foot­ing on Wall Street as it crumbles beneath her. Written by an industry veteran, Buying In tackles what it means to be a woman in a mans world, and how to survive in big business without sacri­ficing who you are.

Synopsis:

Buying In is a novel of ambition and survival on Wall Street, written by an insider. Sophie Landgraf is floundering after four months at male-dominated Sterling & Sons—and things are about to get worse.

Its October 2007; layoffs are imminent as boom times grind to a halt. Sophie teams up with her boss, attractive but secretive Ethan Pearce, and striving immigrant Vasu Kumar to advance a meritless, multibillion-dollar merger between two failing aluminum companies in a last-ditch attempt to generate fees and save their jobs.

This high-powered yet heartfelt novel is set in the headquarters of Sterling & Sons, with sojourns to Manhattans exclusive after-hours clubs and aluminum smelters in the Midwest and India. 

Buying In tackles what it means to be a woman in a mans world, how well we really know our colleagues, and our struggle to reconcile our personal and professional identities in todays work-dominated world.

About the Author

After graduating from Yale, LAURA HEMPHILL spent seven years on Wall Street, where she worked at Lehman Brothers, Credit Suisse, and Dune Capital.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780544114579
Author:
Hemphill, Laura
Publisher:
New Harvest
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Literature-Contemporary Women
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Publication Date:
20131131
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb

Other books you might like

  1. The Big Poster Book of Hindu... New Trade Paper $24.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Contemporary Women
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » General

Buying in New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$24.00 In Stock
Product details 304 pages New Harvest - English 9780544114579 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "The world of high finance provides a thrilling setting for Hemphill's fine debut about survival in a cutthroat business where millions of dollars are at stake and the wrong comment can cost you your job. Sophie Landgraf, from smalltown Massachusetts, lands a lucrative Wall Street job out of college as an analyst for Sterling, while her college boyfriend struggles to make ends meet at an entry-level position at NPR. Sophie befriends a colleague, Vasu Mehta, who, after seven years on the job, is used to the grueling work but longs to spend more time with his family. Ethan Pearce, their department's managing director, is a brilliant, suave, and cold-hearted wheeler and dealer who throws Sophie for a loop by bringing her into a major merger of aluminum companies. She forges a genuine connection with one of the deal's main players, AlumiCorp CEO Jake Hutchinson, who worked his way up from the plant floor 23 years prior. The author, who paid her own dues at Lehman Brothers and other firms, clearly knows her way around Wall Street, but, more importantly, can make us care about her characters' successes and failures, against a formidable backdrop rife with competition, backstabbing, and soul-searching. Agent: Amanda Urban, ICM." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,

For fans of Liars Poker and Den of Thieves, a debut novel about one womans adventures on Wall Street, and how risking everything for her job turned out to be the best gamble she ever made.

"Synopsis" by , Bright, ambitious Sophie Landgraf has landed a job as a Wall Street analyst. The small-town girl finally has her ticket to the American elite, but she doesnt real­ize the toll it will take—on her boyfriend, on her family, and on her. It isnt long before Sophie is floundering in this male-dominated world, and things are about to get worse.

 

With the financial crisis looming, Sophie be­comes embroiled in a multibillion-dollar merger that could make or break her career. The problem? Three men at the top of their game, each with very different reasons for advancing the merger. Now Sophie doesnt know whom to trust—or how far shell go to get ahead.

 

Set inside the high-stakes world of finance, Manhattans after-hours clubs, and factories in the Midwest and India, this is the high-powered, heartfelt story of a young woman finding her foot­ing on Wall Street as it crumbles beneath her. Written by an industry veteran, Buying In tackles what it means to be a woman in a mans world, and how to survive in big business without sacri­ficing who you are.

"Synopsis" by , Buying In is a novel of ambition and survival on Wall Street, written by an insider. Sophie Landgraf is floundering after four months at male-dominated Sterling & Sons—and things are about to get worse.

Its October 2007; layoffs are imminent as boom times grind to a halt. Sophie teams up with her boss, attractive but secretive Ethan Pearce, and striving immigrant Vasu Kumar to advance a meritless, multibillion-dollar merger between two failing aluminum companies in a last-ditch attempt to generate fees and save their jobs.

This high-powered yet heartfelt novel is set in the headquarters of Sterling & Sons, with sojourns to Manhattans exclusive after-hours clubs and aluminum smelters in the Midwest and India. 

Buying In tackles what it means to be a woman in a mans world, how well we really know our colleagues, and our struggle to reconcile our personal and professional identities in todays work-dominated world.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.