25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 8, 2014

Peter Mendelsund: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Water Music by Peter Mendelsund



We "see" when we read, and we "see" when we listen. There are many ways in which music can create the cross-sensory experience of this seeing...... Continue »
  1. $11.87 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$150.00
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
1 Remote Warehouse Poetry- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

Time of Useful Consciousness: Signed Limited Edition

by

Time of Useful Consciousness: Signed Limited Edition Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

New Directions is proud to announce a riveting and galvanizing new book by Lawrence Ferlinghetti. At ninety-three, he shows more power than most any other poet at work today. Ferlinghetti describes his new book, Time of Useful Consciousness, as “a fragmented recording of the American stream-of-consciousness, always westward streaming; a people’s poetic history in the tradition of William Carlos Williams’ Paterson, Charles Olson’s Maximus, Allen Ginsberg’s Fall of America, and Ed Sanders’ America: a History in Verse. ‘Time of Useful Consciousness, is an aeronautical term denoting the time between when one loses oxygen and when one passes out, the brief time in which some life-saving action is possible.”Ferlinghetti’s first book since Poetry as Insurgent Art, the fierce and immediate Time of Useful Consciousness presents poetry written “in ways that those who see poetry as the province of the few and educated had never imagined” (The New York Times Book Review).

Synopsis:

Lawrence Ferlinghetti's first book since Poetry as Insurgent Art, a new call to action and a vivid picture of civilization moving towards its brink.

About the Author

Lawrence Ferlinghetti was born in Yonkers, New York, in 1919. After receiving an A.B. degree in journalism from the University of North Carolina, an M.A. from Columbia University, and a stint in the Navy during World War II, and after working in the mail room at Time Magazine and living in Paris where he received a Doctorat de l'Universite from the Sorbonne, Ferlinghetti eventually settled in San Francisco, where he and Peter D. Martin founded the first all-paperback bookstore in the country, City Lights Books. Besides being named San Francisco's first poet laureate, he has received The Before Columbus Foundation "Lifetime Achievement Award." Most recently he has also been writing a weekly column, "Poetry as News," for the San Francisco Chronicle Book Review.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780811220651
Subtitle:
Limited Edition
Author:
Ferlinghetti, Lawrence
Author:
Ferlinghetti, Lawrence
Publisher:
New Directions
Subject:
Single Author / American
Subject:
Poetry-A to Z
Copyright:
Publication Date:
20121226
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 9 up to 17
Language:
English
Illustrations:
2 Color, numbered and signed
Pages:
90
Dimensions:
8 x 5 in

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Poetry » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Poetry » Locked Case
Rare Books » Fiction and Poetry » Literature

Time of Useful Consciousness: Signed Limited Edition New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$150.00 In Stock
Product details 90 pages New Directions - English 9780811220651 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Lawrence Ferlinghetti's first book since Poetry as Insurgent Art, a new call to action and a vivid picture of civilization moving towards its brink.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.