Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | November 29, 2014

    Neil Patrick Harris: IMG Neil Patrick Harris: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer

On Order

$27.25
New Hardcover
Currently out of stock.
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Crime- Criminology

Into the Minds of Madmen: How the FBI's Behavioral Science Unit Revolutionized Crime Investigation

by

Into the Minds of Madmen: How the FBI's Behavioral Science Unit Revolutionized Crime Investigation Cover

ISBN13: 9781591021353
ISBN10: 1591021359
Condition:
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

When law enforcement struggles to solve a serial murder, arson, rape, or child abduction, and is making little headway, it turns to the FBIs legendary Behavioral Science Unit (BSU) at the FBI Academy in Quantico, Virginia. Over the past three decades, more than thirty members of this elite team have worked to capture countless elusive criminals. Rarely have they been appreciated. Never has their story been told.

Now, at the suggestion of Stephen Band, the current Chief of the BSU, the inside story has been written by John Campbell, former BSU Chief (1989-1992) and Don DeNevi, author of many highly acclaimed true-crime books. In a fascinating account, full of quiet heroics and grisly criminal details, the authors describe the difficult work of the tireless professionals who have devoted their careers to investigating and analyzing the deeds and personalities of the macabre psychopaths who haunt our streets.

In contrast to well-known fictional depictions, like The Silence of the Lambs and The X-Files, DeNevi and Campbells real-life perspective shows that the true story is more engrossing, indeed astonishing, than any movie or novel. The authors reveal how this crack unit developed a new technique, from a combination of psychological profiling and old-fashioned detective work, which succeeded in cracking a host of difficult cases, including serial murders, hostage taking, and terrorism. Readers experience what it is like to crawl into the twisted minds of notorious criminals, as psychological profilers must do to learn their motivations, patterns, and probable next move.

This unique oral history will provide fascinating reading for fans of C.S.I., Profiler, and other similar dramas, and is also a long overdue and fitting tribute to the heroic men and women of the Behavioral Science Unit, who fight everyday to keep Americans safe.

Book News Annotation:

DeNivi, who teaches and counsels the condemned on San Quentin's death row, and Campbell (criminal justice, St. Cloud U., Minnesota), the Unit's chief from 1989 to 1992, tell how the Unit, based at the FBI Academy in Quantico, Virginia, track down the perpetrators of such crimes as serial murder, arson, rape, and child abduction.
Annotation 2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Synopsis:

Includes bibliographical references (p. 399-413) and index.

Synopsis:

In a fascinating account, full of quiet heroics and grisly criminal details, the authors describe the difficult work of the tireless professionals who have devoted their careers to investigating and analyzing the deeds and personalities of the macabre psychopaths who haunt the nation's streets.

About the Author

Don DeNevi (Menlo Park, CA) is the author, or coauthor, of thirty-two books, including Mob Nemesis—How the FBI Crippled Organized Crime (with FBI Special Agent in Charge Joe Griffin) and Riddle of the Rock: The Only Successful Escape from Alcatraz. Having previously taught in the criminal justice department at San Francisco State University, he now teaches and counsels the condemned on San Quentins death row.

John H. Campbell, Ph.D. (St. Cloud, MN), is a professor in the criminal justice department at St. Cloud State University and the former Unit Chief of the FBIs Behavioral Science Unit.

Table of Contents

Mindset of A Murderer — The Predecessors — Supersleuths or Crazy Caballeros? — Pioneering Criminal Profiling — The Nine — "Sir, we don't have spit." — Spawning a Nationwide System to Track Serial Killers — "VICAP? Why, we're the farthest planet out there!" — The Art and Science of Profiling — "Helping Hands" — Replacing an Icon — Rider's Reign — The Present and the Future.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

vcucco, April 25, 2008 (view all comments by vcucco)
Working on my BA in Criminal Behavior, I find this title right on the mark. Even though there is some madness in us all, this allows us to differentiate between realities.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9781591021353
Foreword:
Band, Stephen
Publisher:
Prometheus Books
Foreword by:
Otto, John E.
Foreword:
Otto, John E.
Author:
DeNevi, Don
Author:
Campbell, John H.
Location:
Amherst, N.Y.
Subject:
General
Subject:
Murder
Subject:
History
Subject:
Criminology
Subject:
Forensic Science
Subject:
Criminal investigation
Subject:
Criminal behavior, Prediction of.
Subject:
Criminal profilers
Subject:
United States History.
Subject:
Crime-Criminology
Series Volume:
GTR-581
Publication Date:
20031131
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
438
Dimensions:
900x600

Other books you might like

  1. Without Conscience: The Disturbing...
    Used Trade Paper $10.00
  2. Why They Kill: The Discoveries of a... Used Hardcover $8.95
  3. In Cold Blood: A True Account of a...
    Used Trade Paper $7.95
  4. Medic One: Tales from the Jump Seat New Trade Paper $29.95

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Crime » Criminology
History and Social Science » Crime » Forensics and Evidence
History and Social Science » Crime » True Crime
History and Social Science » Politics » General

Into the Minds of Madmen: How the FBI's Behavioral Science Unit Revolutionized Crime Investigation New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$27.25 Backorder
Product details 438 pages Prometheus Books - English 9781591021353 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Includes bibliographical references (p. 399-413) and index.
"Synopsis" by , In a fascinating account, full of quiet heroics and grisly criminal details, the authors describe the difficult work of the tireless professionals who have devoted their careers to investigating and analyzing the deeds and personalities of the macabre psychopaths who haunt the nation's streets.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.