Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | Yesterday, 10:00am

Jessica Valenti: IMG Full Frontal Feminism Revisited



It is arguably the worst and best time to be a feminist. In the years since I first wrote Full Frontal Feminism, we've seen a huge cultural shift in... Continue »
  1. $11.90 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$35.00
New Compact Disc
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
5 Remote Warehouse Children's Middle Readers- General

The Pirate's Coin: A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure (Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures)

by

The Pirate's Coin: A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure (Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Fans of magic, mystery, and adventure will love the third The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure—a perfect next step for kids who love the Magic Tree House series, and just right for readers who love Chasing Vermeer, The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, and Wonderstruck. Sixth Graders Ruthie and Jack return to the Art Institute of Chicago's magical Thorne Rooms. During a school presentation, Ruthie and Jack discover that their classmate Kendra is descended from Phoebe Monroe, the young slave they befriended when they traveled to 19th-century South Carolina. Kendra tells them that long ago her family lost their good name and their business selling herbal remedies when mobsters accused them of stealing the recipes! Only Ruthie and Jack know the truth--because only they know about the secret ledger that Phoebe wrote the recipes in long ago! Ruthie and Jack's mission to clear Kendra's name takes them back to the Thorne Rooms, where a mysterious old coin leads them to 1753 Cape Cod and to Jack's own ancestor . . . the pirate Jack Norfleet! But playing with history can be dangerous! Suddenly, Jack's very existence is in jeopardy! Can Ruthie and Jack find the proof they need to help Kendra? And can they fix the past and save Jack's future . . . before it's too late?

Here's What People Are Saying about The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures!

The New York Times:

"Irresistible."

Chicago Sun-Times:

"Exhilarating."

Chicago Tribune:

"Marianne Malone has tapped into a fantasy that is . . . completely universal."

From the Hardcover edition.

Synopsis:

Fans of magic, mystery, and adventure will love the third The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure—a perfect next step for kids who love the Magic Tree House series, and just right for readers who love Chasing Vermeer, The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, and Wonderstruck. Sixth Graders Ruthie and Jack return to the Art Institute of Chicago's magical Thorne Rooms. During a school presentation, Ruthie and Jack discover that their classmate Kendra is descended from Phoebe Monroe, the young slave they befriended when they traveled to 19th-century South Carolina. Kendra tells them that long ago her family lost their good name and their business selling herbal remedies when mobsters accused them of stealing the recipes! Only Ruthie and Jack know the truth--because only they know about the secret ledger that Phoebe wrote the recipes in long ago! Ruthie and Jack's mission to clear Kendra's name takes them back to the Thorne Rooms, where a mysterious old coin leads them to 1753 Cape Cod and to Jack's own ancestor . . . the pirate Jack Norfleet! But playing with history can be dangerous! Suddenly, Jack's very existence is in jeopardy! Can Ruthie and Jack find the proof they need to help Kendra? And can they fix the past and save Jack's future . . . before it's too late?

Here's What People Are Saying about The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures!

The New York Times:

"Irresistible."

Chicago Sun-Times:

"Exhilarating."

Chicago Tribune:

"Marianne Malone has tapped into a fantasy that is . . . completely universal."

From the Hardcover edition.

About the Author

MARIANNE MALONE is the mother of three grown children, a former art teacher, and cofounder of the Campus School Middle School for Girls in Urbana, Illinois. She is currently working on the fourth Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure. For Teacher's Guides (including common core tie-ins) and more, visit MarianneMalone.com.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780804121606
Author:
Malone, Marianne
Publisher:
Listening Library
Author:
Campbell, Cassandra
Subject:
Art/Architecture
Subject:
Children s-Adventure Stories
Subject:
Mysteries & Detective Stories
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Five CD
Publication Date:
20130531
Binding:
COMPACT DISC
Grade Level:
from 3 up to 7
Language:
English
Dimensions:
5.05 x 6.07 x 1.15 in 0.37 lb
Age Level:
from 8 up to 12

Related Subjects

Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Art » General
Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General

The Pirate's Coin: A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure (Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures) New Compact Disc
0 stars - 0 reviews
$35.00 In Stock
Product details pages Listening Library - English 9780804121606 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Fans of magic, mystery, and adventure will love the third The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure—a perfect next step for kids who love the Magic Tree House series, and just right for readers who love Chasing Vermeer, The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, and Wonderstruck. Sixth Graders Ruthie and Jack return to the Art Institute of Chicago's magical Thorne Rooms. During a school presentation, Ruthie and Jack discover that their classmate Kendra is descended from Phoebe Monroe, the young slave they befriended when they traveled to 19th-century South Carolina. Kendra tells them that long ago her family lost their good name and their business selling herbal remedies when mobsters accused them of stealing the recipes! Only Ruthie and Jack know the truth--because only they know about the secret ledger that Phoebe wrote the recipes in long ago! Ruthie and Jack's mission to clear Kendra's name takes them back to the Thorne Rooms, where a mysterious old coin leads them to 1753 Cape Cod and to Jack's own ancestor . . . the pirate Jack Norfleet! But playing with history can be dangerous! Suddenly, Jack's very existence is in jeopardy! Can Ruthie and Jack find the proof they need to help Kendra? And can they fix the past and save Jack's future . . . before it's too late?

Here's What People Are Saying about The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures!

The New York Times:

"Irresistible."

Chicago Sun-Times:

"Exhilarating."

Chicago Tribune:

"Marianne Malone has tapped into a fantasy that is . . . completely universal."

From the Hardcover edition.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.