No Words Wasted Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | January 19, 2015

    Ned Beauman: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Ned Beauman



    I did have a playlist that I listened to over and over again while I was writing Glow, but three years on I'm a bit bored of those songs, which got... Continue »
    1. $18.17 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Glow

      Ned Beauman 9780385352604

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.99
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
10 Local Warehouse Children's- General
14 Remote Warehouse Children's- General

Bruiser

by

Bruiser Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

New York Times bestselling author Neal Shusterman delivers a suspenseful and thrilling novel that's perfect for fans of Unwind and UnWholly.

Tennyson is not surprised, really, when his family begins to fall apart, or when his twin sister, Brontë, starts dating the misunderstood bully, Brewster (or The Bruiser, as the entire high school calls him). Tennyson is determined to get to the bottom of The Bruiser's reputation, even if it means gearing up for a fight. Brontë, on the other hand, thinks there's something special underneath that tough exterior. And she's right…but neither she nor Tennyson is prepared for the truth of what lies below the surface. Told through Tennyson, Brontë, and Bruiser's points of view, this dark, twisting novel explores friendship, family, and the sacrifices we make for the people we love.

Bruiser was named to the Texas Lone Star Reading List, among many other state lists, and was selected as a Book Page Top Ten Book of the Year, a Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the Year, and a Cooperative Children's Book Center Choice.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Review:

"In this thought-provoking, low-key drama, Shusterman (Unwind) examines the bonds between family, friends, and community, and how the individual can affect the whole. Sixteen-year-old twins Tennyson and Brontë Sternberger aren't the closest of siblings, but Tennyson is concerned when his sister starts dating Brewster 'Bruiser' Rawlins, an antisocial delinquent from a dubious family. But as the Sternbergers grow closer to Bruiser, they discover his secret: he takes on the pain and injuries of those he cares about, healing them at his own expense, whether he wants to or not. He can even soothe emotional wounds--his mere presence is enough to save the twins' parents' fragmenting marriage--but the cost to Bruiser may be unbearable. Tennyson and Brontë must face the unintended consequences of their actions when disaster strikes and a lifetime of healing others takes its toll on their new friend. Even as the narrative wrestles with philosophical and moral issues, it delves deep into the viewpoints of Tennyson, Brontë, Bruiser, and his younger brother, each segment told in a different, distinctive style, making for a memorable story. Ages 14 — up. (July)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)

Synopsis:

Tennyson:
Don't get me started on the Bruiser. He was voted "Most Likely to Get the Death Penalty" by the entire school. He's the kid no one knows, no one talks to, and everyone hears disturbing rumors about. So why is my sister, Brontë, dating him? One of these days she's going to take in the wrong stray dog, and it's not going to end well.

Brontë:
My brother has no right to talk about Brewster that way—no right to threaten him. There's a reason why Brewster can't have friends—why he can't care about too many people. Because when he cares about you, things start to happen. Impossible things that can't be explained. I know, because they're happening to me.

Award-winning author Neal Shusterman has crafted a chilling and unforgettable novel about the power of unconditional friendship, the complex gear workings of a family, and the sacrifices we endure for the people we love.

About the Author

Neal Shusterman was born and raised in the heart of Brooklyn, New York, where he began writing at an early age as a creative alternative to stickball. At the age of eight, he sent his first story (something about a giant squid devouring Chicago) to E. B. White for approval. E. B. White told him that there were, in fact, no giant squid in Chicago, but he should keep writing anyway. He did.

Mr. Shusterman graduated from the University of California at Irvine with a degree in psychology. His first novel, The Shadow Club,was published in 1988 and received the International Reading Association Children's Choice Award. His other novels include Dissidentsand Speeding Bullet.In addition to novels, Mr. Shusterman enjoys writing stage plays, screenplays, and music. He lives with his wife and son in Los Angeles, where he spends too much time writing and not enough time vacationing.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061134081
Author:
Shusterman, Neal
Publisher:
HarperTeen
Subject:
Brothers and sisters
Subject:
Family problems
Subject:
Family - General
Subject:
Social Issues - Friendship
Subject:
Suspense/Thriller
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Subject:
Children s-General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20100629
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 9
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8.70x6.18x1.11 in. .86 lbs.
Age Level:
from 14

Other books you might like

  1. Monsters of Men: Chaos Walking... New Hardcover $18.99
  2. Sisters Red
    Used Trade Paper $6.50
  3. Wicked Girls: A Novel of the Salem...
    Used Hardcover $5.95
  4. The Grimm Legacy
    Used Book Club Paperback $3.95
  5. Sweet, Hereafter New Trade Paper $7.99
  6. Glimpse Used Hardcover $8.50

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Situations » Physical and Emotional Abuse
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship
Young Adult » General

Bruiser New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.99 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Harper Teen - English 9780061134081 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In this thought-provoking, low-key drama, Shusterman (Unwind) examines the bonds between family, friends, and community, and how the individual can affect the whole. Sixteen-year-old twins Tennyson and Brontë Sternberger aren't the closest of siblings, but Tennyson is concerned when his sister starts dating Brewster 'Bruiser' Rawlins, an antisocial delinquent from a dubious family. But as the Sternbergers grow closer to Bruiser, they discover his secret: he takes on the pain and injuries of those he cares about, healing them at his own expense, whether he wants to or not. He can even soothe emotional wounds--his mere presence is enough to save the twins' parents' fragmenting marriage--but the cost to Bruiser may be unbearable. Tennyson and Brontë must face the unintended consequences of their actions when disaster strikes and a lifetime of healing others takes its toll on their new friend. Even as the narrative wrestles with philosophical and moral issues, it delves deep into the viewpoints of Tennyson, Brontë, Bruiser, and his younger brother, each segment told in a different, distinctive style, making for a memorable story. Ages 14 — up. (July)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
"Synopsis" by , Tennyson:
Don't get me started on the Bruiser. He was voted "Most Likely to Get the Death Penalty" by the entire school. He's the kid no one knows, no one talks to, and everyone hears disturbing rumors about. So why is my sister, Brontë, dating him? One of these days she's going to take in the wrong stray dog, and it's not going to end well.

Brontë:
My brother has no right to talk about Brewster that way—no right to threaten him. There's a reason why Brewster can't have friends—why he can't care about too many people. Because when he cares about you, things start to happen. Impossible things that can't be explained. I know, because they're happening to me.

Award-winning author Neal Shusterman has crafted a chilling and unforgettable novel about the power of unconditional friendship, the complex gear workings of a family, and the sacrifices we endure for the people we love.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.