Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | July 16, 2015

    Annie Liontas: IMG "You Want Me to Smell My Fingers?": Five Unforgettable Greek Idioms



    The word "idiom" originates in the Greek word ídios ("one's own") and means "special feature" or "special phrasing." Idioms are peculiar because,... Continue »
    1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Let Me Explain You

      Annie Liontas 9781476789088

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$18.99
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
14 Local Warehouse Children's- General
12 Remote Warehouse Children's Young Adult- Social Issue Fiction

The Summer I Turned Pretty

by

The Summer I Turned Pretty Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Big-hearted Chloe Camden is the queen of her universe until her best friend shreds her reputation and her school counselor axes her junior independent study project. Chloe is forced to take on a meaningful project in order to pass, and so she joins her school’s struggling radio station, where the other students don’t find her too queenly. Ostracized by her former BFs and struggling with her beloved Grams’s mental deterioration, lonely Chloe ends up hosting a call-in show that gets the station much-needed publicity and, in the end, trouble. She also befriends radio techie and loner Duncan Moore, a quiet soul with a romantic heart. On and off the air, Chloe faces her loneliness and helps others find the fun and joy in everyday life. Readers will fall in love with Chloe as she falls in love with the radio station and the misfits who call it home.

Praise for Welcome, Caller, This is Chloe

Spring 2012 Indie Next List Children Selection

"Debut novelist Coriell shows sparkling wit and great skill in creating complex characters with memorable personalities. Chloe’s emotional growth is believable, and her attraction to a quiet, mysterious boy at the radio station adds spice and tension to the story."

Publishers Weekly

“This debut novel is more than it seems. Tough issues are addressed here, and the information is ladled out deftly.”

VOYA

“This is fun, lighthearted chick-lit that touches on drug abuse and tough family issues. Romance, personal growth, and friendships are central to the story line. A quick, enjoyable read.”

School Library Journal

“Looking for a fun, inspiring read? Then check out Welcome, Caller, This Is Chloe. Entertaining and full of heartrending moments, and the author has created interesting and unique characters. Even though this is more of a sparkling and humorous read, Welcome, Caller, This Is Chloe delves into some tough topics such as drug addiction and bullying. 5 stars”

North Valley Magazine

“It’s kinda like Mean Girls but with more shoes.”

Ashbury Park Sunday Press

Review:

"This well-written coming-of-age story introduces 15-year-old Isabel, aka Belly, for whom summer has always been the most important time of year: it's when her family shares a beach house with her mother's best friend, Susannah, and her two sons. Like Belly's older brother, Steven, Susannah's boys have always thought of Belly as their younger sister. But this summer — 'It was the summer everything began' — is different. One brother, Jeremiah, is suddenly interested in Belly, but she has always had a crush on dark and unattainable Conrad. And then there is Cam, also spending the summer at the beach, who becomes Belly's first boyfriend. Han (Shug) realistically balances Belly's navet with her awareness of the changes the years have brought ('In some ways it was even harder being the only girl back then. In some ways not'). Anecdotal chapters of past summers are interspersed, rounding out Belly's character, her attachment to Susannah and her desire for the boys to include her. First in a planned trilogy, Han's novel offers plenty of summertime drama to keep readers looking forward to the next installment. Ages 12 — up." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

Perfect for fans of Jenny Hans The Summer I Turned Pretty and Huntley Fitzpatricks My Life Next Door, Juliana Romano's expressive debut is an absorbing and bittersweet story about first love, first loss, and the friends that carry us through it all.

Lima and Hailey have always been best friends: Lima shy and sensitive, Hailey funny and free-spirited. But Hailey abandons Lima to party with the popular kids and pursue Nate, her disinterested crush. As their friendship falters, Lima and Nate begin spending more time together. And before Lima knows what shes feeling, she and Nate do something irreversible. Something that would hurt Hailey....if she knew it happened.

Lima thinks shes saving her friendship by lying, but shes only buying time. As the secrets stack up, Lima is forced to make a choice: between her best friend forever, and the boy who wasnt meant to be hers.

Synopsis:

The eagerly anticipated follow-up to My Life Next Door is a magnetic, push-me-pull-me summer romance for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han.

Gwen Castle's Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her idyllic Nantucket-esque island this summer. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past--or the island--Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true--about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself--with what really is.

Huntley Fitzpatrick delivers another enticing summer read full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions, and a romance that will make every reader swoon.

About the Author

Jenny Han — Han like Hawn, Goldie; or Han Solo — was born and raised in Richmond, Virginia. She graduated from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (Go Carolina!) and earned an MFA in writing for children at New School University. She enjoys cupcakes, Scrabble, and hip-hop music. She lives in New York City. This is her first novel.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781416968238
Author:
Han, Jenny
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing
Author:
Romano, Juliana
Author:
Coriell, Shelley
Author:
Fitzpatrick, Huntley
Subject:
General
Subject:
Vacation homes
Subject:
Beaches
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Subject:
Family - General
Subject:
Social Issues - Friendship
Subject:
Social Issues - Adolescence
Subject:
Friendship
Subject:
Coming of age
Subject:
Bildungsromans
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
Love & Romance
Subject:
Summer; Belly; Jeremiah; Conrad; Cousins Beach; beach house; love; romance; crush; Jenny Han; first date; ocean; swimming; sun; beach
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardcover w/Dust Jacket
Series:
Summer I Turned Pretty, The
Publication Date:
20090531
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 9
Language:
English
Illustrations:
f-c jacket
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in
Age Level:
08-12

Other books you might like

  1. Starclimber
    New Trade Paper $9.99
  2. Troubadour Used Hardcover $9.95
  3. Heroes of the Valley (Heroes of the...
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  4. The Ghosts of Kerfol Used Hardcover $7.95
  5. Red Moon at Sharpsburg Used Book Club Paperback $0.31
  6. Broken Soup Used Hardcover $9.00

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Adolescence
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship
Young Adult » General

The Summer I Turned Pretty New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$18.99 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing - English 9781416968238 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "This well-written coming-of-age story introduces 15-year-old Isabel, aka Belly, for whom summer has always been the most important time of year: it's when her family shares a beach house with her mother's best friend, Susannah, and her two sons. Like Belly's older brother, Steven, Susannah's boys have always thought of Belly as their younger sister. But this summer — 'It was the summer everything began' — is different. One brother, Jeremiah, is suddenly interested in Belly, but she has always had a crush on dark and unattainable Conrad. And then there is Cam, also spending the summer at the beach, who becomes Belly's first boyfriend. Han (Shug) realistically balances Belly's navet with her awareness of the changes the years have brought ('In some ways it was even harder being the only girl back then. In some ways not'). Anecdotal chapters of past summers are interspersed, rounding out Belly's character, her attachment to Susannah and her desire for the boys to include her. First in a planned trilogy, Han's novel offers plenty of summertime drama to keep readers looking forward to the next installment. Ages 12 — up." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by ,
Perfect for fans of Jenny Hans The Summer I Turned Pretty and Huntley Fitzpatricks My Life Next Door, Juliana Romano's expressive debut is an absorbing and bittersweet story about first love, first loss, and the friends that carry us through it all.

Lima and Hailey have always been best friends: Lima shy and sensitive, Hailey funny and free-spirited. But Hailey abandons Lima to party with the popular kids and pursue Nate, her disinterested crush. As their friendship falters, Lima and Nate begin spending more time together. And before Lima knows what shes feeling, she and Nate do something irreversible. Something that would hurt Hailey....if she knew it happened.

Lima thinks shes saving her friendship by lying, but shes only buying time. As the secrets stack up, Lima is forced to make a choice: between her best friend forever, and the boy who wasnt meant to be hers.

"Synopsis" by ,
The eagerly anticipated follow-up to My Life Next Door is a magnetic, push-me-pull-me summer romance for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han.

Gwen Castle's Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her idyllic Nantucket-esque island this summer. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past--or the island--Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true--about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself--with what really is.

Huntley Fitzpatrick delivers another enticing summer read full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions, and a romance that will make every reader swoon.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.