25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 8, 2014

Peter Mendelsund: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Water Music by Peter Mendelsund



We "see" when we read, and we "see" when we listen. There are many ways in which music can create the cross-sensory experience of this seeing...... Continue »
  1. $11.87 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$15.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Humor- Narrative
1 Burnside Humor- Narrative
20 Local Warehouse Humor- Anthologies
8 Remote Warehouse Humor- General

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

The Death of Cool: From Teenage Rebellion to the Hangover of Adulthood

by

The Death of Cool: From Teenage Rebellion to the Hangover of Adulthood Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A laugh-out-loud chronicle of extreme-but-true stories, featuring drunken fist fights, Satanic punk bands, afternoons on heroin, and multiple threesomes—perfect for readers of Tucker Max and Chuck Klosterman.

Though technically a memoir, this is more a compendium of hair-whitening bar stories that punch you in the throat until your eyes explode. Many people have watched their friends die and some have been to jail. There are those who have stepped in the ring with professional fighters and been beaten within an inch of their lives. Others have created media empires. Very few have done all this and embarrassed dozens of celebrities; enjoyed more than a couple of threesomes; consistently attracted a million views with viral comedy videos; and said, “Jesus is gay,” on national television.

There certainly isn’t anyone with this kind of life experience who can convey each tale in such a hilarious and endearing way. Whether he’s watching his friend ingest massive amounts of acid or snorting cocaine off women’s breasts, Gavin McInnes only ever has one priority: maximum laughs. He’s not here to tell you how wise his father is or how hard it was to achieve his success—he’s just here to make you laugh so hard you puke. And as Samantha Bee says, “I loved this book, though it may have given my eyeballs gonorrhea.”

Synopsis:

Gavin McInnes is more than just a rude lunatic who keeps getting beat up. He is an icon who personifies irreverence for an entire generation. This is his story, or, rather, stories—lots of them, and all gut-punchingly hilarious, from that first far reach into a girl’s tight jeans to turning forty with a cataclysmic party. In between you’ll read about acid trips, threesomes, Nazi skinheads, his band Anal Chinook (Inuit for “warm wind”), Martians in northern Canada, throwing pedophiles in jail, dinner with the Clash, what happens when you crash Bill Maher’s show wasted, and the true story of Vice magazine. A gifted writer and a born storyteller, McInnes has lived his life without apology. Learn from it.

Synopsis:

A laugh-out-loud chronicle of extreme-but-true stories, featuring drunken fist fights, Satanic punk bands, afternoons on heroin, and multiple threesomes—perfect for readers of Tucker Max and Chuck Klosterman.

Though technically a memoir, this is more a compendium of hair-whitening bar stories that punch you in the throat until your eyes explode. Many people have watched their friends die and some have been to jail. There are those who have stepped in the ring with professional fighters and been beaten within an inch of their lives. Others have created media empires. Very few have done all this and embarrassed dozens of celebrities; enjoyed more than a couple of threesomes; consistently attracted a million views with viral comedy videos; and said, “Jesus is gay,” on national television.

There certainly isn’t anyone with this kind of life experience who can convey each tale in such a hilarious and endearing way. Whether he’s watching his friend ingest massive amounts of acid or snorting cocaine off women’s breasts, Gavin McInnes only ever has one priority: maximum laughs. He’s not here to tell you how wise his father is or how hard it was to achieve his success—he’s just here to make you laugh so hard you puke. And as Samantha Bee says, “I loved this book, though it may have given my eyeballs gonorrhea.”

About the Author

Gavin McInnes is a prankster, provocateur, and creator of contemporary, alternative pop culture. After ten issues of his award-winning comic Pervert and several years of singing in punk bands, Gavin created a small punk/skate ‘zine called, which became the multi-media conglomerate known as Vice. He wrote most of the articles in Vice for thirteen years and also penned their greatest hits book The Vice Guide to Sex, Drugs and Rock & Roll, as well as other Vice compilations, and most recently an esteemed volume titled Street Boners, based on his website streetcarnage.com. He is also currently developing several different television shows. Referred to as "The Godfather of hipsterdom" and "the primary architect of hipsterdom," McInnes is often credited with starting the Hipster movement mostly via Vice magazine’s “DOs & DON’Ts” column.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781451614183
Author:
Mcinnes, Gavin
Publisher:
Scribner Book Company
Author:
McInnes, Gavin
Subject:
General Humor
Subject:
Humor-Anthologies
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paperback
Publication Date:
20130731
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
8 x 5.25 in

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Anecdotes
Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Anthologies
Arts and Entertainment » Humor » General
Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Narrative
Biography » General

The Death of Cool: From Teenage Rebellion to the Hangover of Adulthood New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$15.00 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Scribner Book Company - English 9781451614183 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Gavin McInnes is more than just a rude lunatic who keeps getting beat up. He is an icon who personifies irreverence for an entire generation. This is his story, or, rather, stories—lots of them, and all gut-punchingly hilarious, from that first far reach into a girl’s tight jeans to turning forty with a cataclysmic party. In between you’ll read about acid trips, threesomes, Nazi skinheads, his band Anal Chinook (Inuit for “warm wind”), Martians in northern Canada, throwing pedophiles in jail, dinner with the Clash, what happens when you crash Bill Maher’s show wasted, and the true story of Vice magazine. A gifted writer and a born storyteller, McInnes has lived his life without apology. Learn from it.
"Synopsis" by , A laugh-out-loud chronicle of extreme-but-true stories, featuring drunken fist fights, Satanic punk bands, afternoons on heroin, and multiple threesomes—perfect for readers of Tucker Max and Chuck Klosterman.

Though technically a memoir, this is more a compendium of hair-whitening bar stories that punch you in the throat until your eyes explode. Many people have watched their friends die and some have been to jail. There are those who have stepped in the ring with professional fighters and been beaten within an inch of their lives. Others have created media empires. Very few have done all this and embarrassed dozens of celebrities; enjoyed more than a couple of threesomes; consistently attracted a million views with viral comedy videos; and said, “Jesus is gay,” on national television.

There certainly isn’t anyone with this kind of life experience who can convey each tale in such a hilarious and endearing way. Whether he’s watching his friend ingest massive amounts of acid or snorting cocaine off women’s breasts, Gavin McInnes only ever has one priority: maximum laughs. He’s not here to tell you how wise his father is or how hard it was to achieve his success—he’s just here to make you laugh so hard you puke. And as Samantha Bee says, “I loved this book, though it may have given my eyeballs gonorrhea.”

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.