Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$25.25
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
4 Remote Warehouse Children's- General

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian (Literacy Bridge Young Adult)

by

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian (Literacy Bridge Young Adult) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In his first book for young adults, bestselling author Sherman Alexie tells the story of Junior, a budding cartoonist growing up on the Spokane Indian Reservation. Determined to take his future into his own hands, Junior leaves his troubled school on the rez to attend an all-white farm town high school where the only other Indian is the school mascot. Heartbreaking, funny, and beautifully written, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, which is based on the author's own experiences, coupled with poignant drawings by acclaimed artist Ellen Forney, that reflect the character's art, chronicles the contemporary adolescence of one Native American boy as he attempts to break away from the life he was destined to live.

Synopsis:

Based on the authors own experiences, this first young adult novel by bestselling author Alexie features poignant drawings by acclaimed artist Ellen Forney that reflect the characters art as it chronicles the contemporary adolescence of one Native American boy attempting to break away from the life he was destined to live.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Jena, May 27, 2009 (view all comments by Jena)
Though there were some things in the book I was skeptical of (the extent of his post-birth brain injury, for example), the truth is in the characters--the way his best friend reacts to his enrolling in a school off the rez, the way Junior finally sees the rez from a bigger perspective than as an inhabitant of it, and how people not on the rez have their share of problems, too. Fans of both Sherman Alexie and Chris Crutcher should definitely read this book.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(0 of 4 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9781410404992
Author:
Alexie, Sherman
Publisher:
Thorndike Press
Illustrator:
Forney, Ellen
Subject:
Indians of north america
Subject:
Diaries
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Fiction - General
Subject:
Race relations
Subject:
Large type books
Subject:
Children s humor
Copyright:
Large Print:
Y
Series:
Thorndike Literacy Bridge Young Adult
Publication Date:
20080331
Binding:
Hardcover
Language:
English
Illustrations:
, Y
Pages:
301
Dimensions:
8.50x5.94x.97 in. 1.01 lbs.
Age Level:
12-17

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Humor

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian (Literacy Bridge Young Adult) New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$25.25 In Stock
Product details 301 pages Thorndike Press - English 9781410404992 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Based on the authors own experiences, this first young adult novel by bestselling author Alexie features poignant drawings by acclaimed artist Ellen Forney that reflect the characters art as it chronicles the contemporary adolescence of one Native American boy attempting to break away from the life he was destined to live.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.